We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A suitable place to stay when visiting Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Sierra Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 March 2014

When visiting Yosemite for second time my wife and I decided to stay in Oakhurst. We chosed this hotel via web by considering price, location (Highway 41) and looking. We stayed 4 nights.
The room was clean, big enough, comfortable. Breakfast was included and met our expectations (waffle maker, cereals, fruits, coffee, and other things). Parking place was large. What is most important, the Hotel Staff people were very nice and ready to answer any question o provide advice on activities to do, places to visit or services to request. When visiting Yosemite Valley, the Hotel is no so close (60 miles away) but in vacations, who cares? We had the chance to visit other places in the sorroundings (Northfolk, lakes, ...). I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry M, Public Relations Manager at Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay, we are happy to hear our price, location, continental breakfast and rooms all met your expectations and that our staff showed you the customer service we strive for at Days Inn; we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We had no great expectations of this place, it was after all another motel which seemed owned by a chain.

HOWEVER, we were very pleased we chose to spend two nights there.

The greeting was cordial and the manager was extremely helpful about advice on local eating places and generally helping us settle in.

The room was good with a very comfortable bed. the room was nice and insulated from any road noise so we slept well. Breakfast was included and was certainly adequate with cereals, fruits, waffle makers, bagels, toast and spreads. The coffee was in a plunger pot but freshly brewed and tasty.

Parking was on site and easy.

Prices were right and we would certainly stay there again.

In addition, after we left we discovered that one of us had left a new and expensive cell phone behind, full of photos and having no security codes.....

We only noted this when we were three hundred miles away!

The manager was helpful, she found out the name of a local freight company (PAK and PAGE- they are great!!!!) and took the phone to them.

We had it safe and sound the following day in San Diego, excellent.

All in all this cemented our positive experience of Oakhurst.

If you want to go to Yosemite, avoid staying in Yosemite Village and stay in Oakhurst instead, the motels are better, cheaper and the restaurants are vastly superior as well.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and did not hear road noise or the air con units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry M, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We are pleased to know we exceeded your expectations and that our staff was very helpful with any questions you had. We are happy you enjoyed our continental breakfast and that our staff made sure your personal belongings made it back to safe; we look forward to serving you again at our Days Inn location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel staff and owners were very nice and helpful. This place is very conviniently located (only 15 miles drvie from Yosemite National park) and reasonably priced with good amenities. I would book this hotel again for my Yosemite vacation.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, ask for a room on first floor, since the hotel does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry M, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We are glad to hear our staff was very nice and helpful during your stay and that our location fit your traveling needs; we hope to see you soon when visit Yosemite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It's a Days Inn.

Pros:
- Free parking
- Fridge
- Free breakfast (i.e., waffles, cereal, fruits, juice, milk)
- Adjacent to Rite Aid, Jamba Juice, Starbucks, banks, barbers, thrift shops, laundromat, mom and pop restaurants, and lots of fast food options
- Clean
- Pool
- Friendly staff
- Free WiFi
- Adjacent to some great bars (i.e., Dirty Donkey Tavern)

Cons:
- it's not that close to Yosemite Valley at all (45-60 minute drive)
- not that cheap

I'm low maintenance when it comes to hotel so I would stay here again but only on my way in or on my way out of Yosemite so I can go to some of the local bars. It's too far from Yosemite to my taste and I would rather stay inside Yosemite to go backpacking or start my hikes early.

Plan ahead!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry M, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We are delighted to see the pros outweighed the cons during your stay; we do our best to make sure all guests are satisfied and believe we accomplished that. We hope you enjoyed your time at Yosemite and look forward to your next visit with us at Days Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location & so nice their shuttle service. Price is somewhat high but everything is excellent. convenient loved it but pricey. however you get what you pay for very nice hotel, especially tourism business

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dongzender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry M, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We appreciate the five star rating and are happy to know we met your expectations with your stay; we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Vasquez M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Harry M, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Recently remodeled hotel. Back of hotel and front handicap accessable.They also had a decent continental breakfast. The front desk lady was helpful and friendly and gave very good advice and info of the area. the one thing was I jumped the gun and didn't check around these guy's at the days inn are about 80 dollars higher than the comfort inn just down the road.And the comfort inn had a good hot breakfast. ALSO at the days inn I found a booklet on the hotels rate info.and questioned it with the front desk lady and she told me the booklet was outdated.I paid 280.00 dollars for 1 night.That would get you a room inside Yosemite.To get to the park from here is 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry M, Guest Relations Manager at Yosemite Sierra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We are pleased to know our staff showed you the high customer service we strive for and were accommodating to all your needs; we hope to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
0.4 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
185 reviews
24.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Sierra Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Sierra Inn

Address: 40662 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: £53 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Sierra Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet accommodations in Oakhurst. At Yosemite Sierra Inn, we invite you to stay in our large rooms and make yourself at home in the last town before the south entrance of Yosemite. Minutes away from Yosemite Park you can experience a multitude of restaurants, theaters, grocery stores and have a peaceful and a quiet place to rest before your Yosemite trip. Quiet and sunny, with great views of the mountains, a swimming pool for you to relax in after a long day at Yosemite National Park. We also offer a continental breakfast and coffee bar to start your day before visiting Yosemite National Park. WIFI is available throughout our property. Additionally, we provide a small business center with a two computers so you can print your travel documents or do research for your travels. All of our rooms are newly remodeled featuring contemporary style granite tiled bathrooms, 43 inch flat full high definition screen TV with HBO & ESPN, ironing board, hair dryer, mini-fridge and microwave oven. Yosemite Sierra Inn is a 100% non-smoking property and unfortunately, pets are not allowed. We are located 2300 feet above sea level, 14 miles from Yosemite's south entrance, and 8 miles from Bass Lake. Thank you for reading and may your endeavors take you to wonderful places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yosemite Sierra Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oakhurst Hotel Oakhurst
Oakhurst Days Inn
Oakhurst Day Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing