We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boo the Villain”

Golden Chain Theatre
Ranked #5 of 19 things to do in Oakhurst
Attraction details
Ahwahnee, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Boo the Villain”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Enjoy popcorn and high melodrama in this great little theater. The whole family can enjoy booing the villain and cheering the heroine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FUN and a great price”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We attended the final showing of Jack the Ripper as our first visit to the theater. Our tickets were $10.00, how do you beat that? The performance was really really good, the stage settings and costumes very professional. Mind you, this is a different kind of place, it is a historic theater in the mountains so don't expect anything typical. The building itself is pretty cool, and inside there are pictures of the local area and theater from many many years back. The seating is picnic style tables with chairs, each table sat 8. I know it's hard to picture, but it works out perfectly. The concession stand is an old bar with very limited offerings, but cute and fun anyway. This particular performance was not a melodrama, which they are known for, so there was no booing at the villain or cheering for a hero, just a great play. We have been to the moonlight melodramas the theater holds on the Sugar Pine so I can imagine it's as much fun booing, hissing and cheering in the theater at a melodrama! I highly recommend going to a show here, it's a great afternoon or evening for a great price.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fork, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Love the October plays!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I only attend GCT in October, when they present "scary" or spooky-themed melodramas. For several years, there was an absence of such plays, as I suppose someone in charge did not care for such fare. (?) Anyway, I attended the latest presentation of Jack the Ripper and was the first one seated so got prime viewing. Was disappointed they no longer serve free popcorn baskets. Totally loved the play and the actors were excellent. They did a fantastic job.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatdaBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Its Small Town Theatre”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Golden Chain Theatre in Oakhurst is a land mark. The inside is reminiscent of the old west and is very cozy. We recently saw Jack The Ripper -- the acting was quite good. The Stage layout was well thought out.

The theatre has many different plays though out the year and on occasion local service clubs use it as dinner and play venue. You would need to call ahead to find out.

They do have a snack bar with soft drinks, hot dogs, chips, some candy and alcoholic beverages. On our visit they did not have free popcorn.

I highly recommend you check it out -- you might be pleasantly surprised.

The price is reasonable on snacks and entry fee

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler11California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“It just Depends...”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

sometimes the shows are really good of amateur productions. The last one we saw was AWFUL, so it just depends. Cost is reasonable and don't expect luxury. There is a snack bar for intermission. It is self supporting, so lending your support is welcomed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank prevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Golden Chain Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing