We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B near Yosemite.”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We only stayed here one night and I thought it was good. Our room was nice and spacious, the breakfast was small but homemade, and the location was unbeatable (both to Yosemite and in Oakhurst). The downside was the thin walls. Unless the air conditioner was actively running I was hot. A few times I woke up in the middle of the night to either pull up or down the covers. The staff may not have been the most friendly but they were definitely not rude. But overall I thought it was a very cute B&B. I would come back I think.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our experience was not terrible, but it could've been much better.
The room was nice, well decorated, but the AC was very noisy and it woke me up a few times at night. There was a light bulb missing in one of the lamps. The bed was awful, not firm at all, which gave me a backache the next day.
Breakfast selection was what you can expect from an Inn, however somethings were not fresh. The bagel was stale, and the orange juice tasted really acid.
Overall the place is okay, but not very well kept.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Staff not friendly. Grounds not maintained. Bright lights outside of room. Unable to darken room. Air conditioner cycled on every 40 min or so and kept me awake. Breakfast was expired yogurt and stale bagels. Very over priced. I did not feel safe.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Readytog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We wanted to stay just on the edge of Yosemite but close enough to make easy day trips to the park with our 2 1/2 year old. The B&B was comfortable, clean and the couple who run the place were very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineKAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfast Inns over the past 30 years, both in CA and in Oregon. We booked this inn based on a) its proximaty to Yosemite Nat'l Park (30 min to Wawona, 1.25 hours to Valley floor), b) our preference for a B&B over a generic motel, c) the amenities, including an in-house breakfast and d) good reviews on line.

The room was nice in that it was VERY spacious and had a nice whirlpool tub, which was great to soak in after a day of hiking around the Park. It became apparent early on, however, that something was definitely not in sync with all of the reviews we had read, both online and in the room's guest book. We kept reading about fantastic breakfasts and 2 wonderful innkeepers. Our experience couldn't have been more the opposite. We were dealing with a nice desk clerk but who was obviously not trained in, or personally committed to, hospitality management; The hospitality was disappointing except for the evening wine. Honestly, our experience was that in this case, the "B&B" stood for bed and bagel. It was just a glorifed continental breakfast, with just enough food made available for someone on Weight Watchers. Even simple housekeeping services like exchanging towels and emptying wastebaskets were not automatically provided.

The outdoor furniture was nice around the upper grounds with lovely rose bushes. The lower end of the property, set on a seasonal creek, would have been beautiful had someone cared enough to cut the weeds down that were growing through and around the lawn furniture and footpaths.

The inn, we think, has transitioned from one with "pride of ownership" to one that is just another corporate venture. (We were told by locals that the inn had recently changed hands, which explained a lot.) Having been spoiled by the AWESOME accomodations, meals and hospitatlity by such establishments as Sutter Creek Inn, (Sutter Creek, CA), Sand Lake Inn, (Oregon) and numerous others, we believe the Hounds Tooth fell short in many respects but overall was a good value when compared to other lodging options closer to Yosemite.Just don't think of it as a true B&B.

Room Tip: During hot months, you may not want a room with west and south facing windows, although south facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for only 2 nights but wish it could have been longer. The room was absolutely lovely. We had the Firelight room but unfortunately due to unexpected heat wave didn't get to use the fire. Breakfast was excellent. There was plenty of everything and it was "just help yourself to whatever you fancy". The freshly made quiche was great. Really enjoyed the free wine left out between 5 and 9pm. Inn was located about 15mins drive from Yosemite Park. The property reminded us of B&Bs we had stayed in while touring New England.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed equally good. There are only 12 and I think it would depend on your needs whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

New owner is plain rude, what a disappointment for such a (previously) highly rated B&B. On arrival the guy told us our booking was wrong, and then preceded to ignore us entirely when we offered 4 separate times to get our paperwork out. He spent about 15mins (no exaggeration) looking at the computer screen (still ignoring us) until he finally found another email to confirm we were in fact right. Our stay was further punctuated by his rudeness at any time we interacted (2 others who appeared to be family members were much more pleasant). If they want to make a success of their new business we suggest keeping this guy well away from guests. The guest book in our room included a long entry about how rude and grumpy the same guy was on another occasion. The breakfast was also very poor with possibly the worst coffee ever. Avoid, avoid, avoid!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JonHiclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTImanagement, Owner at Hounds Tooth Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

We are happy to report that the problems occurring with the transfer of ownership of the Hounds Tooth Inn have been resolved, and our operations and small-town hospitality are back to normal. An experienced mother-daughter team lives at and operates the Inn now, and brings their sunny dispositions and desire to please our guests to work with them every day. Marilyn and Joanna will be on hand to greet you and serve you during your stay. We also have improved breakfast, and installed a new water filtration system by Culligan Water, so the temporary problems during the change are now history and the Hounds Tooth Inn is back better than ever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
1.6 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
23.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,055 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Address: 42071 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8515
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hounds Tooth Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a cute, 12-room, Victorian style Bed and Breakfast located in Oakhurst, CA, just a short distance from Bass Lake and Yosemite National Park in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hounds Tooth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing