We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”
Review of Westwind Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westwind Lodge
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Wanted a clean inexpensive room for a quick night in Oakland. Had plans for dinner in the Piedmont area so the Westwind seemed like a good budget choice. I had called well in advance to reserve two non smoking rooms as we were traveling with friends. They do not take a credit card number, just a name for the reservation. I called to confirm the rooms the morning of our arrival. I also wanted to let the front desk know that our flight arrived in Oakland at 5:30pm so we might not be there until 7pm or so.
When we arrived, the man at the front desk was very nice. He explained that they had some electrical problem in one of the non smoking rooms reserved for us so we would have to have a smoking room. Our friends offered to stay in the smoking room. I never entered the room, but apparently the smoke was bad,
Our room was a non smoking King. It had a weird odor (not smoke, but something else). There was a broken sconce above the bed. I don't mean a burned our light bulb, I mean a jagged piece of glass with a light bulb poking through. The bathroom door had no latch and would not stay closed. The wood was actually missing where the latch would normally be on the door. There was mold/mildew all over the bathroom wall and the cheap plastic shower curtain was also full of mold/mildew.
The toilet was clean. Other than the moldy shower curtain, the shower was clean. The bedsheets smelled of bleach (clean). We were able to get a reasonable nights sleep.
Seems like a trip to home depot and $10 could make a world of diffence in this place. Fix the sconce, change the shower curtain, paint the bathroom wall and fix the door.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelalottucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeep336, General Manager at Westwind Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

After reading your review, I understand how our accomodations need to be upgraded. Rest assured should you ever choose to return to us, we would be happy to offer comp your stay in one of our renovated rooms. Again, we apologize for your inconvenience and hope you enjoyed the time you did spend in the bay area.

Thank you for your time.
-Manny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Westwind Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2008

When I made my reservation, the man on the phone said to call 48 hours before checking in to confirm the reservation. When I called to confirm the reservation, the woman (presumably the owner) said it was not the policy, nor was my reservation in their book. They did have a room for me though.

The room was clean and good sized. The bathroom was a little cold as the window was only louvered glass.

Current price is $65.00/night.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DsrtNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

My room had a great view of the park across the street. I was in Oakland to see my brother who works at Kaiser of Oakland and has a small apartment nearby so locationwise it was perfect. It is a motel but a really good motel. My room came with a microwave, fridge, dvd player, king bed, and i got my own ip address on their wifi netwrk. The housekeepers are great and the kid who runs the office always asked me if i was comfortable. Its nice to know if i ever needed anything like an extra pillow or a movie to watch, all i had to do was ask. if you have the guts to stay at any motel in this area, come to the Westwind Lodge.

4  Thank tyronemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2006

I work as a travel nurse at Kaiser Hospital on Macarthur Blvd. in Oakland, and the Westwind lodge is right acroos the street. It is very affordable$45.00/night,and while it is not the Hilton it is clean and I felt safe. I will be returning. The room had a microwave, fridge, cable,and a dvd player. The beds were okay. The manager is the son of the owner, and they are trying to re-do all the rooms, and they are going to make a laundry room also. The outside looks bad, but they plan to paint,and get a new sign . I like the idea of trying to help small businesses, that are working to make their places better. For a budget motel, it is above average. They even have wireless.

9  Thank Sandyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank tizzifoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteMo_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 49 in Oakland
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Inn
Imperial Inn
#22 of 49 in Oakland
136 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Emeryville
1.8 mi away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#23 of 49 in Oakland
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwind Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Lodge

Address: 336 W Macarthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609-2807
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: £92 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westwind Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westwind Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing