We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and Well thought out”
Review of Chateau du Sureau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau du Sureau
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Union, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Classy and Well thought out”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Erna (the lady who owns this place) is clearly someone who is extremely passionate about what she does, and it shows. The decor, the service, the rooms-everything is classic French Chateau style. From the time we entered through the majestic gates, to be greeted by our gracious host, to the time we drove out-bumping into Erna herself, it was an enjoyable stay. The staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The rooms are well appointed. Breakfast is good. Common areas are nice too. The adjoining restaurant (Erna's Elderberry House) - apparently the reason this chateau was built (to accommodate diners that came from afar) is delightful. See my review for that separately. Its about a 30 min drive from the Yosemite entrance

Room Tip: all rooms are great. Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    18
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
175
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We are overdue our review of our stay at the chateau. It was an unexpected but amazing splurge while on our family car trip with infant son and two large dogs. We arrived at the Chateau very late at night, in a rain storm, in off season, and were welcomed with open arms and umbrellas. Everyone couldn't have been kinder. All staff were warm, friendly and sincere. They helped us with day plans, and also with babysitting while we had a private dinner for the two of us in the breakfast room in front of the fire. A special occasion for new parents. The food couldn't have been better (I would agree exquisite) and the menu personalized for our/my allergies. We loved breakfast as well, and I am the type of person who will rate a hotel solely on their breakfast. I have forgotten which room we stayed in, but it had its own exit to the garden which was certainly convenient. Room was spacious with four poster bed and fireplace and was spotless. Our trip was without a schedule and we enjoyed the Chateau so much we stayed an extra night. We enjoyed and appreciated the extra attention to housekeeping in our room, warming of baby food in the kitchen, beer in our room and fire in the fireplace at the end of a long day of sightseeing, and homemade cookies in the jar in the front hall. The location was great for what we wanted to sightsee. We did see the spa but didn't use - didn't have time. We will have to visit the Chateau when we are in the area again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PearsonX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We were visiting the parks in California with some friends and they told us about Chateau Du Sureau . We stopt there and we were imprested . Very cozy hotel . The staff was probably the best witch I met in States . The rooms are not to big , but very elegant . The owner was there all the time , taking care of the guest . The restaurant was very good . The food was great . Not the wine selection , but probably we are used more with european wins . We will go back evry time when will be in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

As a compliment to Erna's Elderberry House in Oakhurst, CA (a mountain town East of Merced), this highly European influenced chateau delivers a getaway experience quite different from your usually B&B or inn. Built in 1991, each room is different in character, but probably similar in restrained elegance. This is a 5 diamond / 5 star hotel that is very unique and worth the extra cost.

Our room, the Chamomile Room, was very comfortable and included a fireplace, several views of the mountains, and a spacious bathroom. Windows all around, you can feel the mountain environment with whatever you are doing. ;) Our large four poster canopy bed was quite comfortable and made sleeping a dream (sorry). Staying there two nights, we ended up spending a fair amount of time in front of the fireplace reading and engaging in discussion.

The staff greets you as you arrive through the gated grounds, taking care of your bags, vehicle, and offering you a snack as you enter. They are always available for anything you need whether some tea in your room, hot chocolate in front of the fireplace in the large common room, or late afternoon sandwiches after an outing. They even dress as you might expect in a fine European hotel.

Our room was very well appointed with no TV. Yea!!! This is a good place to give it up and get back in touch with some basic things such as friendship, talking or just taking it easy without a media blast. They offer a spa though we didn't participate. Really, this is a lovely place to spend a night or two (sometimes two nights are required) getting in touch with your mate / significant other.

From the Chateau it is an easy drive over to Yosemite through the South entrance, up to Mariposa Grove, or to a number of other attractions in the Sierras. Due to its altitude, they get snow there and you may need chains if you don't have 4 wheel drive. We drove over to the park and chains / 4 wheel was required due to the ice/snow on the valley floor.

In summary, this is a great place for a special, elegant getaway. We highly recommend partaking in Erna's Elderberry House next door for a very special and assiduous dinner. See separate review on TA.

Cheers!

Room Tip: They are all nice in a quiet setting. You can view them on-line though they are not quite as large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

There are many reasons to explore Yosemite, but among the most compelling should be a stay at the nearby Chateau du Sureau in Oakhurst. There are not enough superlatives to describe our recent visit. It is an exceptional inn, an absolute treat in every way. From our gracious welcome to our truly reluctant farewell, we were cared for and pampered by a staff who could not have been more accommodating. They exude a warmth at every turn, and magically seem to be able to anticipate a request even before we knew what we wanted.

As alluring as the neighboring countryside is, it was difficult to leave the Chateau. The gardens are lovely, and it was delightful exploring the myriad paths. The guest rooms and public areas are exquisitely furnished, and there is a European sensibility about the decor that creates the feeling of being in someone's beautiful home. Dining is scrumptious, indeed, sublime; the service, thoughtful and professional; the menu, gloriously gourmet. The owners are passionate about offering exceptional hospitality, a generosity of spirit and heart that is evident in every aspect of the Chateau. Staying there gives true meaning to the definition of "hospitality", and it is an experience to be truly treasured.

Room Tip: They all are wonderful, each unique and charming for different reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at Chateau du Sureau as part of my wife's 60th birthday celebration week. Aside from the excellent and charming lodging as well as associated restaurant, which you would expect from a Relais & Chateaux rated property, the staff and surroundings make it a must stay place if you are going to visit Yosemite. Indeed,the staff knew about my wife's birthday celebration and went out of their way to help me surprise her and make it special.

As part of the same trip my wife and I ate at many fine restaurants in LA and California, but I can ruefully say that we found the Elderberry Restaurant to be the best.

Thanks to all that help make the celebration special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_Irwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 27th wedding anniversary at the Chateau du Sureau, and now we know why it is listed in the book, "1000 Places to see before you die." We stayed two nights - Friday night was "just the room" which does come with breakfast, and Saturday night "Full Board."

We are extremely grateful for Erna's dog friendly policy, as we are happiest with our pretty little Molly.

I selected The Elderberry Room, and I'm glad I did because we believe it has the best views - both of the magnificent property as well as expansive views of the mountains. This room is simply gorgeous, it is just perfect and lovely in every way. It has a balcony which the website description didn't mention. It doesn't have a TV but the strong WiFi allowed my husband to watch the Sharks Hockey game on our iPad via Slingbox. The only thing that was missing was a log in the fire place, which I really wanted. The shower is excellent, and I was delighted with the L'Occitane products. The sheets and duvet are soft and wonderful.

The Chateau grounds are masterful - we loved the natural trail, the life-size chess set (though I wish it had been swept up for perfect photos), the koi pond, the swing set, and all the flowers.

On Saturday, the Chateau packed us a picnic lunch and we drove to the Nelder Grove, about 20 miles away, and walked the "Shadow of the Giants Interpretive Trail" - an easy one mile loop where you can walk right up to Giant Sequoias - then drove about 10 miles on the 6S90 "Difficult Road" (it wasn't really difficult) to the Lewis Creek Trail, walked the trail, then took Highway 41 back to the Chateau.

Our dinner at Erna's Elderberry House was fantastic! We did the wine pairings x 2, and the optional cheese course, and it was all so fantastic. Love, love, loved it all!

The staff at the Chateau are true professionals - very sweet, friendly, and helpful. I felt awful having to hand them the "dog business" bag"to throw away. I so wished there had been a little pale outside somewhere where I could have placed the dog business. But they were all so gracious.

Yes, this was an expensive weekend for sure, but I think you will agree too that the experience is worth the money. I wish I could post even more photos with this review!

Thank you, Erna and Team, for a wonderful weekend. And again, we are grateful we could experience Chateau du Sureau with our little girl, Molly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTown4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
161 reviews
10.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.8 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Sureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Sureau

Property: Chateau du Sureau
Address: 48688 Victoria Ln, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau du Sureau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau du Sureau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Sureau Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing