We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for an OAK stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
New Mexico
Level Contributor
191 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good choice for an OAK stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This property is clean and very near the Oakland Airport, but in a quiet setting. There is a shuttle service that will take you to the airport and anywhere within a three mile radius. The friendly driver picked us up from the rental car center in the evening and in the morning we got a ride to the airport without having to wait for the scheduled run.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about. Here the service was non-existent with only one juice selection.The three other choices that had run out. Make your own waffles and the rest was standard continental with a few hot dishes.

The rooms are huge. Very fluffy, very white bathroom towels. The service is friendly. The pool and hot tub were both clean and inviting (Lots of clean towels on site).
I would definitely stay here again as my biggest concern is cleanliness. Too bad it's not in a location where you might stay for an extended vacation. It's in an excellent location for an airport stay, though. The rooms really are a bargain for the size and price. Refrigerator and microwave are provided and the living room area is a very nice size. Comfy beds and windows that open (love that!).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abqtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    195
    82
    30
    27
See reviews for
189
142
30
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

It is very good hotel for travellers to or from Oakland airport. Not too expensive, rate around $100 but you get large room and nice bathroom. The room was best of all there was. Breakfast could use some improvement, it is just simple and the eating area cannot be called restaurant.

Aiport shuttles a going to and from OAK every hour which is enough and they are free of charge.

Location of the hotel is great if you travel from/to OAK. Gas station, Wal-Mart are nearby, if you want to grab something to eat there is Subway plus some more fast food places 300 yards from the hotel. The area is fairly quiet however I was kind of afraid walking after dark.

The hotel does have indoor pool but we have not used it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Nice prices, good breakfast and super rooms, all in close proximity to OAK. Really enjoyed this stay on Christmas night. Nice tree in the lobby and the staff was hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Pros- Good price of $85/n plus tax, spotless hallway,room very clean, newish carpet and wall coverings, large bathroom, Strong water pressure-hence shower excellent, slept well with firm mattress and quiet room. Fast WiFi, microwave and frig in room, Heat/AC that YOU can actually control

Cons- Ugly,industrial location,Common areas not well heated, room mislabeled as a suite--it was actually a huge room with sofa alcove, older TV with analog, beat up furniture, dark low wattage lighting, free breakfast overpriced. Bring your dinner as totally isolated from food. Scary area at night.

I would stay here again to catch a flight but not look forward to it. The overnight price was great in an area of $120-160/n hotels

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonesyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is a typical Best Western conveniently close to Oakland Interantional Airport. The location is a long block off the main drag (Hegenberger) in the middle of an industrial area. Rooms are large and very spacious. Bathroom is enormous, which is not the most convenient things one can imagine. There is an indoor pool and a well equiped exercise facility. Complementary breakfast is better than most.

Room Tip: There are a large number of hotels/motels in the immediate area that have slightly better exterior a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djsilversmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern05603, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Mr Smith,

I am glad you enjoyed our facility, and our large and spacious room. Our location is not directly located on the busy Hegenberger road. However, I would like to note that this is the reason why you got such a good night’s sleep. We are tucked away behind Hegenberger loop creating a quite atmosphere. We are also only seconds away from the main Hegenberger road. One thing you might have missed out on is that, we offer free shuttle service whenever you want to go in a 3 mile radius. We apologize for the miscommunication, in not letting you know about this service. I hope next time you can take advantage of the expanded shuttle service we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel one night due to a 6 a.m. flight out of Oakland. Our room was clean and relatively modern. We greatly appreciated the shuttle that picked us up after we dropped off our car at the rental car facility and also took us to the airport at 4:30 in the morning. Like another reviewer mentioned, the bathroom door, which slams shut, was kind of annoying because you couldn't leave it open, but other than that minor inconvenience, everything was great. As we left too early in the morning, we didn't get to try to the breakfast but the free wifi was nice. I would definitely stay here again if flying out of OAK.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We came in without a booking and by luck got the last room at 12 noon.. Check in was fast and friendly..parking handy to the door..Room met our expectations.Clean and nice touches.
Best was the Free shuttle to the BART to take us in to San Francisco..and a call on our return and they picked us up..

Breakfast was more than Continental..we sampled it 2 mornings.. Rooms were cleaned and tidied while we toured San Francisco. Also, was quiet..little effect from the Airport.

Everyone was friendly..driver, maids, food server, desk..

It has nice lobby too.

Room Tip: Book ahead..we were lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanashirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
4.4 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing