We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau du Sureau
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pines Resort(Bass Lake)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
235
19
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
19
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselderberry houseeuropean stylefour poster bedmint roomfairy talewhisked awaygrand saloniron gatemagical placeseparate reviewan absolute treatgeranium roomhomemade granolaromantic weekendevery requesttook care of our luggagehot tea
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We booked Chateau du Sureau because it was the only good hotel in the area. The Ahwahnee is the alternative and gets pretty bad reviews, and some cottages I had found were fully booked. The chateau is very nice and the service is excellent - the staff really do go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. I can see that some people might find this overbearing - it's a small hotel and they do try to make people feel at home, so it's a very different atmosphere to a big 5* hotel. If you like cosy, then this is the place for you. The rooms are indeed a bit small, in keeping with the chateau theme. The bathtub was too deep to get into and out of comfortably, even for a young person, and there didn't appear to be any central heating, though there was a fireplace in the room.

The problem is that Oakhurst is not a very nice or charming place. When we made the reservation, we planned to eat at Erna's Eldeberry restaurant (associated with the hotel) and then try other places too, but there is absolutely nothing in Oakhurst other than chain restaurants (Pizza Factory etc), a dodgy-looking Chinese and the like. There are some better restaurants further afield, but they are at least a 20min drive away, down winding roads that are unlit at night. The food at Erna's restaurant is good, but again I felt it was overpriced at $95 per person for the prix fixe menu plus $75 each for matching wine.

Despite Oakhurst being only 15m from the Yosemite park entrance, it still takes a good 25-30mins to get there because the roads are so winding. Then it's a further hour from the entrance to the valley - so Chateau du Sureau turned out to be far less convenient for Yosemite than I had expected.

Overall, it's a good hotel, but I am not sure it's worth the price. For c$500 a night I would have expected quite a lot more. The problem is that there doesn't appear to be an alternative in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank whirlwind79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed at the Chateau after having stayed at the Ahwahnee for the first part of our trip to Yosemite--there is no comparison. The Chateau is 5 star in every way (The Ahwahnee is, sadly, not). The Chateau is like staying in someone's private European villa. The setting and building are beautiful. The service is impeccable--the staff attended to our every need--be it icing down a bottle of wine while we were hiking so it would be ready upon our return, to having our car parked at the front steps every morning. The rooms are beautifully appointed with 4 poster beds, European antiques, and large baths. Our room had a fireplace, which unfortunately, could not be used due to current dry season fire hazard. Otherwise, the stay was perfect. The adjacent Elderberry restaurant is world class also--amazing food with a complete change of menue daily--beautiful setting and attentive, but not intrusive, service. It is definitely pricey--our room was $495/night and dinner for two at the restaurant (5 courses with wine and tip) was $310--but you, undoubtedly, get what you pay for--we will look forward a return visit.
FYI: the Chateau is about 15 minutes to the Yosemite Park south entrance and Maraposa Sequoia Grove, about 1.5 hours to the south rim of the valley (incredible hiking off the road to Glacier Point!), and about 2 hours from Yosemite Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

There are very few boutique hotels in America like Chateau du Sureau. I went on my vacation to see the magnificent Yosemite Valley but will forever talk about the wonderful Chateau and Elderberry house restaurant before El Capitan and Half Dome. Thank you Erna for building such a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malarchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Chateau Du Sureau in California. It is close to Yosemite Park. This luxurious bed and breakfast has a fantastic restaurant on the property (The Elderberry House) and a fantastic Spa. The food at the restaurant and the great wine list rival the finest establishments in the US or Europe.The attention to detail and guest service is something we have never experienced to this depth. Each room is in a different European themed decor. Authentic Antique furniture is in every room. The efforts of Sonja and Erna a re visible throughout. The breakfast consits of a good balance of cheeses, fruits and meats. Our visit here has truly been a wonderful experience. The place is a destination in and of itself. The chic little towns in the rest of the "gold country" and Yosemite Valley are also not to be missed.

Judy and Hans Heitmann

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heitmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We had heard about this Relais & Chateaux property for a number of years and have stayed at other affiliated small hotels in the Caribbean (Horned Dorset) and France (Les Crayeres). So it was with great anticipation that we checked in for a romantic weekend in February 2010. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room by the Chateau manager. The room was very cozy, with a roaring fire in the hearth, and exposed beam ceiling. The bed was quite comfortable, being outfitted with a fluffy down comforter and fine italian linens. The room was clean, though the lighing fixtures and controls could stand to be updated.
One problem we noticed was that the bathtub was clogged, so after showering, one had to stand in the dirty water and wait for the tub to drain, before completing the bath. For such an exquisite hotel experience, this oversight stood out. Overall, we would recommend Chateau du Sureau to our friends. There was good attention to our comfort and ease, and the wait staff was excellent. We had a delightful stay at this hotel, though it was not up to the standard set by our previous two stays at the other Relais & Chateaux properties.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vps5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews