We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great for kids”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to Caboose
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Caboose
Caboose with Deck View of Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Certificate of Excellence
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
32 reviews
Entrance to Caboose
Caboose with Deck
View of Deck
Gotta have a Grill!!!
View from Deck
View from Deck
View from Deck at Sunset
View from Deck at Sunset
View from Property
Loading Dock
End of Caboose
Queen Bed and Living Room
Shower and Jacuzzi Tub
Kitchenette
Bathroom Vanity
Loft
Bathroom Door and Living Room
View from Loft
Loft Ladder
Yosemite Valley
Top of Yosemite Falls
Half Dome in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oakhurst, California

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TTT123456
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at this place. Our daughter loved reading and writing in the loft and while the caboose was small, it was cozy and had everything you need-a microwave, hot plate, little mini-oven and all the dishes. The owners are extremely hospitalble. If you stay in the winter, it is a little drafty, but there are two heaters in the cabin to keep you warm. The other thing to know is that the caboose is right next to the main house and and you are basically in the backyard. You can also see other people's houses, although while we were there, we rarely saw anyone at all...The place is very close to Bass Lake and Yosemite. Overall excellent. When and where else can you stay in a caboose with the comforts of home?

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cozy inside of the caboose and taking pictures on the steps
Liked least: Gets cold at night in the winter. Sort of drafty
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
8
people found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2011
Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGVAUK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, even if you're not a train buff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
6
people found this review helpful

The Caboose is like Dr Who's Tardis - bigger on the inside than the outside! It has a very comfortable double bed, a (very welcome) air conditioning unit, a fully equipped bathroom with a jacuzzi and more than acceptable cooking facilities. There is even an "upstairs" reading nook.
The Oetingers were welcoming and friendly hosts, and their dogs made our mornings when they came to join us on the deck of the Caboose where we were having breakfast. The drive to Yosemite is about half an hour, though I would advise anyone going to Yosemite Village in the summer to get up early. We arrived there about ten and spent the next hour and a half driving round car parks which were already full.
A very small niggle - the internet didn't work at all for us while we were there, but that really is the only complaint we could make.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The deck for breakfast
Liked least: the internet
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2011
Thank you Amanda, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
7
people found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sacramento
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
4
people found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MariskaB2...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: het feit dat je in een treintje logeert
Liked least: niets
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlotine
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

3 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing