We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my family while visiting Yosemite. The hotel was very clean and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers a relatively close location to the southern park entrance and we were able to spend 3 wonderful days in the park while still being able to come back to a comfortable environment where we could wash our clothes, enjoy breakfast in the morning before leaving, and even take a swim or sit in the hot tub to soothe our aching bodies after a long days hike. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Aaron:

I wanted to take a few minutes of my time to personally thank you for leaving such a positive review of your stay at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites. We really strive to provide a well balanced stay to our guests with a solid set of amenities that most hotels in our area do not offer, a value with the best overall pricing nearby Yosemite, and a well trained staff that emphasizes hospitality. When we get reviews such as yours it confirms that we are working towards the right goals, so thank you.

Please do spread the word about The Southgate and come back and see us again. Book direct at yosemitesouthgate.com and use the promo code: tripadvisor to save some more!

Have a Super Day!

Raj
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Nice hotel located about 1.5 hr drive south from Yosemite valley floor or half an hour from the south gate. A bit far commute if you just want to use it to visit attractions in the valley floor. But hotel is nice. Room is decent size. Continental breakfast included. Denny's located next to the hotel with discount to hotel lodger. There are also petrol station, supermarket, and restaurants on the same street.
Front desk has only one person, somewhat understaffed. Expect queueing if there are other customers. Small gym available. They did miss my wake up call. Overall is a fine hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to leave an honest appraisal of your stay at The Southgate. I wanted to thank you for your kind words and also address some of your concerns. Sorry for missing your wake up call and having an understaffed front desk at your time of check-in. We generally have two front desk managers during our busy times so you might have just caught us at a break time. Still no excuse for not addressing your needs-- so please accept my apologies. As with our location--believe it or not, despite the hour commute to The Valley, The Southgate is still one of the closest hotels to Yosemite. It's simply the nature of well, nature--Yosemite is very rugged and sparse in human development--just the way we'd like to keep it!

We'd love for you to give us another shot. We'll make sure that we do not miss your wake up call. Come stay with us again and book directly at yosemitesouthgate.com and save.

Thank You,

Raj
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is not cheap but it's not really expensive with what it offers. The rooms are great. I had a problem with my room when I get there and they change me the room to what I wanted. I probably did something wrong when I booked it. Patricia, the receptionist was awesome. We had to wash clothes and as the washing machine was busy she offered to wash and dry clothes in the ones of the workers. She gave us plenty of information.
We got a 10% discount to have dinner in a Denny's just outside which was really good. Although I didn't use the outside pool I saw a bunch of guys enjoying it. The room was big.
To say a but maybe they will have to get a better place for breakfast but that was nothing compares with the whole experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MONICA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Monica:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. Trish is always excited to get a shout out so she also says hello and thank you for calling her out. Our staff works really hard to ensure our guests have a quality stay when they are visiting Yosemite.

Do come back again and next time book directly at yosemitesouthgate.com so that your booking comes to us direct and we can ensure that we take are of any special requests.

Thanks,

Raj
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was clean, the staff friendly, but the hotel was tired. Towels and bedding need to be upgraded. The towels were unraveling, the bedspread seemed as if it had been washed many times, which is not a bad thing, but seemed not inviting. The non-smoking room smiled of stale smoke.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sunlover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Sunlover:

I wanted to thank you for your honest review and also address your concerns. We certainly believe cleanliness is next to Godliness, and our staff is top notch--we really strive to make sure our guests experience great hospitality.

As with our hotel and the case goods--we are sorry if you came across some poor linens--generally all of our linens and towels are brand new so its possible you came across a bad batch--we'll make sure to address this. We are actually steadily working on remodeling our entire hotel and in the meantime have made some major improvements to our bedding and interiors. We have installed 46 inch LED TVs, repaved our parking, redone our pool and much more. We are now also remodeling our rooms to modernize them, so please do visit us again in the near future to see all of the wonderful changes. We are striving to make Yosemite Southgate Hotel the best hotel in the Yosemite region and next time you visit I am sure you will agree.

Next time you book, book directly with us at yosemitesouthgate.com to find our lowest rates. Let us show you the improvements we are continuously making to The Southgate.

Regards,

Raj
Owner

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting Mariposa Grove and Yosemite. Very good value and an excellent location. Plenty of local attractions and places to eat. Very impressive rooms and service. Breakfast is pretty basic and served in the hotel foyer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a comfortable hotel at a good price. The room was very large with a pull out sofa, table and chairs, microwave and refrigerator. There was several good restaurants in the area and we particularly enjoyed El Cid for original Mexican food.
Breakfast was OK, but served no protein to accompany the multiple carbohydrate choices. My husband and bought hard boiled eggs and Jimmy Dean egg bowls to add to the breakfast menu.
Other than that this was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newbeSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel was as you would expect for this type of hotel, clean, nothing flash. Added bonus of included breakfast, just need to time your visit as could get crowed, but breakfast selection was good, especially as you could make your own waffles. Close to the town centre, so an easy walk to some of the local restaurants.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kiwiseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: £65 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing