We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service”
Review of Le Cheval

Le Cheval
Ranked #39 of 1,265 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The atmosphere is friendly, the service is great, the drinks are tasty, and the food is wonderful. Street parking can be catch-as-catch can but there are public garages a short walk away and it's worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WomenOutForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    60
    27
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, an Oakland Institution”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

You feel as though you're in Vietnam with its French-like looks combined with great Vietnamese food. Service is speedy and the restaurant can handle large groups.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Noisy, usually crowded, but an excellent option near the downtown Convention Center, great for groups. Vietnamese food, usually delicious; the varied menu pleases almost everyone. Have been going there for twenty years.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonder-filled Vietnamese Cuisine”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I love this restaurant: it has been a main-stay of good/great Vietnamese food in Oakland for many, many years. I used to eat here when I worked in downtown Oakland; i've had celebrations here with friends, birthdays, retirements, etc. I have not had a bad meal here; sometimes I have wished I ordered something else when I see someone with an order of that certain something.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badEXPEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We don't go there enough. Last time was lunch while waiting for jury duty. Grabbed a seat at the bar, had some hot tea, Lemon Grass Beef and life was good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cheval also viewed

 

Been to Le Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing