We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FIND / NO WIRELESS INTERNET”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Spokane Valley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GOOD FIND / NO WIRELESS INTERNET”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel is very clean, nice rooms, friendly staff and a good restaurant / bar. I only give it 3 green dots because of the intermittent wireless internet. I need a internet connection for work. On this issue alone I probably wont stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. Bring a WiFi hot spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpokaneRoadDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    118
    76
    54
    54
See reviews for
95
88
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Good find always friendly clean close to airport stay here often never a problem. the Bistro has a good breakfast. very good happy hour and good room service. get a Tower room and Balcony and you will have a great sea breeze.

Room Tip: Good Value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
110 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

OK, you might have to overlook some split corner seams on the wallpaper in the corridors and maybe there'll be a few scratches on the arms of your chairs in the room, but this place is convenient, efficient, and bargain-priced compared to properties across The Bay in "The City." Moreover, there's a free shuttle service to the Coliseum/Oakland Int. Airport BART station. This property has three buildings - the tower (at a sky-scraping 6 stories) and two 2-story motel wings at the rear. If you want any kind of view at all, ask for an upper floor in the tower facing west. If you're on the 2nd or 3rd floor, however, you'll be face-to-face with the soon to open monorail connecting the BART station to the airport soaring above Hegenberger Rd. The lobby has comfortable seating and one computer and printer in its Business Center. One morning when the computer was malfunctioning (as often happen with "community" computers and previous users who don't know how to use them), I went to the front desk where a maintenance person was immediately summoned, arrived minutes later, and had things working again in no time.

The room was spacious with a window wall and faux balcony. The king-sized bed was very comfortable with a full-sized quilt - not one of those annoying foot-of-the-bed throws. There were bedside, floor, and table lamps with better-than-average wattage bulbs for reading. The top knobs of the flanking end tables pulled out a flat surface for writing or whatever with a full drawer and storage below that. Mind you, this is not to say there wasn't a full-sized desk with good chair and lamp and free Wi-Fi access. The room was painted salmon and cream with a brown and tan carpet accented with a repeated square pattern. The bathroom contained an ante room with the sink and big mirror and a door-less closet area leading into the tub/shower/toilet room which had granite tiling. Good towels, hand cloths and washcloths were in abundance.

Maid service was good, but occasionally spotty. Shampoo and conditioner weren't restocked daily nor was the trash emptied every day. However, given the maids' time restraints, the service in general was very good and friendly. There were easily accessible sockets for my C-PAP machine and a 3' tall mini fridge to chill insulin atop which sat a microwave. The art work was of lilies for one reason or another. There was not a big easy chair but, rather, a round table with two comfortable dining chairs which was perfectly fine for watching the fixed TV on the opposite wall - even at an angle.

This hotel caters to a large number of Japanese tourists and accommodates them helpfully. There is a special buffet of Japanese breakfast items (steamed buns, noodles, miso, etc.). The "American" breakfast is quite good. Specials come with your choice of beverage and the juice glasses are huge -- not the glass thimbles one is often presented with (and pay a fortune for). I had corned beef and hash one morning which, though canned, was served piping hot along with two perfect eggs over easy and excellent hash browns. I also had excellent pancakes another morning with very thick bacon. Avoid the eggs benedict - the hollandaise sauce is not the real McCoy, the English muffin barely toasted, and the poached eggs robbed of their runniness in cooking. But for a treat, try the fruit plate. It's absolutely top-notch with a generous assortment of nicely ripened fruit. Sandwiches (many featuring the aforementioned bacon) are good and the daily soups are excellent. I wouldn't necessarily make this a dinner destination (and the menu is the same at lunch). Francesco's Italian restaurant is right across the street. It's a kind of throw-back place, but cheery and with tasty, honest food.

As of August 18, 2014, the hotel began to charge for on-site parking. I don't know what the rate is, but handy parking is certainly a big convenience if the charge is reasonable. I found all the staff to be helpful, warm, cheerful, and eager to please. This property is an excellent jumping off place - not somewhere if you're looking to be in the center of the action. Motorcyclists might be interested in knowing there's a Harley-Davidson shop directly across the street.

Room Tip: 5th of 6th floor, west-facing rooms will offer a better view (once the morning fog burns off).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Went to Oakland recently to watch some baseball, and got a good price to stay at the Red Lion hotel next to the Oakland airport. Was pleasantly surprised. For the price, it was a nice little hotel. Clean and kept up. The room was fine. Recommended for a baseball trip or a one night stop on the way to a flight.

Room Tip: Stick to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grover M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Red Lion was easy to find, and very clean. The hotel is older but kept in good condition.Our room was conveniently located. clean and comfortable. The shuttle to the Coliseum was great. The food was not exceptional in the Bistro. The chicken with mushrooms and Marsala sauce tasted like Lipton soup. My husband was very happy with his grilled chicken salad.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 893Ayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Service was rated Poor because type of room reserved was not honored. They tried to fix the propblem with free food vouchers that we could not use because of schedule/time restraints on our visit and other plans with family members.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel and area did not look promising from the outside but the room was nice. Quiet rooms, which was wonderful because the previous 2 nights we were at hotels where the traffic noises woke me up starting at 5am, not a sound at this hotel! Also great black out drapes for sleeping in. But the real gem was the room service. I arrived at the hotel with a migraine so we ordered room service. While the food was not cheap (it wasn't expensive either though) it was surprisingly good and a lot of it! It was also nicely served and the room service people were great and helpful. Nice stay and I will definitely use this hotel again if in this area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#13 of 49 in Oakland
933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1422 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport hotel in Oakland, California offers superb Three-Diamond, full-service accommodations where personal service and comfort will give each guest a memorable experience. Our beautiful Oakland, California hotel is located halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, California located in the heart of the East bay. We are minutes away from the University of California at Berkley, California State University East Bay, Stanford University and San Jose State University, as well as numerous community colleges. Also be sure to visit Jack London Square bustling with unique shops, restaurants and nightlife. If your leisure time allows, please make Bay Street Mall a priority for all of your retail shopping needs, this shopping center, located less than 18 miles from the hotel, features a variety of specialty shops as well as known retailers such as Coach, Abercrombie and Fitch & Nike just to name a few. The Red Lion Hotel in Oakland, CA is also fortunate enough to have nearly forty well-established houses of worship nearby, including First African Methodist Episcopal Church, Allen Temple, Buddhist Church of Oakland, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and Temple Sinai & Jehovah's Witness Oakland Central. Weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Quinceañeras and Corporate Events are our specialties, with meeting rooms ranging from our executive boardrooms to Monterey room and our California Ballroom. Red Lion Oakland International Airport Hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the Oakland International Airport from 4:00 A.M. - 11:00 P.M. Our shuttle service also provides transportation to the Coliseum BART Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing