We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel has been a bit over-hyped on this review site”
Review of Imperial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Inn
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I have seen many nice photos of The Imperial so I was expecting that, but the reality is a bit less. Granted, with city taxes and all the price I paid for my room on a busy weekend was fair, but I'd like to see a few improvements.

Good: Very helpful staff. I had a few problems with my room and everyone was extremely efficient in correcting them. Fair water pressure in shower, great to have a frig & microwave in room, comfortable bed, constant fan on wall unit for white noise if you need it, fairly quiet at night, fast food joint right next door, and 3 blocks from a BART station.

Bad: Carpet needs to be steam cleaned, upholstered furniture is faded & stained, lack of hangers (but I could have asked for more), and some of the furniture tops were sticky and greasy. I could also smell cigarette smoke from the rooms beside or above me and the room smelled very heavily perfumed with maybe incense when I checked in. I opened the door to air it out. It's not in the greatest part of town but my room felt secure. There is not a large selection of restaurants within close walking distance either.

I would stay here again, however, to save money and avoid having to rent a car. Being able to avoid traffic and use the nearby BART was a plus for me.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking, choose your discounts online when you book because they won't give them to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PersonintheVicinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Booked last minute and stayed here the end of august with friends for a week as part of last minute california travels. Very good and decent place for the price you're getting. Beds were reasonably comfortable and place was clean. Staff were lovely and very friendly. Looses a star mainly because of the towels. There were four of us in the room and they should have been changed everyday as there was nowhere to hang them to dry. Apart from that great place to stay last minute on the cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_california_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

While travelling to San Francisco, we chose to stay at the Imperial Inn, since it was one of the cheapest options. The hotel wasn't that bad, conditions were at the average level. Two double beds, very small bathroom, a TV, air conditioning. Just what you are expecting to get for that price. The neighbourhood was really scary though. We decided once to go to the store at night and it wasn't the smartest choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szyn3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed at the Imperial Inn during my U.S. vacation in June 2012 and primarily for visiting San Francisco. The location of the hotel is perfect for daily visits to The City by car or BART.

The hotel itself is okay-ish if you don't have high demands and don't want to pay the overpriced San Francisco hotel/motel room rates.

The rooms are dated and the furniture is kinda worn out and dirty. However the bed i had was clean, comfy and was made-up every day by the housekeeping. And yes the bathroom with the toilet is very... very small, it will be snake-like to open and close the door when inside :)

The neighbourhood where the hotel is located is sketchy, especialy at night. I knew Oakland wasn't the best place to stay for a vacation when i booked the room. And the funny thing is, i got that comfirmed when i arrived in the USA at the airport customs. The TSA security officer who questioned me asked me where i was going to stay and wished me goodluck after i said Oakland xD But the hotel and its parking are fenced off, so at night its kinda save.

I would stay at the Imperial Inn again if they lowered the room rates, because the rates almost doubled since my stay in June 2012 (i made reservations via their website).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

nuff said. there are BED BUGS AT THIS HOTEL. do yourself a favor and stay away from the imperial. its not an imperial experience. to their credit they gave full refund but.....doing the laundry all day and then having to schlep around an unknown town searching for bed bug spray which was incredibly hard to find (bed bath and beyond had an overly cinnamon spray we eventually gave into, very cinnamon). go up to berkeley for the 5 min drive to la quinta or something.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bugscratcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed in the Imperial Inn for 3 days and we chose this hotel because of overpriced SF centre hotels. It was about 90 USD per night. The rooms are well equiped with the comfortable king beds. The hotel is located close to the McArthur BART station which we wanted. By BART you can reach Embarcadero station (the first station on the way to SF) and it costs 3 USD per way. Near the hotel there is some fast food or local dinners so that you can eat the whole the day within the walking distance from the hotel. We recommend the upper floor rooms not facing the pool as the flowing water can be disturbing during the night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronekTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I really enjoy staying at local, non-chain hotel/motels that I've found through TripAdvisor or Booking.com -- they're definitely cheaper, but usually have a lot more character ... and frequently charm. BUT NOT THIS PLACE!!! The Imperial Inn is creepy, dirty and nasty. The maids throw the bedspreads out onto the walkways while "cleaning" the room, then put them back on the beds. Furniture is stained; tv volume didn't work; air conditioning didn't work; they wouldn't give us enough towels or coffee; no kleenex; only a paper bath mat (never replaced); hair dryer, remote and "do not disturb" sign all greasy with dirty fingerprints; one small bar of soap to share between sink and tubette; nasty, little pillows. Neighborhood is marginal at best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 406Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#11 of 49 in Oakland
85 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#14 of 49 in Oakland
372 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#23 of 49 in Oakland
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Emeryville
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Townhouse Travel Inn
#20 of 49 in Oakland
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Inn

Address: 490 W Macarthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609-2826
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: £74 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Imperial Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing