We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 7 July 2014


At checking in the manager that checked us in was very rude, she went on to tell us that they were booked up, and if we don't want our rooms she could sell them to someone else at a higher price, then stood
There looking at us & said do you want your rooms or not!! I couldn't believe what I was hearing, I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights, I thought I would have been treated better then that, we had flown in and where all tired, we kepted the rooms, I wanted to just go somewhere else after being treated like that but it
Was late and felt like we had no choice. We stayed out back in a different area then the main Hotel, the area is not very nice, my family & I did not feel safe & it
Was clean but smelled old. I would not come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
2  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

We aim to consistently deliver a courteous and professional check in and stay to our guests and I would to apologize for the lack of service you received. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and I would like to assure you that these issues will be addressed accordingly.
I We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
Sincerely,
Carmela Royce
Front Office Manager
Red Lion Oakland International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

They were friendly, attentive and I felt I received more than the hotel rate might suggest. I definitely recommend staying here. The complimentary shuttle to the BART station made getting to our meeting in S. F. across the bay super easy (they even sent the shuttle when we called after returning to San Leandro on the BART). The only thing I missed was some kind of bench out front when waiting for the shuttle to arrive ... please ... :o) ... I would love to stay there again. The ice machine on the 6th floor makes a noise like a distant drum, which I am sure they can fix, and the waiter at breakfast didn't listen at all when I gave my order, but changed it promptly.

Room Tip: The room with a balcony was a nice option. I recommend asking for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinGriggsWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I would like to start this review by saying I am usually an very patient I have never written a bad review in my life but the service at the Red Lion was atrocious! I travel on average 3 times per month and have never had a worse experience. When I walked into the hotel there was a large line of at least 12 people waiting in front of me. I travel for a living and have never seen a check-in line this long at any hotel I have ever stayed in, including las vegas hotels. While 12 people may not sound like I waited for over an hour to check in. It was almost comical how long and slow the line was with no extra effort from the women behind the desk to speed things up or even offer an apology. There were two people standing behind the desk but only one person checking people in, extremely slowly. I waited for well over an hour to check in!!! which I find unbelievable. Everyone in line with me was extremely frustrated and a women with two kids in front of me said it had been 2 hours from the time she scheduled her shuttle pick up to check in ( the airport is 1.5 miles away! While we were waiting in line one of the customers who checked in before me called the desk shortly after going upstairs and her room had not even been made up. I would never ever stay here again even if I had to pay triple at any other hotel in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Marisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I would like to truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced when you arrived at our hotel. I can understand how the long wait to check in can affect the quality of your stay and this is definitely not how we want your stay with us to begin.
Please be assured that this will be addressed accordingly with our staff to prevent a situation like this from happening again. Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Location is terrible and staff are so not friendly. Stayed here for a week and housekeeping did bare minimal. Carpet is gross and I had a 2 year old who of course wants to play on the floor. Restaurant food was horrible . I ordered a basic french toast breakfast and it was gross and not fully cooked and they refused to give us a refund .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lianasmomee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do want to apologize for any unprofessionalism that may have been shown to your during your stay. I would also like to apologize for you room not being properly serviced by housekeeping during your stay as well. We certainly understand why that would have an effect on the quality of your stay and I would like to assure you that this will be addressed accordingly with all of our staff.
We strive to provide all our guests with the high quality of service that we maintain throughout all of our hotels. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great Price on priceline and very nice rooms, close to the airport so it was a great place to stay. The only negative comment i have is that there are 3 different buildings that guests stay in and that was confusing to know which building your room was in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was clean, quiet and affordable. Nice to have a restaurant on the grounds and also very close to the BART (train) and O.Co. Very close to the airport, and the free shuttle helped get you to and from the airport as well as the BART stop.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My son was traveling to see me , and he had no credit card, so I called the red lion Oakland airport, they faxed me a form to fill out so I could pay for the room. I filled it out with copies of my ID and credit card. They then gave me a confirmation number to confirm the reservation. When he arrived at 12:00 at night, they refused the reservation, saying that corporate had changed the policy. No one contacted me about this and my son was stranded in Oakland late at night. I will never use the Red Lion Hotel chain again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize that our front desk did not provide your son with friendly and welcoming service. I would like to apologize for any unprofessionalism that may have been shown to both you and your son. Please be assured that this issue will be addresses accordingly with our staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 49 in Oakland
1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
291 reviews
4.6 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1422 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: £102 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport! Arrive and be greeted by comfort and convenience aboard our complimentary Oakland Airport shuttle. While you're here, take advantage of our outdoor pool after a workout in our 24-hour fitness center and rest comfortably in one of 189 beautifully-appointed accommodations, including rooms with private balconies. Awake to fresh air on your very own private balcony, stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and order room service or head down to our on-site restaurant for a delicious breakfast. Offering six flexible meeting rooms for business and social occasions, full-service catering, and state-of-the-art A/V support, Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport is a desirable choice for casually luxurious meeting venues in the Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing