We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - not great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

No complaints on the hotel at all. Great beds, great staff and breakfast was awesome. Biscuits and gravy were the best! Wide variety of options. We stayed one night after an A's game. I would not leave anything valuable in your car - someone had just had a break-in when we were returning from the game. The hotel is back in an industrial area. The Wal-Mart close to there has a constant patrol car going around, so they must have issues in this area. Price was reasonable, and value was good - just be careful!

Room Tip: Get something higher than 1st floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tblakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you have no complaints about your stay with us. For many, our location is our biggest asset because of our proximity to the airport. We also find the neighborhood to be safe and provide security as well to make sure our property always remains safe and peaceful. I apologize if we fell short of your expectations in any way and hope we will have you with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The stay at the Airport Inn & Suites in Oakland was somewhat disappointing due to its' location. The hotel was clean, quite and staff were very helpful. The location was the only issue, somewhat remote and would not feel comfortable walking outside the hotel property. The price was very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay. Its' only draw back was its' location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Traveller1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments about our clean, quite and well-staffed hotel, and I’m pleased that you would recommend it to others. Our convenient location near the airport is an asset for us, and most guests feel completely safe. We also have on-site security and take other actions to make sure guests like you feel safe and secure. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

we stayed for a week to be in a family wedding near berkely ca. this hotel is a great value for your money. the staff goes over and above to make your stay perfect. just be carful not to wander out at night by yourself around the hotel... you need a car to be self sufficient staying here. otherwise you travel by shuttle to a public transit near by. the staff are absolutely the most professional and helpful. they are what makes this hotel great! we had no issues staying here and someone always helped us with anything we needed during our stay. great people make this hotel great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I’m so pleased that our staff impressed you so much. Thanks for being an extended stay guest. While having a car in this area is advisable, we take pride in our convenient location and find our neighborhood to be safe and quiet. I’m sorry if you felt unsafe at any time. In any case, I hope to have you with us again soon. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Will not stay at this location again. Terrible neighborhood. While the premises were clean, the surrounding areas were strewn with broken glass and trash. Don't walk anywhere in this neighborhood. Staff led me to believe it would be safe to walk 2 blocks from a nearby restaurant; very irresponsible of them. It was not safe. I had an encounter that could have turned out very bad. For the money, I will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for you comments. I’m glad you were impressed with our nice, clean and comfortable hotel. We take pride in this neighborhood, as do our neighbors. We find it to be safe and a great place to do business. I hope you will indeed stay with us again and take a look at the neighborhood through new eyes. We also provide security and take other actions to make sure our property is always nice for guests like you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and it wrecked our holiday. Between the barbed wire at the back of the lot in a terrible neighbourhood or the spikes on the fence to keep people out of the lot I was very afraid. Yet the entrance is fully open??? 2nd night had a pot smell so strong my husband went out to complain and accused a bunch of young guys in our hallway that called him a racist b/c they were black. Front staff sprayed the hall and took 1/2 hr to call security. I would've left but was too scared it was after midnight. Front desk offered me 40% off my 2nd night but couldn't do the paperwork correctly and overcharged me instead. So we did a double credit to make up the difference on the overcharge and to get me the credit but I see my credit card has been charged more $$ b/c front staff can't add apparently & I'm not calling long distance to try and get the 60$ 40% off I was promised. I paid good $$ and was afraid of dopers and my husbands life in dangerous circumstance. Front desk said I could call the cops but they wouldn't. If they find cigarette butts they will double charge that room. Great for them but what about us?

Room Tip: Don't go there
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry you felt unsafe here despite our strong safety record and on-site security measures. I also apologize that actions beyond our control by other guests detracted from your stay. We satisfy hundreds of people every month and are disappointed that we could not satisfy you. If you there are any outstanding payment issues, please contact me directly for quick resolution.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

One star is being nice, this hotel deserves no stars. By far the worse hotel I've ever stayed at, save you're money and time and go somewhere else. I wish I did! It's in a terrible neighbourhood, and terrible security, not a family hotel. Stay here to ruin you're family vacation! You've been warned!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us. I’m sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay when so many others are. We have many families as well as many business people who stay here for our clean, comfortable rooms, safety, security and amenities. Still, I apologize that we failed to meet your needs and wish you well in finding other accommodations next time you’re in the area.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently whilst going to baseball at the Oakland A's. The rooms are good, clean, well furnished, the A/C was quiet. The swimming pool was disappointing as the photos on the web site are taken with a wide angle and it is nowhere near the size it looks like. I love to swim but only went in once as I found the pool to be dirty. There was dirty scum all around the water level of the pool and the pool towels were very old, small and super thin.
We stayed over the 4th July weekend and were surprised when they closed the breakfast room to refurbish it over a very busy weekend. Breakfast was a challenge in the lobby area.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The shuttle driver was excellent. They only have one shuttle which runs to the Bart station on 15 and 45 past the hour and to the airport on the hour and half hour.
The location of this hotel is very poor. It is on a back street, next to industrial units. There are no restaurants anywhere near the hotel. We tried walking to another hotel on the main street towards the airport and were approached for money. In summary, not a bad hotel but in a really bad location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, but I apologize if we fell short of your expectations in any way. Our location near the airport is an asset in many ways, although there are some downsides. Still, most guests are completely satisfied and I sincerely apologize that you were not.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
4.4 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
899 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.7 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 49 in Oakland
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites

Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: £106 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing