We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount
Ranked #1 of 9 Oakland B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will definitely be back”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We just spent a long weekend at this B & B in Oakland visiting our son. We had the large front bedroom with gorgeous views of the city and a fireplace to curl up in front of after a day of wandering. Nancy & Jason's hospitality was warm and inviting. We loved the wonderfully fresh and healthy breakfasts. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The front room with the queen bed, fireplace, and beautiful views of the city is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyh0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We recently came back from a trip to the Bay area and usually stay in San Francisco. However, as our daughter lives in Oakland, we decided to try somewhere closer to her this time. We found very friendly hosts, an excellent location near a variety of stores and restaurants, and superb breakfasts. Aside from the minor issue of quite a few steps to climb, this is an ideal lodging. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lespes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We just got home from a week at this B&B, visiting our son and sight seeing from Sacramento to San Francisco, Muir Woods and the wine country to downtown Oakland. Staying with Nancy and Jason was one of the highlights, starting each day with a delicious breakfast and coming back worn out to a comfy sit in front of the fireplace. There was a gas fireplace in our room, so we had total control of the temperature. This is a wonderful place to relax and thoroughly enjoy everything the area has to offer. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: The queen room has windows looking out the front over the top of the other houses in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S4tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We wanted to stay at a hotel near our son in Oakland CA. The closet hotels were not very nice and the big name hotels were in Emeryville. We decided to try a B &B. We were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a sweet little mansion a short walk from our son's home. The owners are very friendly and shared the main level and back garden of the house with their guests. Nancy makes a wonderful breakfast in their sunny kitchen overlooking the garden. We intend to stay there every time that we visit Oakland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My 6 year old daughter and I stayed with Nancy and Jason for two nights and were delighted by everything from top to bottom. The room was lovely and comfortable as well as quiet. The garden was delightful and the chickens therein provided fresh eggs for a terrific French toast breakfast lovingly made by Nancy. We even had fresh fruit from the trees in the back yard. I intend to stay here again and again when I come to Oakland to visit my family.

Room Tip: All the rooms look terrific. We stayed in the peach room which is great for either a pair of kids o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szqchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We always stay at this wonderful B & B on Fairmount when we travel to the Bay Area. We especially love the Queen Room. The picture windows, lovely views, the fireplace, the bed and decor all make for an exceptional stay. The breakfasts are varied, wholesome and delicious. The garden is amazing: a perfect place to BE. The hosts are delightfully engaging and become fast friends! I recommend this B & B highly for you and your family.

Room Tip: Rooms with twins, double and Queen. All quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foormana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

This is a treasure! It's a quiet and welcoming place to return to after a day in San Francisco or a long hike in the hills. I appreciated the hosts' attentions, tailored to fit my needs, whether for a chat over a cup of coffee or a chance to enjoy their wonderful garden. The large house has been lovingly restored. My bedroom was furnished with an eye to pure comfort, so that I felt like a guest of the family. I will certainly return here the next chance I get..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambamSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
0.7 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
80 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
881 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.3 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount

Property: A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount
Address: 600 block of Fairmount Avenue, Oakland, CA 94611
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B On Fairmount, a home-stay style B&B, has been operating in the friendly Piedmont Avenue neighborhood of Oakland since 1996. The Craftsman-era home has large and welcoming guest rooms and common spaces, countless sunny windows, and an over-sized organic garden with seasonal hens giving us fresh eggs. The congenial hosts enjoy sharing their home and Oakland's (and Berkeley's) terrific restaurants and attractions. Average rates are $125.40 To $182.40. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing