We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Useful for an extended stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Useful for an extended stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

we found the hotel accomodating and met our needs. Its location made us hesitate at first but once we found our way arround it was satisfactory. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast met our needs. Parkng could be a problem. one night there were no spots left. Had to go to the desk to complain. The peson removed their personal vehicle and made space for us. There is a bar next door that uses hotel spaces from time to time. That complicates parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Myron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    233
    118
    85
    50
See reviews for
258
187
49
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I enjoy the food, the view, the room and the price. I experienced no problems or defaults. The service was excellent. This is all going to say about this property. This is all going to say about this property. This is all going to say about this property. This is all going to say about this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very clean hotel. Loved the full kitchen with refrigerator. Amazing staff. Breakfast was better than a restaurants. Nice laundry facility. Loved the view of the bay. Easy access to freeway. Very roomy. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 22carrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had reservations, in May, and in June, as we were taking a trip to Norway, and wanted a good place to stay in Oakland Calif airport area. Made our reservations for Homewood Suites, via Hawaiian Airlines, and was so disappointed!! Both stays, paid in advance, were for handicapped bathrooms, and never got that!!! They could of cared less too. The place is old, run down, and not up to our standards, and we are seasoned travelers!! Beds are old, queens only, and under the bed spread, the top covering, was a Mattress Pad, in the last stay of three nights ago! Hoe tacky is that!!! I would never recommend this dive, no airport shuttle, it costs us $40.00 each way, and for what? The area is not real safe either. Police were swarming the place, when we checked out at 6:00am too!! I intend to let Hawaiian Airlines know, to not recommend this place! We hated to go back, the 2nd stay, but as we had already paid it, had to do so, only to be even further disappointed!! Do not stay there!!! We were on our way to and from Norway, and because of airline times, had to stay over. By the way, Radisson Blu in Bergen, Norway, was so great!! Aloha, Evonne, from Hilo, Hawaii

Room Tip: 2nd floor, as first floor is not safe. Elevator goes out too, so know that. Stay elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvonneHilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Really enjoyed the breakfast especially since there was a patio section outside. Hotel staff was friendly, each staff said hi/hello whenever I passed them. Location in convenient since it was near the highway and about a 15 min drive to Berkeley.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Junelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here for over 2 weeks for work. Room was spacious and quiet - even being next to a freeway, the windows were thick to keep out most of the noise. Bedding was comfortable and it was great to have a kitchen.
Staff were always friendly and accommodating. Excellent complimentary breakfast daily and complimentary home-cooked dinner was nice to come back to (Mon-Thurs) after work (including free beer/wine).
Location was convenient (if you have a car). Otherwise, there is not much around the hotel because it's next to the marina.
Would definitely recommend and will stay there on my next visit to Oakland!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the marina if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCguy20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in Homewood Suites before this is not quite as nice-however the location on the Oakland waterfront is excellent and it's a bargain compared to staying in San Francisco. I normally travel alone for business and I am an Hhonors gold member. However this was a last minute trip with my husband to the Bay Area for a night. The hotel is clean, had friendly service and strong WiFi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sacha_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. I hope you and your husband will travel with us on business more often. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
#5 Green Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing