We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Woodland, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for Families”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I am not sure why people are writing negative reviews about this hotel. This is a piece of Gem, in fact an Oasis in a desert. Although it’s in industrial area, once you enter the property, its beautifully appointed. The rooms are nice and clean. Though you only get shampoo and hand lotion upon asking at the front desk, but I feel it’s more trendy. This hotel is best value for what you get in Oakland. Other competitors such as nearby Roadway Inn or Motel 6 charges atleast 20$ more. But I feel this hotel is better than other franchises or atleast at that level.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeaustin411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    92
    61
    28
    56
See reviews for
59
84
65
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

AWFUL!!!! RIPOFF!!!! Charged $221 for one night of hell. Very rude staff, loud area, no coffee, no shampoo, no amenities at all. Wouldn't even let us have an extra pillow. NEVER AGAIN!!!! DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!! They thrive on making your stay miserable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Oakland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The best thing about the place is the name. The only breeze comes from the freeway traffic on the other side of the retaining wall. On the plus side, the linens/towels were changed every day. The wafer-thin soap was less than minimal; after day two of four was never replaced. The promised microwave was absent....as was a telephone. Not good. Wifi was slower than octogenarians in a 3-legged sack race. But is was free, for what it be worth.

The bed was adequate, though it had seen a better decade. Two pillows: one just OK, the other had more lumps that large curd cottage cheese. The desk and chair were designed for travelers 5'6" or shorter. The dresser was a plus: deep drawers more than sufficient. TV and fridge worked OK.

The front door security latch was missing, although the location is gated. But do let the bullet-proof glass at enclosed front desk suggest that one does not wander after dark. If you stay here to attend an event at Oracle Arena [a short walk away], drive or take a cab.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What an awesome, awesome, awesome hotel! Staff are young, cool, friendly, helpful - can't do enough to help .
Rooms are great - amazing showers. Nice place to stay with family, or friends.

I would like to Visit this Place Again and Again

Room Tip: We had a King Room and it was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and the room while on the smaller side but was quite clean. The hotel is very convenient to all public transportation. Air conditioner worked, great bathroom, clean towels, fast wi-fi, what else can you ask for...We ended up extending our stay to three more days and they gave us a good discount for extended stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I travel for business and fly to Oakland quite often. I stay here at least 3-4 times a month. Nice and clean rooms with no frills. Super friendly staff (especially the older lady and the front desk team). Close to freeway and BART. SFO is just 20 mins drive (without traffic) or simply take BART. Everything is always flawless. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I always get free upgrade to King size room and sometimes if I am lucky, i get one with flat screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had the worst experience at this place! It is dirty, and in a horrible part of town!! And if you haft been to Oakland there are really good parts of town! But all of that isn't so bad for us we knew we were paying for a cheap hotel and it would be pretty shady! The worst part is they "upgraded" my 2 rooms to 1 so called sweet, then said they would only charge me 15$$. When I looked at my credit card they charged me 20$$. I called to dispute the charge and was yelled at in some other language then hung up on. I know it was only 5$$ but the service side of it is what really makes me mad. I was on vacation and when I'm at work I have to be nice...these people are not nice or friendly and they shouldn't be in the hospitality business. People work hard for their money its just not right!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amyc752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
5.0 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#8 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Breeze Inn Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Inn Oakland

Property: Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Address: 4919 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601-5011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#8 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Breeze Inn Oakland 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centered in the sixth Largest Metropolitan area in the United States: the San Francisco Bay Area. Bay Breeze Inn is just a short walk to Oracle Arena and McAfee Coliseum - home to the Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders and Golden State Warriors as well as a host of other sporting events, concerts and family shows. The Oakland International Airport is a short four mile drive from the Bay Breeze Inn. We're conveniently located off interstate highway 880 - only a 20 minute drive to downtown San Francisco, 30 minute drive to San Jose and 45 minute drive to Napa Valley Wine Country. The Bay Breeze Inn is near some of the best dining, shopping and entertainment the Bay Area has to offer in historic Jack London Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Bay Breeze Inn Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Hotel Oakland
Bay Breeze Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing