We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad, Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Oakland
1 review
“Not Bad, Not Great”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Overall a good value, street side is very loud in the morning, the annex buildings are old, rundown. Definately get a room in the main building. The Cafe is not bad. The italian place across the road sucks

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    116
    73
    53
    53
See reviews for
89
84
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Just trying to check in. Several people behind the counter and one person taking care of guests. I waited in line for nearly 45 minutes. I must also comment on the staffs knowledge of operation. They all appeared to be new employees in training. By the conversations happening between the desk staff and customers it was clear that everyone was very disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ccfd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for providing this valuable feedback so that we can address these areas with our staff. I do apologize that our front desk did not provide you with friendly and welcoming service. There is no reason, nor is it acceptable, to have a poorly run front desk. We apologize tremendously for the experiences you encountered during your stay and we hope you will provide us with the opportunity to rectify these issues so that we can have you back and provide you with the superior service deserved!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Red Lion is a nice place to stay. Very convenient for those traveling via Oakland International Airport. They have regular shuttle service to and from the airport. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They have fridges and microwaves. They have a restaurant on the premises that's a little too pricey. There is not much within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Smokers should ask for a room with a balcony in order to avoid trips dowstairs to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLGirone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

a loud noise started coming through the wall at about 9:00pm. the front desk clerk refused to move us and they would do nothing about the noise which went on all night. I had a 6:20am flight and selected this hotel to be near the airport and get some sleep. I got NO sleep, no service and rude behavior. I'm sure Red Lion is fine if you have not issues for them to resolve.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lion O, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hello Joan,
I want to apologize again for the lack of concern that my front desk staff show to you regarding the noise issue. And thank you for giving Red Lion another chance to show you how hospitable and comfortable our hotel really is. I look forward to seeing you and your husband again soon.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I could see there were other hotels with higher ratings near the airport but when I got a rate of $109.00 for one night stay and seven days parking I decided to book it. I booked directly through redlion.com. When we arrived at the hotel at 11:00pm that night the front desk staff informed me that the rate "was a mistake" and that they would need to charge me $149.00 instead. They were inflexible, it was either pay $149.00 or try to find another hotel very late at night. We paid the higher rate, but I don't think this hotel was worth it. The shuttle to the airport is very small and we had to wait for it to return in the morning as it was already filled by another party. Luckily we had allowed enough time so we were not late for our flight. When we returned and called them to send the shuttle we waited and waited for it to appear. We watched numerous other hotel shuttles leave and return with happy passengers. It was cold and dark waiting from 11:00 until 11:35, finally I called them again and the shuttle arrived about midnight.
The rest of our party stayed at the Holiday Inn and were on the road home over an hour before we were able to leave.
The whole Red Lion experience was awful. I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cvene7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize for any unprofessionalism that may have been shown to you by our staff. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the shuttle service as well. We strive to provide all our guests with the high quality of service that we maintain throughout all of our hotels.
Please be assured that these issues will be addressed accordingly with our staff. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My family and I drove down from Portland, OR that is a 12 hour dive. We got in very early and hoped to check in as soon as a room was ready. I did not get a warm welcome and was told that I would not be able to check in until check in time. I felt that the front desk person should have been more understanding to our situation. I was the one who suggested that I leave my cell phone number and have them call when a room is clean. Now I realize this was the night after New Years Eve and they had a full hotel the night before. But it was a new day and new guest should not be bothered by the previous ones. I is all about what they said. I felt like I being a bother to them. I was told that they had a full house the night before, people were checking out slowly, and check in time inst till 3:00 pm (I already knew this, and was asking for something extra after a 12 hour dive). A few hours later I came back to the front desk and they next person was more helpful she said they should have something in a half hour and to come back (she had know idea I was already there). After returning a third time more then a half hour later, I was greeted by the girl from earlier this morning and was given the same dis-welcoming response she did not know I was told to come back (I don't think she even remembered me from earlier). I was then checked in and not told were to park or were the room was, I had to come back and ask. Later that night I tried to buy a bottle of water. There was no water in the vending so I asked the Front Desk and she told me there was no water in any of the vending at the hotel. I was provided with a pitcher of water from the restaurant. With every interaction at the Front Desk it seemed that they were being interrupted and busy. I work at the Front Desk at another hotel and I think they need work at giving all their guest their undivided attention, with a friendly welcoming attitude, and to communicate with each other better (I know I was the only one wanting to check in early with only two people at the desk they both should have known I was looking for a clean room.) Rooms were nice and clean for the older hotel. Beds were comfortable and property was clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was on a business trip and choose to stay here over the weekend. I book the room with breakfast included. During the breakfast a rude female server reminded me that there is 16% gratuity on the breakfast that they already charged me when I book the room. I have NEVER heard any place charging you twice for breakfast. It was not that great any ways. Maybe the management needs to get people that are a little professional in regards to customer service and train their staff on the Breakfast polices …like don’t beg for money from people that have already paid for the breakfast. I don’t think I would be staying here and will not recommend to others...by the way the staff at the front desk was very kind.

Room Tip: you can stay just don't eat breakfast....other places you can eat with friendly services
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navinjit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lion O, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
Firstly we would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment that you
experienced in dealing with our restaurant recently. We assure you that your complaint
and feedback will give the opportunity to remedy any problem that may exist and help to
improve our service further. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to serving you again, if you give us another chance.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#13 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1422 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport hotel in Oakland, California offers superb Three-Diamond, full-service accommodations where personal service and comfort will give each guest a memorable experience. Our beautiful Oakland, California hotel is located halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, California located in the heart of the East bay. We are minutes away from the University of California at Berkley, California State University East Bay, Stanford University and San Jose State University, as well as numerous community colleges. Also be sure to visit Jack London Square bustling with unique shops, restaurants and nightlife. If your leisure time allows, please make Bay Street Mall a priority for all of your retail shopping needs, this shopping center, located less than 18 miles from the hotel, features a variety of specialty shops as well as known retailers such as Coach, Abercrombie and Fitch & Nike just to name a few. The Red Lion Hotel in Oakland, CA is also fortunate enough to have nearly forty well-established houses of worship nearby, including First African Methodist Episcopal Church, Allen Temple, Buddhist Church of Oakland, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and Temple Sinai & Jehovah's Witness Oakland Central. Weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Quinceañeras and Corporate Events are our specialties, with meeting rooms ranging from our executive boardrooms to Monterey room and our California Ballroom. Red Lion Oakland International Airport Hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the Oakland International Airport from 4:00 A.M. - 11:00 P.M. Our shuttle service also provides transportation to the Coliseum BART Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing