We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two thumbs up”

Pop's Family Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oakhurst, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Pop's has been a very good informal restaurant. But I tested it last night by ordering a rib eye steak. Getting a good steak here in the mountains is more than unlikely. But Pop's was perfect! Perfectly done (I prefer rare), good size and thickness. Applause!

And Pop's has just (mid April) opened their outdoor patio for the season, Trust me, in good weather it's a wonderful place to eat...day or evening. In the Oakhurst area there's only one other restaurant with outdoor eating (Crab Cakes) and both are oh so pleasant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PropOakhurst-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    84
    30
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“same old same old......”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Can we get something NEW in Oakhurst?? I am tired of the same old burgers, fries, etc etc. We have Mickey D's Taco Bell, Jack in the box, A slough of bad Chinese. Some really crappy mexican food... No wonder people go through the drive through and get the hell out of town. If it wasn't for Woody's id never eat in Oaky.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YosemiteJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dennys for sure.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Frozen food sucks. They are very nice people so try it. The burgers are good. Great location for travelers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
419 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“GPS is completely OFF, enter Subway for the destination! They are behind Subway. Great find, well worth our detour...”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The latest previous reviews are interesting as we exp'd nothing but HUGE portions & a small town warm welcome!


The food overexcced our expectations:
+ham was good
+bacon (ordered crispy) was really tasty.
+hash browns were well done, not greasy just right!
+my husbands "french toast" was the stand out! Dense, but moist and very flavorful.


-the yolks on the eggs were a bit over done (they quickly) brought out 2 more eggs (runny yolks) perfect for bread dipping. Soooo good!

Clean, friendly, laid back ....what more does one need?!

We are "picky eaters" this place hit the spot!


  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Steak was good”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The steak I had was good, however we also ordered Teriyaki Salmon and it was way below average. The atmosphere is nice with lots of pictures of the local area and sportsman type decorations. The value was average - I need to try it for breakfast and see how that goes

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler11California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pop's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pop's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing