We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the name right”
Review of Belen's

Belen's
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Oakdale
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Oakdale, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get the name right”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is called Suzey Belen's it has been a staple in Oakdale for many years. Our shelter group have our get together at let twice a year and me and my husband go on a regular basis. Love the food and the whole staff. It may not be the best food but you are treated like family.

Helpful?
Thank lic0rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Originality”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Homemade food is delicious! Suzy is always there and greets you with a smile. You start off with the most flavorful chips (they clearly use a different type of oil or something cause the chips are light and really delicious) and salsa and bean dip.

Now I'm not a refried beans person, but I just LOVE this dip. Dinner portions are huge! If you go to a normal restaurant and order a three entree combination, you best reduce it down to two unless your prepared to be really hungry, share with a second person or take some home.

Give this place a try. Since we discovered it last year, we are always willing to drive the hour to get there from where we live just to have this for dinner. Well worth the drive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelfire1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Mexican lunch stop between Yosemite and SF!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch driving from Yosemite to San Francisco. Great local Mexican place with good food, pleasant efficient service and good value. Great for kids. If you like Mexican food and you're in Oakdale check it out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fun_Family_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious way to end your trip to Yosemite”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My brother and I were looking for a good home-cooked meal at the end of nice (but very warm) weekend in Yosemite. We were delighted to find Suzey Belen's - just a block off the main highway. The service was friendly and quick. The food was homemade and delicious! I recommend the cheese enchiladas and the coffee!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Westie_is_Bestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade Mexican food”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We doin this restraunt on a back street as we strolled to find something rather than the fast food chains on F Street.

It was very quiet, being a week day but the menu and service were excellent.

The toilet was in excellent cleanliness to what we have experienced over the past 3 days.

We shared chicken fajitas for 2 ppl, I can list no faults.

The whole experience was pleasant after the journey from Yosemtite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brycie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Belen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing