We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Old Town. Close to everything!”
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Washington Inn
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Washington Inn is located in Old Town Oakland. It is right off the BART line on 12th St. Excellent dining options, including several small ethnic restaurants, are close by on Clay Street. The free continental breakfast provided was also nice. My room was extremely clean. It had a good view of Old Town architecture. The service was good and everyone there was friendly. I enjoyed the experience!

Room Tip: Room 409 was airy and had a great view of old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doriba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Staying in Oakland on business and I selected this hotel because from the website and the description on Hotels.com, this looked like a relatively nice place. There is a 'vintage' feel to this hotel but I would NOT call it charming or a "luxury boutique hotel" as it is self described. I actually would NOT use the words luxury or boutique. The room is generally clean but the threadbare sheets and blankets left much to be desired. For example, my "queen bed", which was actually a full bed, had what I assumed was a down comforter, except the comforter had been so overused that it looked like just a sheet. The television looks like the first model ever created, which really is not such a big deal, but the reception was awful and I could not get a clear picture. The staff I encountered was nice enough and accommodating but this place was definitely NOT worth the $138 I am paying a night. Needless to say if you are looking for something that is a couple of steps above a motel, stay here, but if you are hoping to come back and relax in comfort after long travel and meetings, DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FawziahQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First, why stay here? Location and economy without sacrificing too much quality. We were here to see Bryan Ferry perform at the Fox Theatre (wow! see my review) and eat at Duende (wow! see my review) with some friends.

This hotel feels like a landmark. Old style with lots of wood, high ceiling, an old mahogany bar and a stained-glass skylight make you feel you've stepped back 75 years. Similar feelings as you head up the elevator (some wrought iron) and into your room (clanky air conditioner though made me feel like it hadn't been repaired for years).

This is still a restoration in progress it feels. Bar seems a little underwhelming and front desk seems at odds serivce-wise and decor-wise with rest of hotel.

It sits across from the Oakland convention center where if you have a car you will park it there for $15 (via hotel). Do not park on street, too many signs of broken windows.

The night we stayed was a Monday - no convention in town and no late nite music from nearby pub, no late night scene at the hotel bar. As a result we had a quiet, easy stay. My mind wondered what it might be like on a weekend or with a bunch of conventioneers in town -- might have gotten a little too crazy given its proximity to convention center, late nite spots, etc. May also be why we got a $100/night room too.

But if you're in town for a mid-week concert at the Fox or want to try some of Oaklands hot restaurants, this is a good choice to me.

Room Tip: Probably a room facing 10th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My typing may seem shaky due to the rock band playing at the pub across the parking lot. So loud in fact, I can barely hear my television (no exaggeration). It is midnight and they just stopped. Room is very average, hotel staff friendly enough but elevator and the rest is pretty sketchy. The Marriott is across the street for $30. per night more. We are moving tomorrow despite pre-paying for this room

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our 7-day stay by my wife and I and another couple were wonderful. Desk personnel were over the top courteous and pleasant, the rooms were clean and well managed, the food served during breakfast were more than expected and tasty. We look forward to visiting again and this time not necessarily for business.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We book a room at The Washington for the weekend. This hotel has lots of charm. Rooms are clean and the staff is excellent. They made feel very welcome. The hotel is in a great location. I will stay here when am in Oakland.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

There are only a few places to stay in the center of Oakland and we decided to try the Washington Inn which is across the street from the Oakland Convention Center. It is in the downtown district is a hotel from the early 1900's. It is four stories and has the charm of the bygone era. You walk into the lobby and there is a sitting area as well as an inviting bar. If you walk past the bar which did not have a bartender or patron, you came to reception where the greeting and checking was smooth and efficient. While you are signing in, you can look up to your right and see a colorful stained glass ceiling panel as well.

After being given the key, you step in to the last century and take a small elevator up to your floor. The elevator is a wrought iron cage that draws you steadily up to your flow with the wind coming through the iron work. The rooms are old fashioned in some ways as they have single pane windows and one window looks out to a central corridor. There is a single light on one side of the bed, so only one person can comfortably read. The TV is of the CRT variety with a VCR on top. Perfectly adequate but a touch dated. The bathroom is clean and the soaps, etc are of high quality. The bed itself was relatively comfortable. A touch of the present was that the light switches are motion activated.

The continental breakfast was served on the bar in the lobby and had cereal, yoghurt, bagels, toast ...

Parking is on the street until 8 Am after which it is $2/hr or you can pay $15/day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.4 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
2.0 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607-4012
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: £95 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing