We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2007

The location of the B&B is very quiet with a nice view over the valley of Oakhurst but very remote. We stayed one night in room #2. The room itself was nicely furnished and from the size ok. Additionally it was equipped with a modern TV, coffee making facility and a microwave. The landlady prepared some precooked thanksgiving dinner which she put in the fridge and we could heat it up in the microwave (USD 20 for two persons). She was very helpful and friendly.
The negatives:
- The bathroom and the drawer were definitly not cleaned recently (hair in the tub and the sink, the toilet seat looked very "used", spilled coffee on the front side of the drawer)
- The central heating didn't work properly. It was freezing outside and the inside temperature was max. 65 F. After three complaints the landlady brought a small electric heater
- The breakfast has to be self prepared and taken in the room. However there was no dining table (or something similar) available in the room. So we had to bring the terrace deck chairs inside

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MeinMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vulturesnest, owner at Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2007

This was our first and only negative review. Any of the conditions mentioned in the complaint that did exist have been corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2007

Vultures View is a truly beautiful place. We only stayed for 3 nights and we didnt want to leave. The view from our room (No. 1) was spectacular and we enjoyed the privacy of the jacuzzi with the most wonderful views across the countryside. Judy is a wonderful host, who makes sure you have everything you need but does not intrude at all. Dont go here if you want to be waited on hand and foot. Judy will only go in your room if you request it. The pleasure of this is you can get up when you want, do your breakfast when you want (all supplied in your room) and just generally enjoy peace, quiet and each others company. We had endless snacks of vegetable dips and fresh fruit. Wonderful. For just $25 Judy will supply a picnic hamper stuffed with goodies and will even supply a blanket and a tablecloth!
Our room was lovely and clean with plenty of space, a fridge, TV and even a DVD player. Although who wants to watch films when the view outside from our private deck and jacuzzi was so lovely?
Bass Lake is just a few miles away where you can hire boats or swim or just enjoy this perfect beauty spot. Yosemite is less than an hour away and the drive is fab.
If you are visiting this area treat yourself and stay at Vultures View, you wont regret it. We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cassie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

What a truly wonderful inn that definitely lived up to its name. The views from our room (#1) were breathtakingly beautiful, both day and night. We truly enjoyed our completely private room, spacious deck, and jacuzzi spa which overlooked the city of Oakhurst and provided panoramic views of all the nearby hills and mountains. It is also about 30 minutes away from Yosemite's south gate(midweek during the summer) which is not bad at all. And our room price was very reasonable.
Our host Judy Alexander was gracious in her welcome, offered her opinions on nearby eateries, and was overly accommodating with regards to our special dietary needs(organic and gluten-free). Upon arrival we were shown our room, told we were to have complete privacy(unless we wanted assistance in any way), and were provided with organic fruits and veggies to snack on during our stay. We also had a mini frig, microwave, coffeemaker w/coffee, and other wonderful amenities. The shower , bathroom vanity area, & closet were huge. The bed provided the best rest we had experienced in quite awhile.
Needless to say, our accommodations were everything we had expected and so much more. Thank you Judy for a fabulous Yosemite experience!! ^_^

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrsEmmaPeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This was my first time staying in a Bed and Breakfast and I had one of the most relaxing experiences. All three rooms have their own entrances which provides for maximum privacy. We stayed in room 2 which has a great view of the valley from our private deck. The bathrooms were spacious and very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The room had satellite TV with a flat panel on the wall and there is also a DVD player in the room. In addition to the continental breakfast (muffins bagels and cereal), our hosts provide a cheese and salami plate with crackers and some fresh cut fruit. Phil and Judy are lovely hosts and made things very comfortable for us. We will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wählen Sie am besten das Zimmer mit dem privaten Jacuzzi!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_und_M_aus_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semapatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 1 und 2 haben einen tollen Blick auf den Yosemite Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Guido P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
2.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
612 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hounds Tooth Inn
Hounds Tooth Inn
#7 of 10 in Oakhurst
321 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast

Address: 39045 John West Rd, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8693
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: £137 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All name says it all! Can you survive breathtaking sunsets and heart stopping views? Each room has fridge, lcd tv, microwave, coffeepot and wireless internet access. Opened 4-15-07. Private entrances to each room. Close to Yosemite, Bass Lake. A memory making experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing