We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite from the city”
Review of Chateau du Sureau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau du Sureau
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I am a real estate agent in Manhattan Beach etc. and I have a new ranch listing in Raymond. Decided to spend two nights in the area and chose this hotel since I grew up in France. Truly reminded me of small elegant hotels throughout the south of France. The service was superb. When we pulled up to entry we were greeted by staff who took us directly to our room (bags were delivered within two minutes). We were offered and we accepted cold glasses of fresh made lemonade, two glasses of lovely chardonay and out of this world chicken salad finger sandwiches.

Our room was #5 Chamomile which is upstairs facing the garden. No TV. Wood burning fireplace. Small balcony. Very comfy bed. When we went downstairs for breakfast the next morning, the room was serviced by the time we returned (an hour later). Only two negatives; tissue box was kept under the sink. Once we found it we put it on top of sink. When room was cleaned next day, it was put under sink again. I like have tissues handy. Only other issue which my husband complained about (and it is my mission to make my husband happy) was the bathtub. It is a combination shower/bathtub and it requires a certain agility and very very long legs to get in and out without performing certain acrobatics.

As it is a small hotel with only 10 rooms, the staff are all very very attentive. Thank you to all.
If a bear of a man sneaks up on you, it is most probably Paul Ruffino, the Director of the property. Very gracious and helpful. If you need anything, he is the man.

We had dinner both nights in hotel restaurant. You cannot go wrong here. The detail in presentation of the different courses to the timing of each serivng was spot on. Samuel Aguilar the Wine Director was very helpful and informative in the wines.

As we were leaving the restaurant the first night, my wonderful husband made a comment to Samuel that while we were visiting due to business circumstances, he missed his families Passove Sedar back in Hermosa Beach. By the time we got back to our room (5 minute walk, about 10 p.m.) our phone rang. Who could be calling? We didn't tell our kids where we were going. It was Kim, one of the hotel staff to inform us that the chef, Gunnar Thompson would like to make us a special Passover meal the next night. My husband told her that he would think about it. The next morning during breakfast, one of the staff asked if he had decided. My husband didn't want to be too demanding so he suggested matzah ball soup. And that nights dinner included two bowls of matzah ball soup. Not exactly like grandma used to make but very good. To both of us this was really over the top. Very sweet and mucho appreciated. Samuel even pored a surprisingly good Kosher cabernet.

Our dogs. Did I fail to mention our puppies? When my husband called to make the reservation, he asked about the dog policy and was told that while they do allow dogs, maximum weight allowed is 11 pounds. It is a small property after all. The problem as my husband explained, is that our two puppies (Bouvier de Flanders), Luna and Argus, each have paws that weigh more than 11 lbs. Suffice to say he somehow convinced them that while they may be very big dogs, they have the personalities of friendly cats (which they would of course like to eat) and our puppies were invited to be with us. Wherever we go our puppies are always welcomed and they quickly become friends with everyone they come in contact with. No exception here.

Thank you hotel staff for making our visit so extra-ordinary. We will be back.

Room Tip: Sorry, no opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

You would never guess that just seconds from the last row of strip malls on the way to Yosemite is a beautiful Relais &Chateau approved bed and breakfast. Although there are fast food chains are within walking distance they seem miles, if not continents, away once you pass through the gates of Sureau. The charming main house, 5 star restaurant (Erna's Elderberry House) and spa are tucked into a hill side with lovely French gardens and whimsical paths. Our lovely room was luxurious but “comfy” with it fireplace, big cozy bed and lovely French soaps. The staff is excellent. The breakfast was wonderful. Erna’s restaurant is not to be missed if you are wine & food person and don’t mind paying for it. You can easily do a day trip to Yosemite (although the park’s south entrance is just 14 miles the valley floor is still about an hour away). My husband had a confernce at Tenya Lodge and our 11 yr. daughter and I went along. It is great place for well behaved kids who enjoy homeade cookies, an giant outdoor chess board and swings!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coachapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

From the moment we called to make reservations to the very end of our stay, the service was personable and incredibly very classy. When arriving you have to go thru a gate where you give you name in order to be let in. Once we were thru the gates we drove right up to the front steps where the director was awaiting our arrival. He instructed to leave our bags in the car. He showed us to our room (Saffron Room) and around the property. Our car was parked and our bags were brought to our room. we never had to lift a finger. Every employee greeted us whenever we left and returned to the property. We were given welcome tea and snacks once we were settled into our room. The staff made themselves available to our every need. With it being a bed and breakfast there are no tv's in the room. however you can request for one to be brought up. We opted for no tv and took advantage of the beauty of the property. There is a giant chess board out in the yard as well as a swing set built for adults. There is a swimming pool, pond and gazebo. On our 2nd day there we had a spa treatment which i would have to say was the best ever. The spa is situated towards the back of the property. Later we went into town and had a picnic. From what I understand we could have had a lunch prepared for us to take on our picnic. We ate at the restaurant Erna's Elderberry House for dinner. Wow talk about some very good food!
What I really liked about this property was the high quality of service that gave the home away from home feeling. Everyone was incredibly warm and courteous. The director always made sure to say hello to us everyday. Erna came by along with her little doggie and introduced herself to us as well. I can't wait to go back. I can't say enough about this place. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway or you're not into the camping but love the outdoors or just looking into getting away from it all, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassnsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Chateau du Sureau is charming, quaint, comfortable, and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, unique each, with different furnishings. Breakfast is always delicious, with fresh fruits, eggs to order, meats etc.. There is a chapel in the Chateau, that is tiny, but sweet and peaceful. Everyday there is fresh lemonade being served upon entering the chateau, and there is also a secret cookie jar, always stocked fresh, with delicious cookies!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice, just look at the web sight, to choose the exact room you'd like. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeremiah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you are looking for a romantic bed and breakfast, this is the chateau. The room includes morning breakfast and all of the personal treatment one never imagined. The on property resturant offers extraordinary dinners and service unmatched. An excellant choice for anniversary, honeymoon or any special occasion. The spa is beautiful. Nothing is overlooked in the decor. The staff treats you as a very special person. We will return for another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A beautiful gem of a hotel where the service is and the attention to detail is extraordinary.
The rooms are decorated in a french style and quite beautiful. The bed had an amazing mattress as well.
The Eledeberry Restaurant is definitely a destination restaurant. The food is superb, and here the attention to detail is evident down to the dinnerware and cutlery.
This is definitely a splurge and definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dentdoctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We spent a delightful three-day weekend at Chateau du Sureau, including breakfasts and dinners and two picnic lunches. The dinners fully merited the Michelin star, AAA 5-Diamond, and 28/30 points in Zagat's. The wine pairings with the 5-course tasting menu were especially well done. We took the picnics with us hiking in Yosemite (Pohono Trail to Glacier Point, Sentinel Dome and Taft Point, and then the Mist Trail and John Muir Trail) and found that a picnic for one was more than enough for two of us, so we spread ours over two days. The drive from Oakhurst to either Curry Village or Glacier Point was about 90 minutes, but it's a glorious drive, especially with the top down, through often shady forest. Excellent service all around. We liked the no-tipping policy (they charge a gratuity to the overall bill, so tips are pre-paid, as it were). We also loved having a massage scheduled in the evening after our first long hike.

Room Tip: We were charmed by the Lavender Room (#4) tucked in an upper corner of the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom of Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
184 reviews
10.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.8 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Sureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Sureau

Address: 48688 Victoria Ln, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: £195 - £591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau du Sureau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau du Sureau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Sureau Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing