We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We've stayed here several times over the past few years and our latest visit was, if anything, better than before. Definitely recommend, even though I think their prices have gone up a bit. Note for the future, a commuter train line is set to start running right next to the hotel property in 2015. Could be noisy.

Room Tip: Beginning in 2015, rooms on the western end of the building (nearer to Hwy 101) may avoid noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    82
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
53
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a free Marriott night coming, and decided to give this property a try. Good choice on our part. It is a little "off the beaten path" -- set back far enough from freeway and main roads to be QUIET. I actually slept well, which usually never happens on a 1-night trip and/or the 1st night out. Everything looked recently refreshed and well maintained. Unexpected bonus -- there was a refrigerator in our room! (I don't know why more Courtyards -- and Marriott Properties don't provide room refrigerators, it should be a standard amenity for any hotel/motel that charges the rates they do.) Very nice lobby area and a decent selection at the Bistro for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. TV Channel selection was a bit limited, and they don't provide an on-screen "TV Guide" of the shows available; but "channel surfing" worked okay. The only real complaint came from my husband -- there was no complimentary coffee in the lobby! That was a surprise. But, they do have Starbucks coffee at the Bistro -- and there is a McDonalds right next door, and a Safeway a short walk across the parking lot.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Courtyard Novato encourages guests to be environmentally conscious. There are recycle containers in the rooms. Like most hotels these days, guests are invited to hang up their towels to signal the housekeeping staff know that it isn't necessary to change out the towels just yet.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I were on a three week road trip starting in Southern California up to Portland Oregon, and then down the coast back home over a three week time frame. Mainly we stayed at another chain hotel for the entire trip, but it was not available in Novato, so we chose the Courtyard.
I get a sizable corporate discount an most hotels, which is appreciated, but I do not appreciate it when the hotel gives me the smallest room that they have in the house. I have stayed many times at other courtyards around the world, and this room was by and far the smallest room. Couple that with the fact that this hotel was more than double the cost of the other hotels that we had stayed in and gave us no additional amenities beyond what we had for half the price seems very strange to me. I know that it's always based upon location of the property and being close to San Francisco (40 minute drive) might make it a bit more expensive, but at least I expect to have a decent sized room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffi4TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We regret that you were not pleased with the value of your stay. We are sorry that our standard room size and variety of amenities did not meet your individual needs. Understand that Marriott appreciates and values our corporate travelers. Thank you again for your review and we hope that you consider us again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is not the fanciest hotel, sleeping rooms are just OK, lobby is kind of nice, looks recently renovated and is modern and bright. Amenities are minimal. What really made our stay though was the staff...consistently friendly on every level. It is also nicely situated, with a Safeway just behind it.

Room Tip: you can hear people walking above you, so if you are a light sleeper, ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANNK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your experience with our staff was so positive and that your trip was simplified by our location. We hope to see you again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly located to go north or northeast into Sonoma County or south into San Francisco or Berkeley areas. Being on the run all day, it was wonderful returning to this hotel. There are restaurants within walking distance as well as a grocery store. The small refrigerator was perfect for snacks and beverages we wanted cooled. The small dinner restaurant in the hotel is available, although we didn't have a chance to try it out. The staff is courteous, welcoming. The facility very clean, Wifi available. We plan to return to this hotel again with out a doubt!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good-have A/C, Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Novato, utilizing the nearby restaurants and various hotel amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A very pleasant experience at this Courtyard. The staff is friendly, helpful and courteous. The property is well maintained and immaculately clean. I recommend it highly and will be staying there again on my next visit to the Bay area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are pleased that your experience was so positive. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Check-in was efficient. The Lobby was done up in appealing colours.
Ample parking space outside, although some patches were unlit and get quite dark.
Several dining options in the vicinity.
Our rooms were spacious and clean, as were the bathrooms.
Beds were comfortable; we had a good night's rest.
Gym was adequate. ATM machine in the lobby debited my card but didn't dispense the money- recredited my account with a slight lag.

Our tariff did not include breakfast.
Nevertheless we found the hotel to be good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim H, General Manager at Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay! We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Courtyard Novato & Team
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn Marin
Inn Marin
#3 of 6 in Novato
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
12.5 mi away
Sheraton Sonoma County - Petaluma
7.9 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma

Property: Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
Address: 1400 N Hamilton Pkwy, Novato, CA 94949-6278
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway to the Wine Country, Sonoma Raceway, and business communities of Novato and San Rafael, our hotel is designed to serve both leisure and business guests. To remain productive during your stay, take advantage of our innovative lounge, which includes private media booths, community tables, an interactive GoBoard, and 24-hour Starbucks coffee. Our plush mattresses with downy bedding, ergonomic desk chairs, indoor spa, fitness center, and heated pool provide the essential level of comfort and convenience you deserve during your stay. And if that's not enough, you can multiply your options with the convenience of the MarinAirporter and local shopping and dining alternatives within walking distance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Novato Marin/Sonoma Hotel Novato
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma Marin County, CA
Novato Courtyard
Novato Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing