We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Prices, but not very clean”
Review of Alice's Cookhouse - CLOSED

Alice's Cookhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Takeout
Description: Alice's Cookhouse serves Southern style BBQ and other specialties including Gumbo and Jambalaya in a homestyle setting. While dining enjoy a nice selection of Mammoth Brewery beers. Stop by and see us on your next visit to Yosemite.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Prices, but not very clean”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'm rating this restaurant mainly on the food. 6 of us went to Todd's BBQ for dinner tonight. Lots of choices and combinations, and everything we had was very good...from catfish (deep-fried), to french dip (lean meat with no fat), to brisket, to ribs (meaty)...and large portions for our group. However, they had 1 beer left in the whole restaurant (at 6pm). One would've thought they'd send someone out to get a case of beer, where they would make a good profit on it.

However, by our table in the back room, the windows were dirty, the blinds were filthy, the windowsills had dead bugs, and the men's restroom was pretty dirty. Also, the paint was chipping off the walls. Hopepfully, they'll read this review and clean up their restaurant, because the food is good.

Prices were pretty good and the people taking our order at the counter and delivering our order were pleasant and helpful,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oregonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    171
    60
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good barbecue”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good barbecue, served on paper plates, this is a very informal eat in restaurant. I had the pulled pork plate. The sauce is somewhat sweeter than what I am accustomed to, but it was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bgary49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and amiable staff!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My family stopped here for dinner one night after a day of hiking along waterfall trails in Yosemite NP. The staff were nice, and the food was great! It was a little pricey compared to what I'm used to in the mid-Atlantic/Southeast, but I wouldn't consider it expensive, especially for CA. I would recommend you to stop here if you like BBQ. Also, the ice cream is really good, and pretty cheap!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Our go-to place in Oakhurst!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Whenever we visit Yosemite National Park, we always make sure that we make a stop in Oakhurst to eat at Todd’s Cookhouse Barbeque. The ribs, brisket, pulled pork, chicken, sausage and garlic fries are all excellent, the portions are generous and the prices are fair – we’ve never left here hungry or disappointed. After a strenuous day of hiking, having dinner here is a nice reward!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BruinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tysons Corner, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but get there early”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

They do run out of smoked meats towards the end of the day, so get there early. To me this is a good thing since it means they're not reheating old/frozen meat in the back. Casual atmosphere, friendly service, great food. The brisket was tender and the jambalaya was fresh. Be sure to get a shake to wash it down. Huckleberry gets my vote.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vihao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alice's Cookhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing