We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Startling”
Review of Chateau du Sureau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau du Sureau
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I've made three business trips to the Oakhurst area in 2013 and have stayed at Chateau du Sureau on two of the trips. It is a remarkable place. Although it is a stone's throw from a strip mall and seems at first glance a bit too froofy and pink, it's a truly exceptional place. The inn is elegant, with a large drawing room that manages to be formal and inviting at the same time (although bar service would help). The rooms are thoughtful and well-maintained (I have stayed in Thyme and Saffron), with big windows and large bathrooms and memorable touches like fresh-baked cookies and Pellegrino and a directory that includes a history written by the proprietress. It is the kind of place that has a guest book in every room but does not make a guest feel like he has to, or is supposed to, write in it. It is small enough to be unquestionably intimate -- the staff immediately learns your name -- yet big enough that no one would mistake it for a B&B. At any rate, the real highlight here is the food. As a city-dweller visiting midweek during the off-season, I had low expectations for the restaurant notwithstanding the accolades heaped upon it over the years. In fact, I had two of the best meals I've ever had, every course innovative and balanced and perfectly proportioned. They were served by a well-trained wait staff and accompanied by wines that were well off the beaten path. I can't recall ever being so pleasantly surprised by a hotel -- or looking forward so much to another business trip to the area.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank sfhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

From the moment the electric gates opened, we knew we were in for a real treat. We were greeted by a butler and maid who took our cases, showed us around the Chateau and totally pampered us. The chateau is fab. The furniture, doors and decorations have been individually selected from all over Europe. Classical music is playing softly throughout the chateau and bedroom. There is a selection of cd's to choose from in the room. Our bedroom was called Sweet Geranium and was beautifully decorated and had a four poster bed and fireplace. There were several lovely ornaments throughout that had been brought from Europe that made the room feel very homely. We loved the little touches - beautifully home made chocolates on arrival and again more on the bed in the evening, left with a lovely note. Dinner was outstanding and took place in Elderberry House at the front of the hotel. After dinner you can retire to the drawing room to play the piano, watch television, listen to music, read or chat to other guests. Quiet enclosed swimming pool in pretty gardens. There is also small park with a life size chess board and boules. The gourmet breakfast takes place on the back terrace and was delicious. Erna was absolutely charming and her story is amazing. This is a must for any celebration - you will definitely want to return. It is about 30 minutes to Yosemite. Relais et Chateaux at its best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Wonderful small place, great rooms, beautiful gardens, extremely helpful staff -- a great get away. And a restaurant to die for. Seriously, add a couple of nights here to a Yosemite trip, and you will have an experience to remember.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank d4183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

CHATEAU DU SUREAU

After we had been visiting and exploring Yosemite National Park we drove about 30 minutes, to this absolutely charming, French castle found right in California. The delightful staff greeted our car as we pulled in, taking us up the winding staircase to our rooms. There are only 10 rooms in the Chateau, each uniquely decorated with antiques, 4-poster beds, gorgeous linens and amenities. No sooner had we arrived than we were brought a tray of assorted wines and sandwiches to snack on. We walked the breathtaking gardens, awash with a myriad of colors and marveled at the array of sculptures. We had a little time to relax and then had a fabulous five course French style gourmet dinner at Erna's Elderberry House Restaurant. Even the menu was adorned with a personal touch ... our names imprinted at the top. Erna, herself, joined us for a few moments of table talk.

A short visit here but well worth the stop to relax and unwind. Next morning, we were off to our last destination. After a good breakfast, we said our goodbyes to all. In just the one day we were made to feel part of a family of friends. Hugs were shared, goodbye packages given to each of us with bottles of water for our trip and bags of pistachio nuts to munch on. On to Napa and the wine country.

This is a small boutique Bed and Breakfast ... not to be missed if you are any where in the vicinity. You will be taken in by its charm and luxury.

Room Tip: All are beautiful and charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AleseMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

If you are planning to visit the Yosemite area, add Chateau du Sureau to your itinerary.

Once you enter the gates of the Chateau, you'll feel as though you've become the star of your own fairytale. The grounds are breathtaking, the service is exceptional and the experience is like no other. Your every wish is granted by the staff, who truly care for you as though you're family.
When you wake each morning, you'll discover a royal encounter-The Chateau's breakfast. Each breakfast features a specially prepared delight from the chef, heavenly croissants, brioche and our favorite, homemade granola.
Another royal encounter is experienced at the on property restaurant, Erna's Elderberry House Restaurant. Dine in amazement while you savor delicious offerings prepared by culinary geniuses.
The only disappointing thing at Chateau du Sureau is your departure. We will treasure our time living out our own enchanting fairytale and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwendolynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Yosemite is a dilemma. It is a spectacular park, truly a must-see destination. However, all of the food and lodging in the park itself, and some even just outside the park, is controlled by a well-connected National Park concessionaire called Delaware North, which takes great advantage of its monopoly. Hence, the lodging and food service in the park itself is shoddy, overpriced and even dangerous (google Hantavirus Yosemite).
Chateau du Sureau is a charming, Relais et Chateau property, very much in the style of its Austrian owner. It may be the closest luxury lodging experience to the park, but it is at least a 90 minute drive on mountain roads to get to the valley itself. Huge swaths of the western Sierras bill themselves as "Yosemite" this or that, but much of that is nowhere near the Yosemite valley. The "Fresno-Yosemite Airport", for example, is over two hours from the Yosemite valley. That's no closer than the Modesto airport and only a little closer than the Oakland airport, which has far more commercial service.

My advice is to view Chateau du Sureau as a destination unto itself. Go for the food, or to relax in the mountain air next to the pool.

There are great Sequoia groves nearby, including the nearby, remote Nelder grove and the half hour-away, just-in-the-park, spectacular but not remote Mariposa grove. There's also great hiking nearby. Enjoy the Chateau and its nearby surroundings, without the expectation of being near the valley.

But if you are headed to the Yosemite valley, don't try to stay here, go and then return. Make it a stopover en route, then try to stay in the valley (despite the mediocre accommodations), or make it just a day trip to the valley and continue on to somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hope_to_help_others
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Perfect getaway for a special event - lovely and inventively landscaped grounds to get married on, romantic rooms for an anniversary celebration, exquisite dining in the Elderberry Restaurant to celebrate a birthday at. A magical place with a delightful European ambience and style as well as exceptional hospitality and service by a friendly and knowledgeable staff. Many small touches that make it a cut above and a memorable experience. Also, logistically ideal for exploring the Wawona end of Yosemite Park as well as the Oakhurst area with Bass Lake, the Lewis Creek trail and other natural wonders. You will not go wrong at the Chateau du Sureau, guaranteed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
184 reviews
10.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.8 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Sureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Sureau

Address: 48688 Victoria Ln, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: £195 - £591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau du Sureau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau du Sureau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Sureau Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing