We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good...some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
NEBRASKA
Level Contributor
326 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Some good...some bad”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Chose this hotel for its close location to Yosemite. It was the perfect spot to get up at a reasonable time and make the first tour of the Mariposa Grove.
First impressions were not good, as check-in was EXTREMELY, EXTREMELY, EXTREMELY slow!!!!!!!!! We waited for so long, we were about to think that we might have to sleep in our car. I knew there were no other rooms available in town during the busy summer season, but if there had been we would have tried elsewhere. It is beyond ridiculous to have to wait over 30 min. to get checked in, especially with 2 clerks on duty.
Fortunately for the kids, the pool was open late, which made them happy.
We had reserved a suite, and it was fabulous!!! It was HUGE!! Plenty of room for a family to stretch out and unwind. Maid left a ton of towels and toiletries. Very well stocked!!! Vanity was HUGE! We really couldn't understand why it didn't have 2 sinks, for its size, and the fact that the suite was designed for several people.
Breakfast was unfortunately, very, very skimpy. We chose to eat out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HUSKERTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    247
    171
    52
    33
See reviews for
183
232
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
addison, il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Clean comfortable accommodations. Breakfast was plentiful enough for this type of place, and woman running that area really kept up with replenishing the food. Kids swam for an hour or so before bed in the outdoor pool. All in all a good choice for outside Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addisonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Excellent, tourist friendly, (I sat in lobby drinking coffee and observed checkouts in several languages and clerk was very helpful with advice) great value. Big rooms, some with sofa beds. If you can't get into Yosemite, this is a good alternative. Only 1 1/2 hours into the Valle

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandEdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

After a long day at Yosemite Park my wife and I needed a room for the night. After stopping at the Days Inn across the road we tried the Comfort Inn and they only had a suite available. They were nice enough to let us have it, it wasn't cheap but reasonable for the area I guess (232.00). The room was very nice, clean and had quality amenities. They provided a hot breakfast the next morning, the eating facility was well kept and a nice variety of food given a morning motel meal.

Room Tip: Compare prices. Oakhurst is a tourist trap for sure. The Days Inn across the road wanted 370.00 fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rager999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Friendly staff and pretty good breakfast on the patio. Rooms average. Sometimes I feel a little snobish and don't give a place like this (two star national chain)an even break. But the good sized motel had scores of nice folks on vacation and although we'd all prefer something a little fancier, this motel suits the purpose. All the basics and more were here. Decent pool area. Rooms at the rear might be a little quieter. Access to south entrance of Yosemite couldn't be easier.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 650Triumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Front desk need training! "Comfort Inn's" should remove them from chain. Breakfast 7am, so an hour late for Yosemite. First person to breakfast at 6:30am, I was told that I could sit down until 7am. By 7am, everyone had crowded in and I was the last person to eat. Suggested figure a way for crowd control, but was told my fault. Goal was hiking in Yosemite not their disgusting breakfast. Little room to dine, most people ate outside or their rooms. Ate donuts the next day. Paid $572 and must book two nights. Jacuzzi was disgusting, no towels left, we had to use our room towels and asked for more towels and got griped out. Biggest RIPOFF at Yosemite!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oakhurst hotels

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This place is about 15-20 minutes from the Yosemite National Park. The room was big, and the kids enjoyed swimming in the pool after a long day of hiking.
From our point of view the place gave us the right value for the price and our needs for the trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
157 reviews
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
2.0 mi away
Mountain Trail Lodge
Mountain Trail Lodge
#8 of 9 in Oakhurst
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Area

Property: Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Address: 40489 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic small-town friendly Western lodging. We are the closest town to Yosemite National Park, just a 20-minute drive. Our 117 rooms were just renovated and we are in the middle of Oakhurst, close to all stores, restaurants, medical care, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area Hotel Oakhurst
Comfort Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing