We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homely stay”
Review of A Bed of Roses B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Bed of Roses B&B
Ranked #4 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jarrow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice homely stay”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stopped for two nights at the bed of roses in the garden rose room this had wonderful views we could see eagles and deer from our room. The hosts were lovely and very welcoming , breakfast was gorgeous and it was interesting chatting to other guests from different parts of the world. The entrance to the park is only fifteen minutes away and bass lake close by is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Past reviews recommended garden rose room due to the views I would agree with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethJarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
95
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I want to be more positive in this review than I feel I can. The proprietors are great. The breakfast with other guests is great. But we stayed in their front room 'The Garden Room' which at one time was a porch, and is now turned into a strangely shaped bedroom. The bathroom was a bit funky and the wifi and tv reception spotty. The room is in the front of the house, windows on three sides, but it is basically hanging out over the main road which did have quite a bit of traffic.

The way the house is set up, the Garden Room door is directly facing the front entrance door, and the owners had two big easy chairs right outside the room so they could watch tv. It was just odd.

I also felt the entrance to the house was unwelcoming. Although in the spring when we were there the roses were blooming, the stairs were all chipped paint and the welcome mat was filthy.. Not a nice inviting entrance.

The owners realized we weren't thrilled and offered us a refund, but we stayed, enjoyed the town and the gogeous ride to Yosemite. Again, nice people, great breakfast spread, comfortable bed, but too much $ for what that room is.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTR30YRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Mary Kay and Steve are the most awesome hosts!

We had a very warm welcome and Mary Kay showed us around. Our room had a full en-suite bath and its own deck overlooking the pool and garden. The room was nicely decorated and has a TV but you'd rather have a chat with Mary Kay and Steve about what to do in Yosemite and where to eat out and a million other things.

The breakfast is exceptional and served family-style at a long table so you can exchange with the other guests and the hosts of course.

Their B&B is conveniently located just a few miles from the South Gate of Yosemite National Park.

They made our stay the best experience we had and we definitely recommend them to anyone who like to spend a few days in a calm and lovely home.

We wish you guys all the best!

Room Tip: Take a look at their web site and choose one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived in Oakhurst using 41 north from Fresno. Not an overly exciting driving but pretty much a straight line. Oakhurst is the gateway town to Yosemite. We stayed one night at A Bed of Roses Bed and Breakfast. Our room was the Country Rose. Full onsite bath and a small outside deck that was ours overlooking the pool. It had a very nice mountain view. The room was cool and comfortable. Access to the common areas was easy as a few steps. We found our hosts very friendly and accommodating. We recommend this place to any whom are considering a visit to the park and are not camping within it. A few short miles away is the front gate of the park.

Room Tip: The Country Rose room allowed us to leave early in the morning and avoid disturbing other guests or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFought920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Mary Kay and Steve were wonderful and warm-hearted hosts. Especially Mary May`s exceptional cooking skills (nobody should miss her yummy rasberry-cake) and Steve`s remarkable knowledge about so many different topics is something we will always remember. Our apartment was wonderful too. It is located amidst a beautiful forest where we had the opportunity observing deers passing by. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very, very spacious with a nice and big whirlpool inside. We would like to thank Mary Kay and Steve for the beautiful time we had in the region of Yosemite national park and can recommend them to anybody out there who would like to enjoy the calmness and freedom of wilderness romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catchupic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a two night stay in the wild rose room at the bed of roses in June of this year. Mary Kate and Steve were fantastic hosts and couldn't do enough for you. The home cooked breakfast was delicious and very filling. The room was very clean with satellite tv, local information, fridge and a jacuzzi bath. The toilet roll was better than the Bellagio! Oakhurst was only a five minute drive away so plenty of shops, restaurants etc. The entrance to Yosemite National Park was approximately 20minutes away. The Yosemite village is another 30miles from the entrance to the park. The one way system inside the park can be confusing so watch out for this. The park itself is full of wonderful walks and spectacular scenery. Overall the bed of roses was an amazing stop on our trip and we definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrandmrsstaniforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We are wedding cinematographers and needed a nice place to stay the night before a wedding in Yosemite. This place was so great, I wish I would have booked us a few extra nights! Steve and Mary Kay really have a passion for their business which is clearly evident in the way that they serve their guests. They are always pushing to make improvements and make sure that their guests feel welcome. This place was so clean and the breakfast was the most amazing breakfast that I have ever had at a B & B. It was a full course meal. They were willing to adjust to our gluten-free diet as well which is VERY hard to find. We had a very peaceful stay and will be back soon, :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
3.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
22.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
6.3 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
21.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed of Roses B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed of Roses B&B

Property: A Bed of Roses B&B
Address: 43547 Whispering Pines Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9441
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Bed of Roses B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing