We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth it just for the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
sussex
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“worth it just for the pool”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We arrived when the temperature was around 105f - the first thing we did was get into the pool! it was so good! as was the rest of our brief stay. A lovely quiet room as requested, it would have been great as a base for Yosemite as it was so well fitted out, kitchen etc... The breakfast was excellent, and unexpectedly included in the price. The restaurant next door was closed that night (a Wednesday) but we did ok with a chinese further down the strip. Would thoroughly recommend this as a great place to get into the park quickly, as we wanted to do the Sequoia trip early the following morning.

Room Tip: We just asked for a quiet room, we were on 4th floor (top) overlooking the pool, right at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvertraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    405
    184
    51
    27
See reviews for
308
389
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was an excellent hotel with all you need. The restaurant was right next door and had excellent meals.

Room Tip: We had the Shilo Suite. Large room with a private patio. Terrific room for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edster606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We were on our way home from Yosemite, and needed a place to stay for one night. We saw this hotel was rated well on Trip Advisor, so we decided to stay. That was a great decision. The rooms are very big. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms have hot water. Breakfast is included, and was very good.

We were very happy there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We came upon the Shilo Inn when looking for a last minute place to stay near Yosemite and as a last minute walk-in we received a favorable rate. At first glance it was just what we were looking for, a nice size room, air conditioned, free wifi, breakfast included and pool and hot tub. Coffee and tea were available all day in the lobby.

The good things were the beds were reasonably comfortable and it was nice to have queen size beds instead of fulls like in many hotels. The guest laundry was welcome as our stay came on the end of our 10 day trip. The breakfast was decent with fresh waffles, apples & oranges, cold cereal and bagels and muffins.

However looking under the hood it was clear that the Shilo Inn was closer to a budget hotel than a luxury one. The blankets were paper thin and the sheets were like plastic. The light in our room was out and the toilet clogged. The bathroom was clearly dated and the TV was one of those old small ones.

Overall, the Shilo Inn served its purpose as an entry point to the south part of Yosemite while providing a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklyn_sea_gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiloinns, General Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank-you for providing us with feedback about your stay at Shilo Inns Oakhurst. It’s through our guest comments that we are able to make improvements and strive for excellence. You have many choices when it comes to lodging and I hope you will continue to choose Shilo Inns for your future travel needs.

Debbie Mackey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Shilo Inn on our way up to Yosemite National Park for a backpacking trip and were pleasantly surprised with the nice quality of the Inn. At check-in the desk clerk was very professional and helpful. Our room was quite large and had a small refrigerator with a freezer. It was clean and comfortable. We had a good night's sleep which was great because we had to be up early the next morning. The Inn already had breakfast out at 6 AM and it was a good selection of breakfast items - hard boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, yogurt, hot cocoa, cereal and milk and of course coffee. We didn't have time but the pool looked inviting. It is one of the closer hotels to the south entrance of Yosemite NP making it a perfect location to getting an early start in the park. The price for one night ($125) was higher than we were used to but it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dahewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

nice friendly place, fairly close to Yosemite southern entrance. Our family room had its own terrace where we could spend time and dry our towels/swim clothing. Wide selection of breakfast food, kids enjoyed making waffles. Also throughout the day there was complimentary hot and cold drinks. All in all would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ststephens97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you need a place to stay outside Yosemite, the Shilo Inn was acceptable. We booked too late to get a room inside the park and this hotel in Oakhurst is only about a 15 - 20 minute drive from the park's southern entrance. It's very close to Mariposa Grove where the Giant Sequoias are (2 miles inside the park entrance).The room was large, smelled fresh, and the carpet looked new. The bathroom needs some work, it appeared dated. The kitchenette area was useful and the king bed was comfortable. The sofabed was somewhat uncomfortable - springs were broken in one corner. We had enough room for a family of 4 to eat our breakfast around the small table in the room. My son enjoyed the pool and hot tub.
The laundry room is closed and the washer is broken (I'm told it's been that way for a long time, by the local owner of the laundromat, even though the staff pretended that a new machine may have been delivered overnight.) The rooms are overpriced, but that's because of thir proximity to Yosemite. Every hotel is overpriced within 30 miles of the park (maybe more). Traffic into the park was nonexistant. I expected worse since we were travelling in July - one of Yosemite's busiest months. It could be that traffic is worse when approaching the west entrance. All in all it was clean and roomy, if a little old.

Room Tip: Other travelers said it was noisy if you had a room on the lower floors, so we requested a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBLover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
240 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.0 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Property: Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing