We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Z Hotel Jack London Square
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Inn was a great place to stay for a weekend...walking distance to Jack London Square, good restaurants, Farmer's Market, etc...There was a nice pool area, rooms were clean, staff was friendly. Buttercup restaurant next door and Oakland Grill down the street had great breakfasts. Definitely stay here again on my next visit to Oakland.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomlovesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MomiGM, Manager at Z Hotel Jack London Square, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to read of your satisfaction and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    101
    91
    33
    23
See reviews for
46
87
38
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Oakland is a semi dodgy area slowly gentrifying. This hotel had a great outside pool area which served us well on the two 30 degree days we had. All rooms were arranged in motel style square around the pool with none on street level so a bit of outside walking to get to far side rooms.It has a small clean gym. Laundry room with self serve washer and dryer for $2.It was between 2nd and 3 rd street which was the problem as we had a 3 rd floor room facing 2 nd street. Initially I was pleased to have screened opening windows but the noise from outside was considerable as the hotel is near the Amtrack train line and every hour 24/7 these trains roar through blasting its horn 10 times. The room has double glazed windows but was so hot we had to have the air con on. This was an older style system that hummed away all night. King bed was very comfortable and TV and free wifi a bonus. Shower head was water saving type but was a cheapo and didn't work well. The reception staff were hit and miss, some good others barely raised their heads when you arrived. The waterfront area is 2 streets away with the ferry into SF and the BART 9 blocks walk with a free green shuttle bus on Broadway which was good at night as the underpass bridge between 3 rd and 4 th was scary after dark. At $714 for 4 nights it was cheaper then staying in SF but keep your wits about you.Chinatown nearby by on 7th and lots of reasonable eateries close by.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing into the pool area definitely not facing 2nd
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 123degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

this hotel is absolutely fine. yup it is a bit of a motel rather than hotel, but the rooms are cleaner, and the price cannot be beat. If you don't need to stay in San Francisco, Oakland is much better value. You're right by Yoshi's, and there are a few cool bars within a block or 2. I especially love Café Lizzi around the corner. skip the diner next to the hotel and go to Lizzi for breakfast and great coffee. I dream about her biscuits.

i'll admit Oakland is not the most convenient location for touristing, but for business travel where you don't plan to be spending much time in the hotel, this is a good option at half the price of SF.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_birkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great service and location in Oakland. The staff is willing to go the extra mile to help with anything you may need. This is the best hotel in the Jack London Square area and is convenient to just about anything you could want to do in the Bay area. Do not confuse this one with the Jack London Inn which should be avoided at all costs! My business partner and I stayed here for over 30 days in April 2014 and it really helped us to have such steady, helpful service. Good pricing for Oakland and especially Jack London Square.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Inn at Jack London Square is a mixed bag. It was the best value that we could find in the area and it was close to the attractions in Jack London Square. The neighborhood is a mix of commercial (produce warehouses abound) and Jack London Square shops, restaurants and attractions. My wife and I stayed here because it is one block away from Yoshi's Oakland where we were attending a show. (Yoshi's is one block away.) This is Oakland which has it's "grittyness" but also it's charm.

The beds are amazingly comfortable -- one of the best hotel beds I've slept in. The room was clean and comfortable. The decor was stylish but bit dated. The bathroom had a small, separate shower/toilet room and an adjacent sink area. When we first entered it, the room smelled strongly of "hotel scent spray" which usually is a red flag, but It didn't seem to be masking any foul odors, and the scent dissipated over time since we ran the air conditioner.

The elevator has a hinged door in front of the usual sliding elevator door which is odd, but the elevator worked fine and felt safe. There is a $15 charge for parking in the basement garage. The garage felt very safe and I recommend using it, but you need to add the $15 to what ever you are paying for the room to get the real price.

The large central courtyard and pool is very nicely landscaped and feels roomy and comfortable. The staff was mixed -- some folks were helpful and cheerful, some were indifferent. The train runs down the center of the Embarcadero one block away. You can hear the train horn from the courtyard but not really in the room.

The wireless Internet connection worked fine but was a little slow and clumsy to use. We did not use the TV or work out room so I can't comment on those.

Room Tip: If you don't like train sounds pick a room on the opposite side from the Embarcadero.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ljhoiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Clean rooms, secure, parking garage, friendly staff. Furniture was REALLY dated - I think 60's Danish Modern, but who cares everything in good condition. Just a few blocks from Jack London Square - DO NOT CONFUSE WITH JACK LONDON INN - very close -.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a couple times and really like it all. Reasonable price, nice rooms and really great location. It's really close to hip night life and all kinds of food spots. There is also a free shuttle bus that runs up and down Broadway that saves money and parking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Hotel Jack London Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Hotel Jack London Square

Property: Z Hotel Jack London Square
Address: 233 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-3802 (Formerly The Inn at Jack London Square)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Z Hotel Jack London Square 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel, located in the heart of Jack London Square puts this boutique hotel in sync with the new Oakland vibe... "One of the coolest cities in America." The hotel offers first-class hospitality and an array of amenities. First on the list of amenities is Oakland's extraordinary climate... ranked #1 in America. With relatively cool summers, warm winters and little rain, you can get out almost anytime of any day. Second, on the list, is the walk ability of the neighborhood. And walk around you should... there are dozens of things to see and do. The Z's unique location puts you within walking distance of: The waterfront, marina, open spaces , bike trails, sailing, paddle boarding, canoeing, kayaking and rowing. 50+ restaurants, coffee houses, bars, beer gardens and urban wineries. Convention Center, Business District, Historic Old Oakland, City Center, Chinatown. Nightlife, live music, theater, movies, galleries and more. Free Broadway Bus Shuttle, San Francisco Ferry, BART, Amtrak Train and the A C Transit The Z... easy to remember, hard to forget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Z Hotel Jack London Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Jack London Square Hotel Oakland
Hotel At Jack London Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing