We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place but double check your reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place but double check your reservation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Nice Hotel about 1.5 hours south of yosemite valley. Clean rooms and nice staff. Pool OK but small area. Good location if you want a decent hotel close to Yosemite park, but be preparred for a good drive if you want to visit the Yosemite valley. Oakhurst is a small town but has most of what a traveller will need. My reservations were screwed up. I made reservations for 4 nights but the hotel only had me down for one night. In their defense they did send me a confirmation which only showed one night, but I didn't check this until after I arrived (this want happen again). Better double check your reservation, because I was very specific about staying four nights and the person taking the reservation just made a mistake. They were very nice and were able to get me a seconds nights stay, but I had to change rooms. the 3rd and 4th nights were not available so I had to change my plans. I would recommend this hotel but make sure you check your reservations before you arrive. Suites had microwave and refrig. Contential Breakast was weak so dont count on much there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealTravelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    390
    180
    51
    26
See reviews for
296
381
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Shiloh Inn. Staff was great, room was clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was delicious, and many items to choose from, so everyone got what they wanted.
Stay there, you will be pleased.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at the Shilo Inn in Oakhurst, CA for two nights in July while visiting Yosemite NP. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. Both check in and check out was a breeze. The hotel is clean and safe, though a bit dated. The outdoor pool and spa area is small, as well as the tiny work out center in the front of the lobby. We did not use either as the pool was always crowded, and we got enough of a workout in the park. The hotel offers a continental breakfast consisting of pastries, toast, muffins, waffles, fruit, cereal, and yogurt, as well as coffee and juices. During the busy morning, the food and coffee area is a bit crowded with not much of a work surface, but it is free, so we took it in stride. The rooms have a wet bar, mini fridge, and microwave which made lunch prep easy. The Shilo is located in the same parking lot as the Ol Kettle Restaurant. We had a good breakfast and friendly help there and on the cheap - about $6-8 each for a basic breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hafpynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hitchin herts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

As part of our tour of Southwest USA we added Yosemite. We couldnt get into the lodges in the park so found the Shilo Inn as a secondary option. We were so glad that the lodges were full, this Inn was lovely with helpfull staff and big clean rooms. In the rooms were a decent sized fridge and microwave. The first night we had a few beers and dinner in a local bar. The second night however after spending all day hiking and driving in the park we just wanted to relax. We stayed in our room with a few beers and a takeaway whilst watching TV. We felt really at home and comfortable and we didnt hear any noise coming from other rooms. Breakfast was a nice touch with waffles,cereals etc. You can sit in the lounge area watching morning TV whilst having breakfast. The Inn for us had a lovely relaxed homely feel about it and although only staying there for two nights it was very enjoyable. The park was very busy and Oakhurst is the ideal place to stay to visit the park but then be away from the madding crowd. The town has a reasonable selection of bars and eateries, and seemed very friendly. Thanks Shilo Inn for some good memories.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulnheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed for 4 nights while exploring Yosemite. The hotel has good sized suites with a kitchen area and good sized bathroom. Our room was very clean and the furniture was not luxurious in quality but adequate. The breakfast was good too for a continental style and waffles etc were on offer. The seating area for breakfast was a bit rough and ready and got crowded at times but it wasn't a big deal for us. The only complaint I had about Shilo was its THIN ceilings. You could hear every move the guests were making upstairs and I thought some were using the room to do their morning jog it was so loud.
Shilo is a good base for Yosemite and although it states that it is only 15 miles from the park entrance bear in mind that you have another 32 miles to travel to get to Yosemite village where all the action is located. The road is uphill and windy so it does take about 90 mins. This south entrance to the park does seem to be less congested in July than others and we only had a half mile tailback to enter the park. Oakhurst has a good choice of restaurants but they dont serve too late (after 9pm). We found it convenient to eat in the basic but adequate restaurants in the park especially if you wanted to stey in the park until after sunset.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a tour. I found the staff to be lovely, free internet access, rooms large and comfortable. Didn't use the facilities but there was a gym and swimming pool. Much better than staying in a grand 5*. Beautiful location and great little hotel - would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff,Wales,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed in the Shilo Inn as part of our tour, the staff were so friendly and helpful , The room was clean and fresh with great views of the surrounding country. The hotel hasn’t a restaurant but there is a diner to the side of the hotel “ The Kettle Pot” which looks nice but I would not recommend eating there, the meals looked pre made and then put in the microwave for a few minutes. There are plenty of other restaurants in the area to choose from.
Continental breakfast was served in the lobby and there was more than enough to eat, only down part was the hotel had a tour bus party staying the same time as us so it was a bit busy. That said, a lovely hotel and on check out we were giving an envelope which contained a card thanking us for staying, which was a nice gesture.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.1 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Property: Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing