We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, close to Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Sierra Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value, close to Yosemite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

A very nice motel, and it is the closest you can get to a park entrance other than staying in Portal. Oakhurst has all the conveniences that Portal and Mariposa lack, so prices are high. The rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable and firm, and the breakfast is decent, but nothing fancy. Both oakhurst and this inn have become my preferred stop for multi-day visits to Yosemite.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    98
    77
    37
    25
See reviews for
100
114
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The rooms were fine, breakfast was very good, staff was pleasant. This was the closest we could get to Yosemite, but still quite a drive to get there. Rooms were overpriced for quality and location. A French couple we talked to at breakfast there were also shocked at the room price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irvine ca
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room is clean. Air Con is good. The bed is not quite comfortable. It sinks in the middle when 2 persons were sleeping in the bed. Breakfast was just bread and cereals. We ended up eating at Carls Jr. The motel should serve better breakfast for such pricey room rate ($221 for 1 night incl AAA discount and tax). It is even more expensive than Yosemite Lodge! The motels in Oakhurst set their room rate extremely high just because the lodging inside the park are hard to book.
P.S. I believe the owner is an Indian that's why most customers we saw were Indians. Our room has a bit of Indian scent too.

Room Tip: If your route allow you to choose other city, try Mariposa instead. They have better rate than Oakh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuiQui12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a days inn so I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. The most important thing for me is that the room was clean. The staff on the front desk were very friendly. I requested a quiet room and although when I looked at the window I saw the highway 41 you couldn't hear noises...actually I had more noises from the neighbor next door (open and closing their door all the time). As soon you enter the room you had the sink in one side and the bathroom on the other. We had a microwave, a small fridge on the room. We were at the 4th floor (same level to the parking) what was convenient because there is no elevator on the building. When we got to the room the air conditioner wasn't on but didn't bother us because in about 5 minutes we had a nice temperature on the room. The blanket that was in the middle had a lot of holes so was very old. The location is good but you have to do a lot of driving to get to yosemite valley (probably about 1 1/2 hour). If you want to avoid the crowds go as early as you can to the park. If you want to buy souvenirs buy them at the park because I checked the stores in Oakhurst and I couldn't find much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This motel was adequate, and the lobby staff friendly, but with very heavy Indian accents, which were hard to understand.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rommel_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscatine, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here while visiting Yosemite National Park. Even though the hotel is "just outside" of the park, it took about 90 minutes to get to the Yosemite valley. The hotel is built into a hill side, so even though we were on the fourth floor, we parked right outside of our door. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was typical but adequate. There is no elevator and breakfast is on the first floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The rooms are ok (reasonably clean and fresh for a budget motel). Park entrance and mariposa grove is 30 minutes away, add another hour to get to yosemite village. Staff was helpful. Just be aware there will be some road noise and there is no elevator. Would stay here again at the right price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mountain Trail Lodge
Mountain Trail Lodge
#8 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
24.4 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Sierra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Sierra Inn

Property: Yosemite Sierra Inn
Address: 40662 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Sierra Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet accommodations in Oakhurst. At Yosemite Sierra Inn, we invite you to stay in our large rooms and make yourself at home in the last town before the south entrance of Yosemite. Minutes away from Yosemite Park you can experience a multitude of restaurants, theaters, grocery stores and have a peaceful and a quiet place to rest before your Yosemite trip. Quiet and sunny, with great views of the mountains, a swimming pool for you to relax in after a long day at Yosemite National Park. We also offer a continental breakfast and coffee bar to start your day before visiting Yosemite National Park. WIFI is available throughout our property. Additionally, we provide a small business center with a two computers so you can print your travel documents or do research for your travels. All of our rooms are newly remodeled featuring contemporary style granite tiled bathrooms, 43 inch flat full high definition screen TV with HBO & ESPN, ironing board, hair dryer, mini-fridge and microwave oven. Yosemite Sierra Inn is a 100% non-smoking property and unfortunately, pets are not allowed. We are located 2300 feet above sea level, 14 miles from Yosemite's south entrance, and 8 miles from Bass Lake. Thank you for reading and may your endeavors take you to wonderful places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Sierra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oakhurst Hotel Oakhurst
Oakhurst Days Inn
Oakhurst Day Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing