We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Evergreen Haus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evergreen Haus
Ranked #1 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We (my husband and I and another couple) stayed at Evergreen Haus for one night a few days ago. Words cannot express how beautiful and serene this place is. We were fortunate to be able to be the first to stay in the new rooms called Pine and Cedar. Eddie was still putting finishing touches to the rooms. They have been beautifully appointed with a fireplace and are huge. Eddie and his wife, Stephanie, are lovely, warm people with loads of information about the surroundings. We loved sitting out on the deck and watching the humming birds flit skillfully around the feeder left for them to enjoy. Everything you could wish for has been supplied in the kitchen and the welcoming presentation happening in the loungeroom on arrival is great. This place was beyond our expectations and if you wish to stay near Yosemite National Park do yourself a favour and stay here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The new Cedar room is set out for wheelchair access but all rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    4
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
109
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the lovely Evergreen Haus for two nights. We will definitely stay there again should we be in the area and will gladly recommend it to our friends. Some highlights about the Evergreen Haus:

Location: The Evergreen Haus is very close to Yosemite National Park South entrance and Bass Lake. Shopping and restaurants are only minutes away too.

Amenities: I knew from the Evergreen Haus web site that there was a common area (living room, kitchen and outdoor decks) shared with all guests. I was worried this may be awkward, but it actually always felt like we had the place to ourselves.

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that not only could I store some groceries in the kitchen's refrigerator/freezer but that I could cook dinner for my family. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, cookware, paper plates, filtered water, foil, plastic wraps and sandwich bags. There is a grill outside. Basics like pop tarts, pancake mix, frozen waffles and syrup are fully stocked for guests to use.

Our room was large and comfortable. We really appreciated the mini fridge in our room so we could have cold drinks without going to the shared area in our pjs. Our daughter thought it was fun to sleep in the walk in closet and it also gave all of us a little privacy.

The owners: As you will see in the other reviews, Eddie and Stephanie are beyond helpful with tips and ideas for how to best spend your time in the park. Their suggestions were spot on. My daughter had a blast playing with Eddie and Stephanie's sweet children (they were all close in age) on the trampoline.

In summary, go ahead and book your stay at the Evergreen Haus. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
550 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Evergreen Haus on a four day trip to Yosemite. We booked both rooms, so we had the home to ourselves. Eddie plans to add two more rooms soon, for a total of four. The Sequoia Room is the largest, located just off the main room; the Redwood Room is closer to the living area. The two new rooms are located down a hallway. All rooms are very private although the bathroom to the Redwood Room does have a door that opens into the hallway and main living area. Because the kitchen is shared by and available to guests, the county only allows them to supply nonperishable foods (coffee, teas, nondairy creamer, hot and cold cereal, Tang). You should bring your own milk, yogurt, creamer, or fresh juice if you want those items. There are mini fridges in the rooms or you may share the large refrigerator in the kitchen. Each room also has a small coffeemaker. The kitchen is full size and well stocked with cooking utensils. One night we fixed a simple dinner and that is a nice alternative to going out. There is a large deck at the front of the house with a great view. The inn is located off the main road and a convenient five miles from Oakhurst. The south entrance to Yosemite is about ten miles away. We had originally booked a B&B in Fish Camp. Although Fish Camp may be closer to the park entrance, there is nothing there and we would have been driving 15 miles to Oakhurst every day. The Evergreen Haus is definitely a better choice and the prices much more reasonable. Eddie is gracious, friendly and has many suggestions for itineraries, restaurants and things to do. He is flexible and goes out of his way to make your stay comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This lodge is gorgeous, with nice large rooms, a wonderfully appointed common area/living room, and a beautiful furnished deck with the loveliest view you could ask for. It's perfectly situated... close to the entrance to Yosemite, sequoia, bass lake, and just a tiny hop to town. The owners are very friendly and helpful; happy to show you many options for activities and local dining, and they just seem genuinely glad to meet you. Very welcoming.

With such reasonable pricing and lovely accommodations, I can't imagine staying anywhere else for my future visits to Yosemite.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kimberrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in the middle of the off season on the way to Yosemite Valley. The house is a cabin that Eddie has restored and upgraded to serve as a guest house. The beds and furnishings are really comfortable, and the house is just far enough away from highway 41 to make it nice and quiet.

Eddie and Stephanie, the owners are a friendly couple that have literally poured their heart and soul into the place, and it really shows. Also note that this is more of a guesthouse, and not a traditional B&B. The difference is that they cannot serve food due to County health regulations. There is a full kitchen and cooking utensils for you to use, and Eddie keeps it stocked with some breakfast basics.

Overall a great place, and we wish Eddie and Stephanie all the success they deserve!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratmogers1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a great place for families! We love Yosemite and go every chance we get, since we live only a couple hours away. We have little kids and it's become crazy and tiring to do day trips there, so we were very glad to find Evergreen Haus. We can leisurely take our time getting ready, head into the Park, and come back to the b&b to rest.

Eddie is very welcoming and pays amazing attention to detail. The lobby is spacious, windows on all sides, kitchen is large and well-stocked, and the entire property is beautiful. We used the grill the first night to make burgers! There's plenty of hills for my son to run around and play, and the air is fresh and glorious.

We stayed in the Sequoia room, which was plenty of room for our family of four. We made a nice nook out of the walk-in closet for our toddler to sleep in, and the curtains are black-shaded so he slept great! A cool/random thing was, all the lights in the room/bathroom had a dimming feature. Nice when you have babies since they're so light-sensitive.

We are definitely coming back and bringing friends, especially in the off-season, so we can stay longer!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were looking for a 'cabin' like place to stay for our Yosemite trip but also something that was nice and romantic. This place was perfect. 15 minutes from Yosemite, fireplaces, big rooms, wood structures, a large porch perfect for a drink and a view of the mountains; and very clean and cozy. Eddie is extremely helpful and gives all sorts of tips on what to do in the area. One piece of advice is to bring some food with you. There is a very nice kitchen that is fully stocked with anything you would want for cooking and eating. Our neighbors used the grill on our first night to make burgers and we really wished we had brought some ourselves!!

Overall, it was a wonderful stay and we are extremely happy we chose this location. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggundy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
251 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
21.7 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Haus

Property: Evergreen Haus
Address: 43552 Whispering Pines Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9441
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite / Sierra's Evergreen Haus. Beautiful custom built cabin with outstanding mountain views of the Sierras. Yosemite, Bass Lake, Sierra National Forest, & Oakhurst are all only minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing