We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to Caboose
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to Caboose
Caboose with Deck View of Deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Entrance to Caboose
Caboose with Deck
View of Deck
Gotta have a Grill!!!
View from Deck
View from Deck
View from Deck at Sunset
View from Deck at Sunset
View from Property
Loading Dock
End of Caboose
Queen Bed and Living Room
Shower and Jacuzzi Tub
Kitchenette
Bathroom Vanity
Loft
Bathroom Door and Living Room
View from Loft
Loft Ladder
Yosemite Valley
Top of Yosemite Falls
Half Dome in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oakhurst, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Melody G
Caseyville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

If you are tired of the same old hotel and "lodge" experience...this is the place for you. We spent 4 nights in the Yosemite area and 2 were at the caboose and the other 2 were at an expensive "lodge" in the area. Although the lodge was closer to the park the caboose was our favorite. The caboose is clean and has everything you could ask for. Plenty of hot water (two teenage daughters) which is more than I can say for the $300 per night lodge. It was the cutest place that I ever stayed. We had wine on the deck in the evening and enjoyed the company of the neighborhood dog, Harlo.
Close enough to everything. I would suggest dinner (burgers, shakes) at the Forks Resort at Bass Lake. Nice scenic drive and GREAT BURGERS and SHAKES. Dine outside with a nice view of the lake.
Rusty was very accommodating and takes a lot of pride in the caboose.
My 16 year old daughter loved the loft for reading her Nook.
You will drive through a residential neighborhood to get to the location but it is private when you get there. GREAT VIEWS!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyMari
Palm Desert, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovingly Restored and Cared For Little Red Caboose and Great Host make for a perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The little red caboose has been lovingly and cleverly transformed into a comfortable living suite. The bed is cozy and comfortable, the bathroom is all that one needs. We didn't use it, but we envisioned the fun the loft would be for our nieces and nephews.

We were surprised and delighted at the very well equipped and efficient kitchen and very nice bar-be-que on the lovely deck. We so enjoyed our grilled dinner under the stars.

And if you enjoy meeting people, the Oelinger family is friendly and welcoming and available to help with travel plans. We so enjoyed their hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous deck and bar-be-que.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annhcliff
Sanger, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A TRAINTASTIC TIME!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a great experience! We had a wonderful time. We arrived just before dusk and there were rabbits all over, squirrels running, woodpeckers pecking! We pulled up to the caboose and my son was so excited! He and his friend immediately were running around it, in it, under it. Rusty greeted us and showed us around. He and his wife Cecelia were such a pleasure to meet and made us all feel like we were part of the family. The boys loved swinging on the tire. We were also welcomed by Willow and Austin (their dogs) and Harlo (the neighbors dog) They were absolutely wonderful dogs and very well behaved. They came with us down to the river. It's an amazing area with beautiful outcroppings of rocks. You could walk in the river to about half way then it dropped off. If it were later in the season, we would have taken a dip! You feel very secluded yet you're only 3 miles from town. The bed was comfortable, the deck was fabulous, the shower was refreshing, and the loft was priceless to the boys! We had the best time and will return again as soon as possible! If your destination is Yosemite, it is very close and convenient. And where else can you stay the night in a caboose and see the greatest national park!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TTT123456
Santa Clarita, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed 8 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at this place. Our daughter loved reading and writing in the loft and while the caboose was small, it was cozy and had everything you need-a microwave, hot plate, little mini-oven and all the dishes. The owners are extremely hospitalble. If you stay in the winter, it is a little drafty, but there are two heaters in the cabin to keep you warm. The other thing to know is that the caboose is right next to the main house and and you are basically in the backyard. You can also see other people's houses, although while we were there, we rarely saw anyone at all...The place is very close to Bass Lake and Yosemite. Overall excellent. When and where else can you stay in a caboose with the comforts of home?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozy inside of the caboose and taking pictures on the steps
Liked least: Gets cold at night in the winter. Sort of drafty
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 11 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
8
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2011
Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AGVAUK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, even if you're not a train buff”
Reviewed 6 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
6
people found this review helpful

The Caboose is like Dr Who's Tardis - bigger on the inside than the outside! It has a very comfortable double bed, a (very welcome) air conditioning unit, a fully equipped bathroom with a jacuzzi and more than acceptable cooking facilities. There is even an "upstairs" reading nook.
The Oetingers were welcoming and friendly hosts, and their dogs made our mornings when they came to join us on the deck of the Caboose where we were having breakfast. The drive to Yosemite is about half an hour, though I would advise anyone going to Yosemite Village in the summer to get up early. We arrived there about ten and spent the next hour and a half driving round car parks which were already full.
A very small niggle - the internet didn't work at all for us while we were there, but that really is the only complaint we could make.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck for breakfast
Liked least: the internet
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2011
Thank you Amanda, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Reviewed 16 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
7
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing