We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hounds Tooth Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pines Resort(Bass Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
190
84
27
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
84
27
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsummer houseother guestsgas fireplaceyosemite valleyjacuzzi tubsit outsidelong drivebreakfast roomthe main housecomfy bedyogurtstayed for nightsgreat place to stayice machinehtipark
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfast Inns over the past 30 years, both in CA and in Oregon. We booked this inn based on a) its proximaty to Yosemite Nat'l Park (30 min to Wawona, 1.25 hours to Valley floor), b) our preference for a B&B over a generic motel, c) the amenities, including an in-house breakfast and d) good reviews on line.

The room was nice in that it was VERY spacious and had a nice whirlpool tub, which was great to soak in after a day of hiking around the Park. It became apparent early on, however, that something was definitely not in sync with all of the reviews we had read, both online and in the room's guest book. We kept reading about fantastic breakfasts and 2 wonderful innkeepers. Our experience couldn't have been more the opposite. We were dealing with a nice desk clerk but who was obviously not trained in, or personally committed to, hospitality management; The hospitality was disappointing except for the evening wine. Honestly, our experience was that in this case, the "B&B" stood for bed and bagel. It was just a glorifed continental breakfast, with just enough food made available for someone on Weight Watchers. Even simple housekeeping services like exchanging towels and emptying wastebaskets were not automatically provided.

The outdoor furniture was nice around the upper grounds with lovely rose bushes. The lower end of the property, set on a seasonal creek, would have been beautiful had someone cared enough to cut the weeds down that were growing through and around the lawn furniture and footpaths.

The inn, we think, has transitioned from one with "pride of ownership" to one that is just another corporate venture. (We were told by locals that the inn had recently changed hands, which explained a lot.) Having been spoiled by the AWESOME accomodations, meals and hospitatlity by such establishments as Sutter Creek Inn, (Sutter Creek, CA), Sand Lake Inn, (Oregon) and numerous others, we believe the Hounds Tooth fell short in many respects but overall was a good value when compared to other lodging options closer to Yosemite.Just don't think of it as a true B&B.

Room Tip: During hot months, you may not want a room with west and south facing windows, although south facing windows give you the most views. Definitely ask that the A/C be turned on prior to your check in...our room took hours to cool down, but once it was cooled down, it was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for only 2 nights but wish it could have been longer. The room was absolutely lovely. We had the Firelight room but unfortunately due to unexpected heat wave didn't get to use the fire. Breakfast was excellent. There was plenty of everything and it was "just help yourself to whatever you fancy". The freshly made quiche was great. Really enjoyed the free wine left out between 5 and 9pm. Inn was located about 15mins drive from Yosemite Park. The property reminded us of B&Bs we had stayed in while touring New England.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed equally good. There are only 12 and I think it would depend on your needs which one would suit best.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

New owner is plain rude, what a disappointment for such a (previously) highly rated B&B. On arrival the guy told us our booking was wrong, and then preceded to ignore us entirely when we offered 4 separate times to get our paperwork out. He spent about 15mins (no exaggeration) looking at the computer screen (still ignoring us) until he finally found another email to confirm we were in fact right. Our stay was further punctuated by his rudeness at any time we interacted (2 others who appeared to be family members were much more pleasant). If they want to make a success of their new business we suggest keeping this guy well away from guests. The guest book in our room included a long entry about how rude and grumpy the same guy was on another occasion. The breakfast was also very poor with possibly the worst coffee ever. Avoid, avoid, avoid!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JonHiclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTImanagement, Owner at Hounds Tooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

We are happy to report that the problems occurring with the transfer of ownership of the Hounds Tooth Inn have been resolved, and our operations and small-town hospitality are back to normal. An experienced mother-daughter team lives at and operates the Inn now, and brings their sunny dispositions and desire to please our guests to work with them every day. Marilyn and Joanna will be on hand to greet you and serve you during your stay. We also have improved breakfast, and installed a new water filtration system by Culligan Water, so the temporary problems during the change are now history and the Hounds Tooth Inn is back better than ever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is a beautiful property and the former owners were wonderful! However, since the new owners have taken over the hospitality is gone and it is no longer an enjoyable place to stay. The website to make reservations was not working so I had to call. The man on the phone was rude when I tried to make a reservation because I was having a difficult time understanding him. I sent an email asking for confirmation of our reservation due to a problem communicating with the man. I received a nasty email back without a confirmation so had to again request a confirmation. I would have cancelled our reservation but we were attending with a group so we wanted to stay there. During our stay we became uncomfortable when the innkeeper intruded on our private group, started talking about his problems and would not leave. A positive thing was the lady in the dining room on Sat morning that served breakfast. She was very professional and friendly and we enjoyed talking with her. The breakfast was average and consisted of scrambled eggs mixed with potatoes and sausage, pastries, juice, coffee and whole fruit in a basket. Another problem was the water quality. It tasted bad and made our hair and skin feel terrible. We are familiar with well water and it was obvious that the water treatment system was not functioning during our stay. Needless to say we will not be staying again unless the quality of the staff and water improves.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GMAVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTImanagement, Owner at Hounds Tooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

We are happy to report that the problems occurring with the transfer of ownership of the Hounds Tooth Inn have been resolved, and our operations and small-town hospitality are back to normal. An experienced mother-daughter team lives at and operates the Inn now, and brings their sunny dispositions and desire to please our guests to work with them every day. Marilyn and Joanna will be on hand to greet you and serve you during your stay. We also have improved breakfast, and installed a new water filtration system by Culligan Water, so the temporary problems during the change are now history and the Hounds Tooth Inn is back better than ever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed four nights in theWillow Room, room clean, bed very comfortable. No coffee making facilities in the room but coffee was available from 7am in the breakfast room.We were told straight away to bring the mugs back!! Breakfast was plentiful but the same each day, scrambled eggs, pastries, cereals, orange juice, coffee and tea. Breakfast room very welcoming . We knew of the wine tasting beforehand but nobody mentioned it when we arrived or at any other time. The new owners were running the inn the first couple of days, we didn't find them welcoming when checking in or at breakfast. Bed and Breakfast accomodation is usually very friendly but unfortunately not this time around.The gardens were very nice but as we were in Yosemite all day we didn't make very much use of them. In general the stay was average, I do not think we would stay there again. This was one of the more expensive stays during our three week stay in California but after having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I suppose we were expecting somewhere special and The Hounds Tooth Inn just did not hit the mark.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana_waardenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews