We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An up market B&B not a 5 star property”
Review of Chateau du Sureau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau du Sureau
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An up market B&B not a 5 star property”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Other than its setting & gardens which were quite nice and security, this property was entirely disappointing and grossly overpriced.
It was located just off a main highway and quite noisy outside. More of an issue though was the one & a half hours drive into Yosemite valley- a 3h daily round trip, so not ideal as a base to see magnificent Yosemite.
Our bedroom (Geranium) was small and overcowded with some rather dated furniture, including a massive four poster bed. There was a pathway directly outside our window and the place was not sound proof- so not very private or romantic!Our room had a diffuclt to access sunken bath/shower recess. The toilet blocked and while this was attended to promptly it was one of the wait staff who did the job- totally inappropriate!
The breakfasts were terrible with a choice of two cereals, some less than fresh berries and almost undrinkable filter coffee, and no nice breads. There was no choice for the hot breakfast and what was offerred was almost inedible. Our breakfast experience meant that we did not attempt the fixed menu dinner offering. This experince was topped off with a serve of curdled milk.
The cost was considerably more than we paid for a corner room at the Four Seasons in San Francisco and a great room at the Peninsular in Chicago which both lived up to all our expectations.
We have stayed at other Relais & Chateaux but this one does not deserve the imprimatur.
.

Room Tip: Stay in the valley or a motel in Oakhurst
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JOMISydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    17
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
162
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here in May 2007 and was on our wish list to go back this year. Everything about the hotel was perfect. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Elderberry room, which we stayed in before and was on the 1st floor. It was very nicely decorated and comfortable. The hotel itself was very peaceful and quite. The restaurant was something else!! Another reason to come back. The food was amazing and was paired with wine, which made it more special as we found some great wines which we might not have done.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elderberry
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here in May 2007 and was on our wish list to go back this year. Everything about the hotel was perfect. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Elderberry room, which we stayed in before and was on the 1st floor. It was very nicely decorated and comfortable. The hotel itself was very peaceful and quite. The restaurant was something else!! Another reason to come back. The food was amazing and was paired with wine, which made it more special as we found some great wines which we might not have done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Yes, Yosemite is nearby but the Chateau itself is a superb destination. We found everything matched or exceeded our best experiences at European Relais & Chateaux properties. The food, the service, the decor, all triggered fond memories of our past travels. We plan to come back many more times. Perhaps we'll even make it into the park next time. Erna is a master.

Room Tip: If you can afford to, and can use the space, the Villa is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLynx02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wedding attend in Fresno and decided to go to Yosemite from there. Everything in the Yosemite Valley was sold out (Memorial Day Weekend) so we found the Chateau online and it looked pleasant. We stayed for 2 nights and it totally surpassed our expectations on so many levels. We were truly blown away.

We don't usually stay at small properties like this but after this stay, that may change. Upon pulling up and being buzzed through the iron gates we were greeted by the staff and whisked away on a small tour of both the property and the room. They brought us fresh iced tea sweetened with Apple Juice and some oven-roasted turkey sandwiches. Very clean and healthy food. The pics online don't do this jewel of a property justice :)

PROS:

- There are so many details that the owners put into this Chateau, you must experience it to feel it.

- Property is gorgeous and extremely clean. All of the staff were beyond attentive to all of our needs and the owner Edna, is a breath of fresh air right out of a movie.

- We have two girls (7 and 4) so we stayed in the only room with 2 beds. Not a very large room but tons of character, very comfortable beds and no TV (which we loved).

- Grounds are magnificent.

- Breakfast, which was included, was amazing.

- Dinner at the Elderberry Restaurant. One of the best meals we have had in a long time. They are very good about any dietary needs/changes you may need. For our kids they made some pasta and organic chicken.

- Our kids didn't want to leave (and neither did we).

- They packed us a fresh picnic lunch upon departing.

- Other guests were lovely. At a property like this you get to know other people. Not so much at a larger resort.

- CONS:

- None.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EHandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband brought me here for a birthday getaway and what a wonderful present it was! I can't say enough about the friendly staff - always ready to help with a smile. The chateau itself is like a little castle in a park. We stayed in the lavender room which is on the 2nd floor with views over the town (which I mostly ignored) and the garden/pool area which is enchanting.
I enjoyed soaking in the bath with the frankincense bath salts and tealights burning each night - what luxury! The pillows and comforter were soft and the bed was very comfortable. I kept thinking we were alone there, but then at breakfast I would find out I was wrong. Breakfast on the terrace was so relaxing and a great way to start the day.
This was a great place to explore the parts of Yosemite that we don't get to as often and I had a truly delightful time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My daughter and I were visiting the Yosemite Park and Chateau de Sureau was the perfect place to stay (located at 30 minutes drive from the south entrance of Yosemite).

Chateau du Sureau IS the spirit of 'Relais et Chateaux'. This is more a private mansion than an hotel. Our rooms were 'like home', decent size and very nice bathrooms. Both had a balcony.

There is no reception desks but there is always someone to help. The living room (with a fire place) is large enough to find two sofas to read or to share a glass of Chardonnay.

Breakfast comes with the 'special of the day' (we had scramble eggs and omelets).

Dinner at Erna's Elderberry restaurant was good the first evening and excellent the next evening. The wine list is extensive.

In summary, Chateau du Sureau is a warm, feel 'like home' with peacefulness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau du Sureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau du Sureau

Property: Chateau du Sureau
Address: 48688 Victoria Ln, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau du Sureau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau du Sureau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Du Sureau Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing