We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Inn by the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queen's Inn by the River
Ranked #5 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southernn California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Stayed a couple days, very relaxing, well appointed, clean rooms with door to a deck. Great little wine/beer bar, tastings available-with patio, fire pits, twinkly lights over looking te grounds little to a stream/river. We all ordered "the awesome sub" from Pizza Factory-they delivered, we ate by the fire, very nice. El Cid up the hwy. had fantastic mexican food! I would go back. Only drawback...no cups/glasses in the room, we snatched some from the lobby breakfast area. A pool would be a plus as it was hot last weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craftyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    71
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
29
140
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Staying in, or near Yosemite, can be a minefield and an expensive on at that. This place really is the answer. Is it on the expensive side? Yes ... but so is everywhere in this area and nowhere do you get such an assured, quality stay as here. There are only 10 rooms, refurbished to a very high standard and each with a private terrace. The setting is tranquil, the staff friendly and helpful, and I haven't mentioned the extra curricular yet!!

Attached to the hotel is a winery, which does regular tatings and makes excellent wine. The bar here has a very extensive wine and beer list and is a common stop for the fantastically friendly local people of an evening. You really will be made to feel welcome when you pop over for a swift (or not so swift) beverage.

Situationally you are about half an hour south of Yosemite's south entrance and whilst it is quite a bit further to 'The Valley', some beautiful (and less crowded) parts of the park are at this entrances, such as the Wawona area and the Mariposa Grove. The town of Oakhurst itself has a couple of decent restaurants within just a few minutes of the Queens Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We wanted to get away for the night. We were happy with what we got for the price! The grounds were well taken care of, the staff was friendly and our room was clean. There is also a continental breakfast included. The only negative I can say about this motel is that there is no keeping the light out of your room. A front & back porch light are on all night. If you need your room pitch black, this is not the place for you. Otherwise I definitely recommend it! There is a wine & beer tasting room at the property. We also booked a massage at The Body Centre Wellness Spa & Salon in Oakhurst which was great.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We were too late to make a reservation in a lodge in the Yosemite park, and decided to stay in Oakhurst for two nights. After reading several enthusiastic reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to book the Queen's Inn. It was a disappointment. This hotel is actually more like a motel. The rooms are very average – not very big, no fridge, no coffee-maker etc. The bathrooms are quite small. The WIFI only works in the reception area. On the outside the buildings are not very well maintained, for example half of the terrace lanterns needed new lamps. That was a good thing though, because the blinds are inadequate and the rooms are very light at night.
The vaunted beer&wine garden was closed during our stay, so no fun during the evening.

What's good about it:
It is a bit away from the main road, so it's quiet. It has a big lawn that slopes down to the river. The river itself is not very interesting though (& no swimming).

All in all this is not a bad motel. It's a great place if you like to sit on a lawn looking at the woods on the other side of the river. It's just too expensive for what it has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

The first ever hotel found and booked by me, by throwing a dart onto Google Earth...
I only initially short listed this hotel, by it's proximity to my sisters wedding just north of Oakhurst. As my girl and I did find during our whole holiday, places and turnings are not always well signposted before hand, and we did have to do a little searching to find the driveway that takes you down a short decline driveway to the Inn. When we got into the room however, we were very happy to see such a comfortable room. We were in town for the wedding though, and didn't spend much relaxing time actually where we were staying, so didn't get to enjoy the beer garden (which looks pretty cool) or our own back deck area that looks onto forest and river.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoDan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

I could not get wireles iternet to work much - but not a problem since I was not in the room much. Don't plan on getting much done over the wireless internet. Room was clean and neat.

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
Thank Al1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

We were spending some time in Yosemite, and were too late to book anything there. We found this on tripadvisor and booked it. When we drove down the lane to it, my heart sank, but when we turned into the plot things looked up. There are only a few rooms, ours was really big and exactly what we needed. The satellite tv stopped working every now and then.
The best bit was when we got back one night and there was wine tasting at the bar outside. For $12 we had 5 half glasses of lovely wine, with a band playing, amazing barbecued hot dogs, and some giggly locals. Really good fun!
It took less than 45 mins to drive to Yosemite, so this is a good base. It's not the kind of hotel/inn where I would want to hang around all day. But definitely worth booking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.7 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
24.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
6.6 mi away
Homestead Cottages
Homestead Cottages
#1 of 4 in Ahwahnee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn by the River

Property: Queen's Inn by the River
Address: 41139 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queen's Inn by the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 13 miles from the Southern entrance to Yosemite National Park and seven miles from Bass Lake; relax at the new Queen's Inn on five landscaped and wooded acres along the river. Each beautifully appointed room has its own deck or patio. Enjoy a light continental breakfast in the morning. Be sure to visit our Wine & Beer Garden with its selection of over seventy-five wines and many imported beers, open Wed-Saturday evenings from 4-10 pm. Guests receive complimentary wine tasting in our onsite boutique winery, Idle Hour Winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Queen's Inn by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing