We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity amidst the Bay Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount
Ranked #2 of 9 Oakland B&B and Inns
Graeagle, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Serenity amidst the Bay Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Beautiful home, warm and inviting, great location, and wonderful places to walk. Access was a bit tricky, but once we found Fairmount Ave. it was quite easy to navigate around. The neighborhood is delightful, great restaurants and shops within a few easy blocks - even if it is raining! The rooms are lovely, and amazingly quiet. Nancy and Jason are two of the warmest, welcoming people - and great cooks! It feels like being in the country, gardens, chickens, and lovely places to sit and just enjoy life - easy to forget we're in the middle of the Bay Area. The walk up to Mountain View Cemetery was well worth doing - great views and a fascinating piece of history.

Room Tip: All three rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimnCaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We picked this B&B because we were visiting my sister, who lived in the neighborhood. Nancy and Jason were great hosts — warm, affable, helpful — and struck the appropriate balance between engaging conversation and privacy.

The rooms were very comfortable, and the location is superb — blocks away from all the terrific eateries and shops along Piedmont Ave.

The breakfasts were plentiful and tasty and tailored to our dietary requests. (And ginger syrup for the french toast — yum!)

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanfromPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We thought the star attraction of this visit to Oakland would be our new grandson, and of course he was, but of nearly equal pleasure was this lovely Oakland B & B within walking distance of his crib, perfect for us when we returned each evening. If our grandson isn't what you're in Oakland for, the home is also a few short blocks from the great shops along trendy Piedmont and a very resonable walk to Lake Merritt. Still, though, it's in its own little world on a residential street where we had no trouble parking at the end of the day.

Owners Nancy and Jason could not have been more gracious or hospitable. Nancy rightfully prides herself on the healthy, low-fat, yet sumptuous breakfasts she serves in her cozy kitchen. We were guests for 7 days and had 7 wonderful and different breakfasts, including blueberry lemon pancakes, pumpkin waffles, bagels and lox, eggs and potatoes, and all served with delicious fresh fruit, some of it from the garden, and that bottomless pot of coffee or tea. That garden, by the way, is Jason's domain, and he'll give you a tour if you like. Pay attention to his green installations, his composting revelations, his chickens! Delightful out there.

There are three rooms, each with its own bath (see pictures on the website) and the beds are comfortable. The closets and drawers are ample even in the smallest room (which we stayed in). You are given a key and come and go as you please. You have access to the common rooms, yet there is a great sense of privacy and separation from other guests and the home's on-site owners. We will definitely return.

Only downsides: If you don't have a car it's not near a BART station. Also, if you are infirm, the front door is up a flight of stairs, and the guest rooms up another.

Room Tip: The Suite is a bit more expensive, but way more roomy. If it's available and fits your budget t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaJollaSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We just spent a long weekend at this B & B in Oakland visiting our son. We had the large front bedroom with gorgeous views of the city and a fireplace to curl up in front of after a day of wandering. Nancy & Jason's hospitality was warm and inviting. We loved the wonderfully fresh and healthy breakfasts. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The front room with the queen bed, fireplace, and beautiful views of the city is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallyh0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, Ca
Level Contributor
308 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We recently came back from a trip to the Bay area and usually stay in San Francisco. However, as our daughter lives in Oakland, we decided to try somewhere closer to her this time. We found very friendly hosts, an excellent location near a variety of stores and restaurants, and superb breakfasts. Aside from the minor issue of quite a few steps to climb, this is an ideal lodging. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lespes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We just got home from a week at this B&B, visiting our son and sight seeing from Sacramento to San Francisco, Muir Woods and the wine country to downtown Oakland. Staying with Nancy and Jason was one of the highlights, starting each day with a delicious breakfast and coming back worn out to a comfy sit in front of the fireplace. There was a gas fireplace in our room, so we had total control of the temperature. This is a wonderful place to relax and thoroughly enjoy everything the area has to offer. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: The queen room has windows looking out the front over the top of the other houses in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S4tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We wanted to stay at a hotel near our son in Oakland CA. The closet hotels were not very nice and the big name hotels were in Emeryville. We decided to try a B &B. We were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a sweet little mansion a short walk from our son's home. The owners are very friendly and shared the main level and back garden of the house with their guests. Nancy makes a wonderful breakfast in their sunny kitchen overlooking the garden. We intend to stay there every time that we visit Oakland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
0.7 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
1.7 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
2.7 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount

Property: A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount
Address: 600 block of Fairmount Avenue, Oakland, CA 94611
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B On Fairmount, a home-stay style B&B, has been operating in the friendly Piedmont Avenue neighborhood of Oakland since 1996. The Craftsman-era home has large and welcoming guest rooms and common spaces, countless sunny windows, and an over-sized organic garden with seasonal hens giving us fresh eggs. The congenial hosts enjoy sharing their home and Oakland's (and Berkeley's) terrific restaurants and attractions. Average rates are $125.40 To $182.40. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing