We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Lunch!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House Of Beef

House Of Beef
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Oakdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Modesto
Level Contributor
160 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

After running errands and shopping in Oakdale, we stopped for lunch at House of Beef. We were greeted with a smile and taken to a table by the salad/soup bar. The hostess brought our drinks and told us the waitress would be over soon to take our order. We read that with our order the salad bar was included plus french fries or beans. We ordered tri tip sandwich and pastrami sandwich. Both sandwiches were very generous and very tasty. The salad bar had a large variety plus I think 5 or 6 dressings to choose from. The soup was either clam chowder or chicken noodle and tasted like it was made from scratch. The price was right too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TCWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
TEXAS
Level Contributor
217 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“HOUSE OF BEEF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a great surprise, had not been in Oakdale in years, my daughter took us there, with our grandson and his family, 4 great granddaughters, that made 10 of us, they put tables together so we could all sit together. There salad bar was great, but the meat items were the best, all done the way we all liked, lots of food, had to take some back to our motorhome.
To say that all was great is not enough, but if you are in the area, it will be a treat to go.

BUD CARTER

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a great place to get some tri-tip. The BBQ sauce is great. It is a very low key place to get some great meat.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great place to stop when going through Oakdale. Good food you can relay on. Prices are good for what you get. This is a must try.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We go there every chance we get. It is a bit of a drive from home, but well worth it.

Prices are ok and atmosphere is down home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy6272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to House Of Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing