We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for family gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was in Oakland for a wedding and this hotel was where the extended family stayed. The location and the hotel amenities worked out really well! It is an easy walk to the BART, Jack London Square, and a slightly longer walk to Lake Merritt, so we were able to do lots of sightseeing without needing a car. The huge, amazing farmers market that set up just across the street on Friday was an unexpected surprise, providing us with entertainment and lots of yummy fruit and other snacks.

The Courtyard Marriott lobby space is set up very well to accommodate mixed uses: I was there every morning at 5 am since I was still on East Coast time and needed somewhere to read, use the internet, and drink my coffee while others were still sleeping. The variety of seating - desks with computers or space to plug in, comfortable couches, and tables were great. Each morning, some people bought breakfast at the little cafe there, while others brought food down from their room (minifridges, which we stocked at the market across the street), making it really easy to eat together without much effort coordinating schedules.

The evening after the wedding, an ever-evolving group of family members met in the lobby to eat and chat over a period of a couple of hours. We felt very at home despite being a slightly messy and noisy group. Several staff stopped by to ask if we needed anything, and even comped some food we had ordered from the cafe that took a very long time to arrive.

Good selection of restaurants nearby - we tried Cambodian for the first time and loved it.

We made use of the pool everyday, which kept everyone from the little kids to their parents and grandparents happy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njpr0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimmsgirl360, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. You provided some great tips for future guests! Our guests are always pleasantly surprised with the Friday farmer’s market – it’s a great place to take a walk and grab some light lunch during your stay. It sounds like you and your family had a great time in Oakland and I’m glad we could be your home away from home. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We ended up with a King and sofa bed instead of 2 queens, so I think our room was a little smaller, and with 2 adults and 2 kids, probably should have stuck with the larger... but it was otherwise great. They tried to accommodate putting us near our other friend's room. Our AC was broken and they fixed it right away, no issues. The Bistro downstairs was great for breakfast (only ate there once). They gave us a room with a fridge because of our baby and needing milk in the room.

There is also a nice little shopping center nearby for groceries and fast food, and the BART is really close.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimmsgirl360, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I’m glad you were able to enjoy breakfast at The Bistro. It’s important to have convenient and healthy dining options in a hotel – especially if you have a busy day planned! I hope to see you and your family again next time you’re in Oakland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you need to be near the Federal Building, this is a good location; only 3-4 blocks away. Hotel staff was friendly and super accommodating! They allowed me to check in almost 3 hours early! Walked to Lake Merritt from hotel. Not much else to do around here and staying in at night seems like a good idea.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimmsgirl360, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. I’m glad to hear that you visited Lake Merritt. It’s one of our favorite spots, a great place to walk, jog or boat. There are some other great attractions within minutes of our hotel, and a free shuttle right outside that runs 7 days a week. Let us know next time you’re in town and we’ll be sure to point out some other must-visit attractions. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel is located in the downtown Oakland, in the mids of the China town. Bart is close by. Parking is valet off the 9th street . Large lobby with a small convenience store, cafeteria serving hot food and beverages, fitness center. About 5 min to interstate. Free wi- FI. Rooms are large with flat screen, desk. Coffee bar in the bathroom. No tea bags, just house brand coffee. Bedding and pillows are not the most comfortable. Blankets are thin. I had to use the second blanket at night. Staff friendly and helpful. Clean

Room Tip: 446. Very quiet, overlooking the valet lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I’m glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and that you found our hotel clean. We know the importance of having a clean, comfortable hotel while traveling. I hope to see you again during your next trip to Oakland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I am not a big fan of the Courtyard, and this one is even I little bit worse than others I have been. It's a little bit over priced and you don't get what you are paying for. The bed sheets and the bath counter were notably stained. This makes me belive the rooms are old.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry to hear that your experience didn’t meet the high standards our guests have come to expect. I can assure you that this experience is not typical of our hotel and I invite you to stay with us again on your next trip to Oakland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I really like this hotel. It's reasonable, the rooms and beds are very comfortable, the staff has always been helpful. The rooms are clean. I like the free Hi Fi and the refrigerator in the room. I have stayed here many times; it is my go-to hotel when I am in the East Bay. I just wish there was a make-up mirror near the sink; when you are short and vision-challenged, it is impossible to lean over a 2' sink to see in the mirror.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRNYWMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for the review! I’m happy to hear that we’re your hotel of choice in the area. Thanks for passing along your feedback about the mirrors, I’ll be sure to pass your comments along to our team. We hope to see you again soon!

Monika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Seldom any surprises with a Courtyard Marriott. Nothing special--no style or ersonality--just a standard room and property. Great location near Bart, ChinaTown and Jack London Square.

5 Expectations:
Clean, Comfortable, Positive staff, Quiet and Free Wifi.

I don't expect vending machines to charge $2.50 for a soda. Takes review to 3 stars.

Front desk is sometimes empty and it takes them a minute or two to appear. This happened several times during my stay-- kinda unsettling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I’m glad that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and quiet. We strive to meet these expectations because we know the importance of having a comfortable resting place while traveling. I hope you’ll stay with us again next time you’re in Oakland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4064
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: £98 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. Additional fees: Self-Parking: 40 USD Valet: 30 USD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing