We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel near Yosemite South Gate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Fremont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good family hotel near Yosemite South Gate”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at the hotel during a recent visit to Yosemite. In general, I found the hotel to be good. The rooms were spacious for a family of 4; in addition to the two double beds there was a writing table and sofa-bed. Service was good as well. When we found that our microwave was not working, they changed it out immediately.

The breakfast in the morning was also nice. In addition to the usual cereal, toast, etc, they have two waffle machines for homemade waffles.

The hotel is about 30 minutes from the South Gate, which in itself is about 10 minutes from Mariposa Grove. Traffic was never an issue.

The rate was not cheap (about 200 per night) but as it was peak season and every place else was equally expensive (or more) and/or further away, I would not ding them on that.

The hotel is in the middle of the city of Oakhurst so lots of choices for restaurants, etc. nearby so we did not have to go hunting around for good dinner places after full days in the park.

All-in-all, the stay was satisfactory and we would consider the hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikhar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    59
    71
    55
    56
See reviews for
81
92
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed here in June 2103. I was on a John Muir Trail hike and needed a place to stay for the night that was reasonably near Yosemite. The room was spacious and clean. The units in the bathroom had hard water stains on them, but were otherwise clean, an the wi-fi worked without issue. My only complaint is that the "continental" breakfast was very basic and there were ants all over the dining area. I never go for these sorts of deals anyway unless I am actually in continental Europe where thy actually understand how to do these things, and don;t have so may ants.

If you are looking to get a reasonable place to stay near Yosemite I would recommend it. The rooms are reasonably priced and decent. Probably a better deal than trying to stay in one of the hotels in the park where you get charged a premium price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

really pleased i booked this hotel. a very easy to find location in oakhurst. free parking, swimming pool and hot tub, free wifi, large room. a definite well done. really helpful lady at check-in, also helped try sort out wifi problems - not hotel problem. we had a two double bed room at back of hotel room 126 - was very quiet. the front of hotel has a main road in front so not sure if you'd experience some noise from that, but the back was very quiet. comfortable beds. everything we neeeded. would certainly book here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We needed a place to stay two nights while visiting our kids at summer camp (at nearby Bass Lake). Choices were limited and we were on a budget, so I made my reservation with low expectations. This is definitely a value-focused hotel, but surprisingly okay.

The room was clean and fairly spacious; the shower had HOT water and lots of it with a decent shower nozzle. No problem accommodating my request for extra towels. The pool was clean and we enjoyed an afternoon soaking up the sun (wish they offered lounge chairs instead of just plastic uprights). We didn't eat on the premises but did find a lovely Italian place down the road... and, to my delight, a Starbucks with a drive-through window.

There was free HBO (much to the delight of my kids who had been deprived of TV for 2 weeks at camp), the air conditioning worked (thank God) and the beds were comfortable. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Even though our room faced the road, it was quiet (I think the air conditioning drowned out any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Goodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 22nd June. We chose this good value motel because we intended to stay as long as possible in Yosemite Park and wanted a reasonably priced motel just to spend the night in, On two previous visits to Yosemite we had stayed in an expensive hotel within the park and didn't want that expense this time.The motel did not disappoint us.When we checked in the hotel was busy with people wanting a room that night. The receptionist was very busy but friendly and patient. We were allocated our room (220) on the first floor. We were surprised at the size of the room, which had a king size bed, table & chairs and a large setee, plus fridge, microwave & TV. The bathroom was basic but fine. Overall we were very pleased with the room, comfortable and clean The motel provided a basic continental breakfast which again was adequate. Two evening we walked down the street to 'Crab Cakes' restaurant, which was good Also if picnicking in the park, Raley's supermarket does fab sandwiches. Oakhurst is a nice little town around 30-40 minutes drive from the Park enterance and a further 40 minutes from Yosemite Village centre.
This motel provides a reasonably priced stay ( nowhere near Yosemite is cheap), in a good and convenient location. Would I stay here again - Yes

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I am recommending this hotel based on staff's great customer service, the functionality, & cleanliness of the room (keeping in mind that "value" is part of the hotel's name). It was a decent hotel room to come back to for respite after a full day @ Yosemite. The bathroom was very basic ("value inn"), but clean. The kitchen int he room was also very basic, but came with functional items like a small microwave, a little fridge, as well as a portable coffee maker. The staff--though they may not look like it due to their very laid-back and casual clothing is very professional & helpful in every way. They will not kiss your ***, but they will not be rude to you either and they will provide genuine assistance when prompted.

The people who made negative comments should've stayed at a 5-star hotel and should've paid twice for their high expectations of a "Value Inn."

My compliments to the staff for making our stay pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I couldn't disagree more with the latest negative reviews. We stayed one night and had a very good experience. The desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. We ask for a suggestion for chinese take out food and she suggested a place across the street (sorry but I can't remember the name). The food was good and plentiful. The room was very clean and the bed gave us a good night sleep. Breakfast in the morning was good as well. Waffles cooked to order along with cereals, fruit, etc. I would recommend this place to a friend and would stay here again if I'm in Oakhurst. They also allow dogs (my Yorkie liked this place too).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat.kight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakhurst hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
157 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mountain Trail Lodge
Mountain Trail Lodge
#8 of 9 in Oakhurst
118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yosemite Sierra Inn
Yosemite Sierra Inn
#6 of 9 in Oakhurst
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Address: 48800 Royal Oaks Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9599 (Formerly Ramada Limited Yosemite)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing