We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Gem of Yosemite!!!!!!!!!!!!! **MUST STAY HERE**”
Review of Evergreen Haus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakhurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Evergreen Haus
Ranked #1 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Long story, short...... My wife and I are originally from Alaska, however, we currently live in Texas (flat, no mountains). We we have been wanting to take our daughter on a hiking trip preferably in the mountains and after some careful considerations, we decided to take a trip to Yosemite. This was our first trip to Yosemite and would have to say that Eddie, (owner of the Evergreen Haus) made our stay so wonderful that we have already made plans to rent his entire cabin out the next time we visit. I strongly recommend the Evergreen Haus to anyone who is wanting the ultimate Yosemite experience. Not only is the Evergreen Haus a warm, safe, clean, cozy, friendly and inviting place to stay, Eddie makes your experience so phenomenal by helping you plan your trip in detail so that you and your family can fully experience all of what Yosemite and the other surrounding areas has to offer. Eddie also gives you secret tips on what to look for when you are visiting the areas of your specific interests. We stayed 4 days and the Evergreen Haus is in my opinion, the Hidden Gem of Yosemite. The cabin is top notch, extremely clean, and the other amenities that Eddie provides for his guests makes the Evergreen Haus without a shadow of a doubt, the best place to stay in Yosemite. TRUST ME! YOU WILL WANT TO STAY HERE!!!! ****CONTACT HIM NOW**** ROOMS FILL UP FAST***

Chris Paraoan

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisparaoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Evergreen Haus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our only regret regarding our stay was we only stayed for a short evening after visiting Yosemite and on our way to the coast. We have stayed in many family owned B and B's around the world and this was as good as it gets. They have thought of everything you could possibly need for your stay and beyond (insulated coffee cups for take away coffee). The history of the place, the views and the comfort factor were our most notable takeaways. We highly recommend and very much look forward to a return stay and to take advantage of their hospitality and knowledge of Yosemite and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: All four rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I cannot recommend this place enough! First of all, the location cannot get much better. It is just 10-15 minutes from the south entrance to Yosemite, and only a few minutes from Bass Lake and Sierra National Forest. Despite being so close to nature and so secluded, though, it is also just a few minutes from Oakhurst's stores and restaurants. The owner (Eddie) was waiting to greet us, give us a tour, and help us with maps, pamphlets, and insider tips. He obviously takes a great deal of pride in this cabin, and rightfully so. The Redwood Room accommodated two adults and two children just fine. The floorspace was tight with the two extra beds; however, we knew this in advance, and we mostly just used our room for sleep. We spent much of our waking hours (when not at the parks) on the large deck, in the yard, in the large living room, and in the kitchen. The grill is huge and certainly the nicest one that I've ever used. The yard has a trampoline, which my kids enjoyed a great deal. The whole place is exceptionally clean. After staying in hotels for over two weeks in LA and San Francisco, we especially appreciated having a kitchen! Sharing communal areas was surprisingly comfortable, and it was helpful to hear of the hikes that others were taking. We still had a private bathroom, so no worries there. The TV's have about a hundred times more channels that I'm used to, and the one in the living room is quite large. The price of this place is quite nice, particularly considering the helpful host and wonderful cabin. We stayed for four nights and wished that we had even more time there. It was difficult to leave. We will definitely stay here again if we get to return to Yosemite again.

Room Tip: As the description says, floorspace is minimal in the Redwood Room if you use both extra beds. Stil...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lateshowdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at Evergreen Haus for 2 nights while visiting Yosemite National Park and the surrounding area. We love supporting small family businesses -and that is exactly what Evergreen Haus is. Eddie and his family love Yosemite so much that they created a business that allows them to live close to the park. Their hard work and passion for what they do shows in all of the details of the cabin. It is a beautiful place to wake up and enjoy breakfast before you start your busy day of exploring. And it is the perfect place to end your day after lots of hiking and adventure. The Sequoia Room was very large - and accommodated 2 adults and 2 children very well. Our room was really clean and stocked with amenities. My favorite part was the kitchen (this was the main reason we booked this cabin). We are able to make dinner each night in a very well stocked communal kitchen. Both nights we had the kitchen to ourselves. The Evergreen Haus is about as close as you can get to the entrance of Yosemite. Just be prepared to drive at least an hour to Yosemite Valley. It took us closer to an hour and a half. Eddie is very knowledgeable about the park and can give you tons of info. We really enjoyed our stay. Forgot to mention the value - this was another reason we chose to stay here. You really cannot beat the price in this area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ErinR2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Highly recommend this place! Eddie and his wife were very hospitable and gave us some great tips on what to see in the area and some cool places to eat. Enjoyed the breakfast items available each morning and the room was perfect! Great view from the Haus as well. Originally only planned on staying one night but loved it so much we were back for a second night! Will be staying there again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stunning chalet type house on the edge of Yosemite. About 40 mins drive from the national park and 5 mins from a very nice town (oakhurst) with plenty of restaurants. Bedroom huge and really nice inside, with a private seating area looking onto the countryside. Large really nice communal area with tv and DVD etc. All you can eat help yourself style breakfasts. But above all the most incredibly friendly host in Eddie. Very knowledgeable about the area and really goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. If you want to stay in the area, stay here!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FMS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Evergreen Haus based on the glowing TripAdvisor reviews. Unfortunately, we did not completely concur with other reviews.

The huge cabin offers a generous common area shared with the four guest rooms. It includes a full-size kitchen, well appointed great room and nice-sized sized deck, making it an ideal property for a large group.

We stayed in the spacious Sequoia room which included a king-size bed, a futon (not a sofa bed as indicated) and a twin roll away. There is also a private patio with table and chairs. Our total charges for one night (because we were traveling with two teens) came to $215 which we consider a good value given the location and sheer size of the accommodations, but there were some disappointments in terms of the amenities offered.

For the most part, the room was clean but there were food crumbs on the futon from a previous guest and the clock radio and other knick knacks were dusty. There was a full-size headboard randomly stored in the guest closet right where guest clothes would be hung. Luggage racks were not provided, so our four suitcases wound up on the floor.

The soaps offered in the bathroom were used (wet), family-sized bars. The shampoo/conditioner and body wash were also in communal containers. There were only two bath towels and one washcloth (though more were available in a storage closet down the hall).

The bedding supplied for the futon did not include a fitted sheet; in fact it was a mish mash of a pillow case, a miss-matched flat sheet and a nubby blanket that had seen better days. After having wiped the futon clean of crumbs, I was a little creeped out that adequate sheeting was not provided.

For the roll-out bed which was set up in the closet, there were micro fiber sheets and a flat pillow which was stored, exposed on the top shelf in the closet. Goodness knows how long it may have sat there collecting dust.

There were only two very flat pillows provided for the king-sized bed. (The pillows inside the shams did not have cases so they could not be used.)

The overall feeling was that I was staying in a house of a lax family member--not an inn---which is likely to be agreeable to many travelers but was a little off-putting for our family.

I think this inn has 5-star potential with just a few easy enhancements in the amenities offered and a little more attention paid to cleanliness. I did bring my suggestions to the innkeeper, but he was quite defensive and off-putting and just kept referring to his many 5-star reviews. I was glad we had only booked one night.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank PlanningOurNextTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
253 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
21.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Haus

Address: 43552 Whispering Pines Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9441
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: £99 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite / Sierra's Evergreen Haus. Beautiful custom built cabin with outstanding mountain views of the Sierras. Yosemite, Bass Lake, Sierra National Forest, & Oakhurst are all only minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing