We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$199
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites(Oakland)(Great Value!)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
US$241
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$251
US$175
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland(Oakland)
US$93
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
79
145
44
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
145
44
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbart stationjack london squarefront desksan franciscoconvention centerlake merrittconvenience storepublic areaswould stay here againfree internetstreet noisesmall fridgebed was very comfortableone night stayrooms are niceconvenient locationeasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I picked this hotel for its convenience to BART access and the availability of two queen size beds. And it did not disappoint. Loved the room. It was big, modern, and nicely decorated. Beds were comfy. The sink was located outside the bathroom which is a big plus for our family. Location is great, very close to the BART station which we used to get to SF. It has a station to print your boarding pass and also a small work area with PC where I printed vouchers for big bus tour (it provides discount when you buy online). Wonderful service from staff. Overall, we had a great stay at this hotel but if you stay here, try to avoid walking around too late at night. Also, there is a cambodian restaurant (Battambang) next block that serves delicious food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveDisneyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It sounds like you took advantage of many of our great amenities! If you stay with us again, be sure to check our website special offers. We do have hotel packages that include round trip BART tickets to downtown San Francisco and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The reason I chose this hotel simply because the hotel in San Francisco was too expensive and the short drive from Oakland downtown is manageable.

The hotel alone is better than I expected, huge modern lobby where people can have meetings, also good for breakfasts (not free though which other Courtyard offered in some states) and lunches.

The decor is modern and looks recently renovated. The rooms are nice too, quite comfortable overall.

The neighborhood is simply a Chinatown, we were there on Friday morning and there were a weekly market across the street where you can buy fresh vegetables and fruits (we bought some peach, they were cheap and delicious). Location alone is pretty strategic since the hotel is located across a big supermarket, Chinese food all around the hotel too. So overall, will be back if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholasdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I’m glad you found our hotel to be modern and comfortable, our lobby was fully renovated last year to be more accommodating to guests who want to dine, lounge or work. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our family of 3 stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last week. The room was clean and comfortable and the reception we received (at 12:30 am on a weeknight) was exceptional. Our interaction with staff was pleasant every time. We took BART from OAK, so we didn't need to park - the BART terminal is just a short 2 minute walk. The farmers market on 9th on Friday morning was a really cool treat for us. We would absolutely stay here again - especially at $139/night!

Room Tip: Shop at the market across the street for liquor and groceries.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BrettWagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for the great review! I’m glad to hear that your arrival went smoothly with our front desk staff. I’ll be sure to pass your kind words along to our team. I’m also happy to hear that you were able to explore the farmer’s market across the street – that is one of our favorite Friday morning activities and has become a routine for many of our staff members! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had little expectation of this urban property, which is on the border of Chinatown and the Broadway experience, and we were delighted when we entered the lobby. It is a great space, with a small but adequate bar, limited options for food, and lots of seating for hanging out with a drink, watching the tvs, or using your laptop. The rooms looked like they had recently been renovated, and they were outstanding! The decor is fresh and well done. The rooms are a nice size, considering the urban location, and are really comfortable. The usual comfortable Marriott bed doesn't disappoint. And neither did this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodToGoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika S, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks for your great comments. I’m glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel. We hope to be a place of rest and relaxation in bustling downtown – sounds like we met our goal! We hope to see you on your next trip t Oakland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

TIP: do the valet parking, its worth the money, parking around there is difficult.
This is very nice property in a great location, and a friendly staff, easy to reach San Fran from here specially if you are going to see the Giants.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EDUARDO N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pimmsgirl360, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thanks for the great review and for leaving a tip about parking for future guests. We hope to see you again next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews