We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to be close to Yosemite but small crowded spaces.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Sierra RV Park & Campground
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights while visiting Yosemite. There was an event in town so the rv park was filled. The spaces are close together and we had annoying yippit dogs next to us but anyways back to reviewing the park- staff was friendly, hot showers and laundry, Oakhurst is a neat little town, but if you are looking for alone out in the wilderness Yosemite style I would pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for High Sierra RV Park & Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

I camped here during the summer while visiting Yosemite National Park. The actual grounds are really nice and there is a lovely stream which passes through the park which you can go for a dip and cool down!!
But this place is definitely more geared towards camper vans and not tents!! The space allocated to each site is really small and you have to park your car right beside your tent! A bit scary when you wake up to headlights beaming in on you as your neighbour parks their car at night right beside your tent!
The staff though were really nice and really helpful(we locked the keys of the car in the boot and they got us a guy to help get them out within a few mins!!) The toilets and showers were always clean and worked well. Nice vibe off the place overall.
Also, Oakhurst is a nice place to stay, nice resturants and coffee places. A bit far from Yosemite Park but the drive there was so lovely we really didn't mind!

To sum up, I'd stay here again but maybe not in a tent!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank A_Hooded_Neon_Ion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Probably my fault for not understanding how far Yosemite really is from this campsite, but they offer only 2 toilets down on the main camping level so they are in use constantly as this campground fills up nightly and they were clean when I arrived, but the floor was never moped again in the 5 nights I stayed there. The optional showers up the hill also just had the minimum done to them, it only had one toilet in it and it was kind of scary.

Room Tip: Don't take a site on the end, all the kids use it as a bike turn around.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carollinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

all the facilites you need from a RV park in a very pretty setting and close enough to get to the Yosemite park entrance at Mariposa Grove.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mav1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I had a difficult time finding a place for camping anywhere near Yosemite. We spent two night here along the river in our VW camper van. The river was pretty, even if the view across it was not so pretty. The bathrooms were clean. The wi-fi was not great but better than at any of the KOAs we've stayed at. The people were all friendly. The park was near a number of restaurants and coffee shops, which was convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBKGwyneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here in July. Not a very cosy and spacious campground. But it has all facilities (laundry, showers, hookup), so if the campgrounds in Yosemite are full (what was the case when we were there) this campground is fine. But 1 night was enough; no romantic camping in nature...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SasPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I've had my all-electric Nissan LEAF for six months and have wanted to try a trip to Yosemite (from Fresno) since day one. With the limited range of the LEAF, I had to find a place to spend three hours with the LEAF plugged into their 50 amp service. High Sierra RV Park & Campground was just the place. The Park is located just a couple of blocks from highway 41. Far enough to be away from most of the traffic noise, but close enough to walk to restaurants, shopping, and even Oakhurst's movie theater.

From Oakhurst, the LEAF takes four hours to charge enough to make it into Yosemite National Park and to Glacier Point. (You need a 100% charge to make it to the ~7,500 elevation.) That's some serious time to wait. The park is right on a river, such that you can spend some time walking the riverbank, splashing in the cold water, and even climbing the boulders. It also has free Wi-Fi, with enough bandwidth to stream audio or video.

Finally, the staff are friendly and were happy to accommodate my LEAF charge for a $10 fee. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randylee3_Fresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakhurst hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.3 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Sierra RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Sierra RV Park & Campground

Address: 40389 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9440
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Oakhurst
Price Range: £11 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive from spectacular Yosemite National Park, High Sierra RV Park & Campground sits directly on the banks of the seasonal Fresno River in Oakhurst, CA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Sierra Rv Park And Campground
High Sierra Rv Park & Campground Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing