We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Management staff not friendly but place is cute” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau du Sureau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau du Sureau
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Management staff not friendly but place is cute”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I've dined here twice, stayed over here one night, and once the service was great but the other times it was very slow and painful. The food was good.
The management here seems a bit unfriendly. A bit snooty.
Definitely try this place out as it is different. But don't be surprised if you have a great experience or a very terrible one. Can really go either way.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveWellUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauSureau, Director of Operations at Chateau du Sureau, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear LiveWellUSA, thank you for writing to us, we truly appreciate your candid feedback. We are sorry that you did not feel that you experienced the best that our staff has to offer. Being a 5-Diamond, 5-Star property we strive to exceed our guests expectations. May we ask what specifically did not meet yours? If you would be so kind as to email us (chateau@chateausureau.com) directly, we will gladly discuss this further with you, and resolve our error. We would welcome the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    17
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
156
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Good: Extremely warm winter days. Décor was interesting, especially the canopy bed, reminded my wife of when she was a little girl... Classical music in the room, perfect selection. The garden view was nice but we had to keep the shutters down for privacy from other outside guests and the gardeners in the evening and morning. The breakfast (not served at the restaurant, but rather the maids) brioche and croissants were wonderful the rest of the breakfast, well ho hum! I detest overly sweetened yogurt poured over perfectly good home made granola, neither of us fitness nuts could swallow it. The meat and cheese platter was enough for one person so my wife had that and I enjoyed the excellent coffee and had an early lunch at the lake! We were excited to find a bocce court though the surface was a mushy DG instead of oyster shell and too soft for proper play. We enjoyed the 800 meter walk but could have been a lot longer for proper exercise so in addition we took a 4 mile hike up above lake. The swing set and coy pond a nice touch.

The Bad: Location, looking out over the chateau you could see the city of Oakhurst, what? With all the beautiful mountains and valleys why this location??? Bedrooms very small, balcony the size of a matchbox and not meant for use, bathroom was very awkward and the step down tub/shower is a lawsuit waiting to happen. The worst part was the noise because of the supposedly antique wooden doors, all the noise from the hallway and downstairs came into the room. Need tissues, look under the sink where you would find a plunger? Room door locks hard to open! Spent 20 minutes looking for someone to get our car keys the first time going out.

The restaurant: I would have given 5 stars because the dinner by would have made up for everything but this is only a rating for the hotel. The dinner was very exceptional to say the least. Figure $200 Per Person and well worth it! The one negative aspect about this 5 star restaurant was they don't appear to have any dress code which was rather embarrassing and the only negative aspect of an otherwise perfectly wonderful 3-hour dinning experience! Any serious R&C should have a least a shirt and tie code, and turn away the scumbags in flannel and Hawaiian shirts and jeans that don't know how to dress properly. This is supposed to be an R&C in France isn't it?

Bottom line: At a $1,000 per night with dinning this R&C did only so-so and we've only stayed at only one worse as far as overall experience! But if you're in for $500 a plate dinner then you could consider the hotel free! I would recommend visiting here once then stay at the Ahwahnee hotel in Yosemite and dinning here in the evening on your way back to the bay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank astewart999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Chateau du Sureau is a Five Diamond Resort and it shows at every turn you make, from the service of the staff to the amazing comforters.

This is our fourth time staying at the Chateau du Sureau. Usually when you go back to a resort you can see that it is a little older and they just don't give the place the attention that they did the first time you were there, not at this Chateau. Erna (owner) is very particular and everytime we have been there to visit she is there making sure that every detail is perfect. The flowers in the room, burning fire in the fire place, to the pillows on the bed.

My husband's favorite thing that they do are the elfs that will polish your shoes if you leave them out by your door at night, in the morning you wake up and the shoes are polished with a little wrapped candy on them.

My favorite is the smell of something cooking in the kitchen and the feeling that it is just the two of you, but yet if you need something the staff is right there.

The resort is so relaxing and peaceful. We feel so refreshed after we leave, and we always look forward to returning.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mblnparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Erna (the lady who owns this place) is clearly someone who is extremely passionate about what she does, and it shows. The decor, the service, the rooms-everything is classic French Chateau style. From the time we entered through the majestic gates, to be greeted by our gracious host, to the time we drove out-bumping into Erna herself, it was an enjoyable stay. The staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The rooms are well appointed. Breakfast is good. Common areas are nice too. The adjoining restaurant (Erna's Elderberry House) - apparently the reason this chateau was built (to accommodate diners that came from afar) is delightful. See my review for that separately. Its about a 30 min drive from the Yosemite entrance

Room Tip: all rooms are great. Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aumkarnur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We are overdue our review of our stay at the chateau. It was an unexpected but amazing splurge while on our family car trip with infant son and two large dogs. We arrived at the Chateau very late at night, in a rain storm, in off season, and were welcomed with open arms and umbrellas. Everyone couldn't have been kinder. All staff were warm, friendly and sincere. They helped us with day plans, and also with babysitting while we had a private dinner for the two of us in the breakfast room in front of the fire. A special occasion for new parents. The food couldn't have been better (I would agree exquisite) and the menu personalized for our/my allergies. We loved breakfast as well, and I am the type of person who will rate a hotel solely on their breakfast. I have forgotten which room we stayed in, but it had its own exit to the garden which was certainly convenient. Room was spacious with four poster bed and fireplace and was spotless. Our trip was without a schedule and we enjoyed the Chateau so much we stayed an extra night. We enjoyed and appreciated the extra attention to housekeeping in our room, warming of baby food in the kitchen, beer in our room and fire in the fireplace at the end of a long day of sightseeing, and homemade cookies in the jar in the front hall. The location was great for what we wanted to sightsee. We did see the spa but didn't use - didn't have time. We will have to visit the Chateau when we are in the area again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PearsonX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We were visiting the parks in California with some friends and they told us about Chateau Du Sureau . We stopt there and we were imprested . Very cozy hotel . The staff was probably the best witch I met in States . The rooms are not to big , but very elegant . The owner was there all the time , taking care of the guest . The restaurant was very good . The food was great . Not the wine selection , but probably we are used more with european wins . We will go back evry time when will be in the area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, California
Level Contributor
354 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

As a compliment to Erna's Elderberry House in Oakhurst, CA (a mountain town East of Merced), this highly European influenced chateau delivers a getaway experience quite different from your usually B&B or inn. Built in 1991, each room is different in character, but probably similar in restrained elegance. This is a 5 diamond / 5 star hotel that is very unique and worth the extra cost.

Our room, the Chamomile Room, was very comfortable and included a fireplace, several views of the mountains, and a spacious bathroom. Windows all around, you can feel the mountain environment with whatever you are doing. ;) Our large four poster canopy bed was quite comfortable and made sleeping a dream (sorry). Staying there two nights, we ended up spending a fair amount of time in front of the fireplace reading and engaging in discussion.

The staff greets you as you arrive through the gated grounds, taking care of your bags, vehicle, and offering you a snack as you enter. They are always available for anything you need whether some tea in your room, hot chocolate in front of the fireplace in the large common room, or late afternoon sandwiches after an outing. They even dress as you might expect in a fine European hotel.

Our room was very well appointed with no TV. Yea!!! This is a good place to give it up and get back in touch with some basic things such as friendship, talking or just taking it easy without a media blast. They offer a spa though we didn't participate. Really, this is a lovely place to spend a night or two (sometimes two nights are required) getting in touch with your mate / significant other.

From the Chateau it is an easy drive over to Yosemite through the South entrance, up to Mariposa Grove, or to a number of other attractions in the Sierras. Due to its altitude, they get snow there and you may need chains if you don't have 4 wheel drive. We drove over to the park and chains / 4 wheel was required due to the ice/snow on the valley floor.

In summary, this is a great place for a special, elegant getaway. We highly recommend partaking in Erna's Elderberry House next door for a very special and assiduous dinner. See separate review on TA.

Cheers!

Room Tip: They are all nice in a quiet setting. You can view them on-line though they are not quite as large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
10.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
25.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Sureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Sureau

Property: Chateau du Sureau
Address: 48688 Victoria Ln, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau du Sureau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Chateau du Sureau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Sureau Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing