We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best BBQ in Town”
Review of Supernaw BBQ - CLOSED

Supernaw BBQ
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: Our restaurant was created in a location that permitted us access to an outdoor BBQ pit. We needed to be able to cook our meats over our wood coals. Our restaurant tends to get crowded so many people call ahead and get take-out. We have family style seating, family friendly and our decor is pretty simple. It's cute, like out Website.
Oakhurst, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best BBQ in Town”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have to go there. Best is to have lunch, they may be sold out for dinner. Which speaks for itself. Every morning I see Brad BBQ ing the meat for the day. So tender you don't have to chew much. A must eat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michaela_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    4
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“He liked the BBQ, I LOVED the sides and sauces!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were looking for a place to eat on our way to the big trees. The reviews for this place was good and we saw the BBQ and decided to stop. Sweet people, sweet place. My husband loved the ribs. We're usually the "soaked in sauce falling off the bone, can't tell it's meat" kind of rib fans. These were really ribs and we tried all the sauces - Chipotle BBQ was our favorite.

Now about the sides - I had the jalapeno-bacon-mac n cheese. Doesn't that cover all the food groups? After days of hiking I allowed myself all the carbs I could shovel in - and this was my treat. I licked the bowl, so good. The cole slaw struck a perfect balance between sweet and creamy. Delish.

Had a nice chat with one of the owners, which made the meal more memorable and delicious. A great place to stop to split up the trip and get a great great meal!

No pie that day, but the mac n cheese more than made up for it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ restaurant that we just stumbled upon.........”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just back from Supernaw's and pleasantly surprised. Food and staff were excellent. We had chicked sandwiches and shared an apple pie. Food was very tasty, fresh and quantity was more than we should have eaten !!!! We will be skipping dinner !! We were looking to avoid chain restaurants, and Oakhurst had a few, so this was an excellent alternative. We paid circa 30 dollars for 3 of us for 3 sandwiches, 3 drinks and a truly excellent appe pie.

We also used the bathroom, which was spotless, something that has been somewhat free, even amongst higher class eateries and chains. This is important for us as we are travelling with a small child.

Well done and good luck !!!

CK

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPKONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ribs were excellent”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Had the ribs and tri tip plus sides all were delicious with 3 different BBQ sauces that you can add as you like. Only a tiny complaint was the cornbread didn't taste very fresh but overall excellent and much more than was you'd expect from a "tourist town".

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasafrass7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“local favorite”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food and super friendly staff!!! Tri-tip sandwich is delicious, and the homemade BBQ is fabulous!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Supernaw BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing