We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our room was large and comfortable. We were there for two nights and found the location good for visiting the Nat'l. Park. Just wish the mornings had started off a little better. The in-room coffee was awful! It was very weak. The "breakfast" coffee was a little better, but not significantly. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We are from the Uk and were very happy with this hotel. We arrived after a long day walking round the beatiful Yosemite national park. We arrived quite late and were tired but the lady behind the counter was very welcoming and enthusiastic about the area. Nothing was too much trouble and she took time to explain where everything was. When we got to the room we were delighted by the size and by the facilities.
We only stayed one night before our trip dictated we needed to move on to the next destination but wish we could have stayed longer. There are plenty of restaurants etc close by in a pretty little town.
Overall the hotel is clean, the staff all very friendly and the breakfast and facilities very good....we will return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights . Lovely sized room slightly dated decor wise but clean and bed comfortable. Nice little swimming pool and the free breakfast was a nice surprise . All staff were vey helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louieathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Got into town after 12 hours behind the wheel a little brain dead. Very impressed with the outside and lobby. Gave them my name for the reservation and they could not find it. Come to find out my reservation was at the hotel next door. Seems it happens quite a bit as one is called Yosemite Gateway and the other Yosemite Southgate. I bit left down when we saw our hotel but that was only because we had seen the other. Staff was very nice, room large, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was adequate and they have a room off the lobby you can sit in, although we chose to take ours to our room. Biggest TV I have ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YumaJeepFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location for visiting Yosemite . Just 12 miles up Highway 41. There where some issues with the hotel,the furniture and fittings are a bit tired and could do with renewing ,we had a room at the back of the property ( 419 ) at 6 AM a coach started up and sat with its engine idling wile the driver went for breakfast and came back at 7 AM.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms were dated , but nice and large and clean. Nice complimentary breakfast. A lot to choose from. The kids had a great time in the pool. Every employee we encountered was vary helpful and friendly. Housekeepers would say good morning or afternoon every time they saw a guest in the hall ways. And I want to thank Debbie the manager for recommending El Cid for dinner. Best Mexican food I have ever ate. Thanks for the great stay we will be back again.

Room Tip: Top floor back side of hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 963Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Val:

We love Perfect Score Reviews! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review and thanks for staying with us! We really take pride in our hotel and our staff tries very hard to make sure our guests are happy.

Do come and visit us again. Book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com where you'll find our lowest rates and discounts.

See you soon,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Has a nice pool and the room was clean and fresh. It was very quite. It is just minutes from the park. Breakfast was good. I would stay again and highly recommended it. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMiller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your Perfect Score Review. Our staff is thrilled that we exceeded your expectations. We work hard to make sure Yosemite Southgate is a perfect place to stay when visiting Yosemite: Quality, Cleanliness, Amenities, and Hospitality--All at a Value.

We'd love for you to stay with us again and spread the word--book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com and enter promo code: tripadvisor to get a few more bucks off!

Regards,

Raj - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: £71 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing