We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed here twice, once with adult kids (21 and 23) and again just as a couple. It is such a good location for Yosemite, just a short drive to the south entrance. Also other areas such as Bass Lake and Nelder Grove (recommended for a visit for amazing giant sequoias all to yourself, but you need a 4x4). The rooms both times were clean and comfortable. Wifi was free and we had good connection. The hotel is set in nice grounds with trees and garden areas, and barbecues for guests use. Reception staff were welcoming and staff in the restaurant were very friendly. I agree breakfast should be included in the price. The food was average, and we had a surprisingly bad steak one night. But the atmosphere was good and it's not worth eating elsewhere in the town. Overall we were happy, we returned once and probably will do again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank claresussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 2,659 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice hotel. No complaints about the room (2 kings, spacious). Pool was confusing the find. Well-kept in my opinion. We all loved the comfy pillows!

One major thing tourists look for for in a hotel especially in this price range: breakfast. Management/owners will sell more rooms if they include a breakfast (not the restaurant over-priced....). It's a main aspect that 'sells' well: get on the bandwagon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Dirty dirty room. Cockroaches in the room - euuuuh! Everything was grubby and felt icky. Bathroom was tiny, old and didn't feel clean at all. Beds lumpy and old I couldn't bring myself to look at the sheets! Floor was not vacuumed our whole stay - there was a layer of grime on carpet, feet got filthy if you took shoes off.

to top it off staff super miserable and couldn't even break into a smile when checking us in - we had travelled from Australia and didn't even get a welcome in fact they acted as if doing us a favour and could barely look up to check us in

Please don't stay here and give them your money - Best Western should not be putting their name to this dirty unkempt place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Slred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three days while we visited Yosemite with my husband, teenage daughter and her friend and we loved it. The lobby looked like an old hunting lodge and the grounds were very woodsy perfect for the Yosemite area. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and the A/C worked great which was good since it was 102 during the day. The staff was also very nice. They had a restaurant, which I did not get a chance to eat at and also laundry facilities. Overall I would recommend it for a visit to Yosemite and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Nieves D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed only one night at the Best Western Yosemite Gateway. As it was the weekend before the July 4th Holiday, most places were either booked or too pricey. The room we had was large with vaulted ceilings and great air flow on a very hot night. The Wi-Fi reception was strong. Good value!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joangosewisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

hotel staff did not know what a platinum member was intitled too. hairs on pillow, flies on room a hotel of this quality especially a best western should have a comp breakfast for travelers. hotel room had a refrigerator and microwave and had a couple of house computers available

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Though the room itself was comfortable, quiet and clean the rest of the experience was not what I expected. Outdoor pool is tiny, hard to find, and not clean. Indoor pool was closed, with no indication of when it would be open. Front desk staff was unfriendly and unhelpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,114 reviews
5 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: £72 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing