We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...lousy chairs”
Review of Plum

Plum
Ranked #440 of 1,259 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West Grand Ave.
Transit: The free downtown bus shuttle stops right in front and Steps from 22nd Street stop of Bart Lines.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food...lousy chairs”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Plum has an excellent friendly staff and some very delicious and unique food. I would recommend it but it does have some minor problems that can easily be addressed. First, the food (as stated) was delicious but the portions were too small. We had drinks, apps, entrees and desserts but still left a bit underfed. The menu is not inexpensive so guys...a little more quantity. Second, the chairs were the most uncomfortable I've sat on since grade school. I know they were expensive but you could try some pads maybe. We would have stayed longer but my butt couldn't take any more. A lot of this complaining was a trade off for the excellent food and service. We had beef tongue, pork belly, pork loin, ox tail, chocolate tart and goat cheese. The desserts were a little underwhelming and predictable (cliche)...like chocolate torte with raspberries and mint? The cocktails were great and I'd recommend you try one of their own concoctions. All in all it was a $170 meal for two (without wine but with beer). Not the best value I've ever had but certainly worth a return visit if not just for apps and drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heater13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality food, great service , and a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I highly recommend the restaurant Plum. I went to this restaurant with my best friend and we loved the food and service. The chef was able to accommodate all my friends dietary restrictions and still make her food taste great!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tova01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Minimalist hip...both in decor and food quantity”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Uptown Oakland has ratcheted up a few notches on the "coolness" scale with the new Plum Restaurant on Broadway. Spare, trendy decor (Black backround paintings with hundreds of identical plums in a grid pattern), nice staff and very creative food. This wouldn't have been a restaurant for my cop father. He would have been startled by the small portions and downtown SF prices. On the other hand, the food is very good. First-rate ingredients and creatively cooked/presented.My trout was remarkable...moist, flavorful, with braised citrus and winter vegetables. The coffee baba dessert, rum-soaked and decadent is worth coming back for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njronneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is a good restaurant with a sweet feeling”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We went there with our son, and it is mostly an adult restaurant, but there was one other family. The staff was very nice, and the food was good. It felt like a very special evening. I don't think the food was 5 star, as I can't remember any of it, but it is a lovely place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mskih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The NEW Plum”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My wife and I were devastated to learn that Plum, in uptown Oakland, had changed hands. It had been one of the best (and one of our favorite) restaurants in the entire SF Bay area for some time. Curiosity, however, drove us to see if/how-in-the-world the new owner and staff could come close to matching the delightful dining we were used to.
Well, they did ... and then some. The faces have changed on the floor and in the kitchen (behind the counter) but the quality of the food and it's preparation is equal to, if not slightly better than it was before. We are back and couldn't be happier.
So if you too are wondering what happened to that great restaurant. Plum ... it's still therte in all its glory.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plum also viewed

 

Been to Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing