We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Oakdale”
Review of Moss Rose Bakery

Moss Rose Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Oakdale
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feels like Oakdale”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is the heart beat of Oakdale. From baked goods to a sandwich at lunch time this is the place to go.

Helpful?
Thank lic0rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This place has been around forever, but still makes great food and baked goods.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

When I was a kid in the 1970s working for my dad within two blocks of this bakery (he moved his store twice and it was always within two blocks of it) we always got our lunches there. And they still have some of the best food and baked goods in the area.

They are also still using the original brick oven, which is very rare and apparently has a lot to do with the amazing flavor of their baked goods.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Patty patty cake”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Simply great baked goods and food. Cinnamon rolls are very popular and scrumdiltalyoushas. The staff is friendly and effiecient. The lunch is definitley checking out everything tastes fresh.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000Gr8adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“What can I say”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This place has got to be tried. You cannot go wrong no matter what you order. The pastries and sandwiches are so fresh and the soup, YUMMY! This place is one of the oldest bakeries I've been to and trust me it will be a regular stop when I travel between Sonora and Modesto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Granddarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Downtown Bakery”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is one of Oakdale's oldest bakeries. The bread is fabulous. It also serves lunch. Soup, sandwich and cookie, you're good to go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy95361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moss Rose Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Moss Rose Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing